PDA

View Full Version : Change Forum Cell Colour on Mouseover


ZombieAndy
25 Sep 2006, 12:02
Easier than it sounds, ive been looking for this mod for a while and couldn't find it, and when i asked for help here, no-one answered, so apologies if its been done before.

i put this together myself, all it does is change the colour of a forum cell between the alt 1 and alt 2 colours when the user move's their cursor over.

Confused? look at the screenies, that'll answer it :)

Fully Tested and working on 3.6.1

Shouldn't take more than a minute to install and i dont think you'll have any problems, but i'll support it as best i can (just in case).



===============
Changes

1.01 - Fixed a bug where it would cause problems in subforums.

tazB.ca
25 Sep 2006, 12:19
Thx:)

ZombieAndy
25 Sep 2006, 22:34
sorry guys i dont use sub-forums myself so i didn't spot this earlier, but a friend of mine pointed out that it kind squashes sub-forums up if you use them.

if you do, download the text file again and make the relevant changes to the "forumhome_forumbit_level1_post" template.

that will fix it :)

mkdevo
26 Sep 2006, 17:05
thanks for this..

unfortunately, when using it on the threadbit, it makes the entire cell a hyperlink to the thread, and thus takes away the 'quick thread title edit' feature. is there any way to change this?

ZombieAndy
26 Sep 2006, 18:47
thanks for this..

unfortunately, when using it on the threadbit, it makes the entire cell a hyperlink to the thread, and thus takes away the 'quick thread title edit' feature. is there any way to change this?


to make it so ONLY the link to the thread opens it and not the whole cell,

open template "threadbit" and find



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------



and replace with



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------



let me know if this solves your problem for you :)

mkdevo
26 Sep 2006, 21:56
that did remove the 'entire cell link', however, the inline thread title edit still doesn't work..

giza
03 Oct 2006, 16:58
to make it so ONLY the link to the thread opens it and not the whole cell,

open template "threadbit" and find


i cannot find your code in my threadbit template can you plz help me make this work i want only the link to work not the whole cell.

here is my threadbit template:



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

Devil Woman
04 Oct 2006, 02:23
Hi there I have added this to my test forum to ensure it works ok, have gone to test it and nothing changes, on your screenshots it shows when you mouseover it goes red, do I have to change anything for it to do that or should it do it automatically, if so where am I going wrong?

Thanks

Shazz
04 Oct 2006, 04:21
Installed*!

osmanungur
04 Oct 2006, 12:30
installed

honestjohn
06 Oct 2006, 08:40
I used to use a similar mod, but with an extension: the "last post" cell I also made a hyperlink to the latest post (both in forumview and threadbit view).

I can't figure out how to do this in 3.6, any help?

professional77
10 Oct 2006, 07:12
thanks for this..

unfortunately, when using it on the threadbit, it makes the entire cell a hyperlink to the thread, and thus takes away the 'quick thread title edit' feature. is there any way to change this?
welcome all
Open Template "threadbit"
FIND



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------


REPLACE WITH



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------


the error in

Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------


the ok

Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------


working on 3.6.2
go to site
http://www.professional77.com/vb

Enjoy!

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=54481&stc=1&d=1160460693

ZombieAndy
11 Oct 2006, 03:01
i cannot find your code in my threadbit template can you plz help me make this work i want only the link to work not the whole cell.

here is my threadbit template:



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------


thats a replacement for the line in the textfile.

you need to find:



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------



and replace it with:



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

AdmiralSpock
11 Oct 2006, 17:01
Wow! This is fantastic! I've installed it on my test board, and I'll put it on my live site soon. Thank you!

KevinLiles
12 Oct 2006, 17:39
thank you

Greek Wizard
17 Oct 2006, 12:39
Stupid Question.

I have installed this and it works fine.

What would I edit/add change the "recent Topics" on vBadvanced to match this on the main portal page.

Never mind, found the answer on vBa site

sinoeu
17 Oct 2006, 20:47
Very very very cool! Thanks,I like this change very much.

ESADCG
26 Oct 2006, 16:12
Am I blind? I didn't know of any "Inline Thread Title Edit Feature" where is this functionality located?

Installed and seems to be working fine.

category
10 Nov 2006, 19:25
how come there is no pointer in firefox like in ie can anyone help me how to get it?

Shazz
10 Nov 2006, 19:53
Working perfectly...

Chris-777
10 Nov 2006, 22:25
/me notes that this looks an awful lot like one of his mods. ;)

Shazz
10 Nov 2006, 23:28
Which one?

Mr MaRo
12 Nov 2006, 07:32
Thanks!

category
13 Nov 2006, 17:21
anyoe know how to fix firefox problem?

Brew
11 Jan 2007, 01:53
I have this working but I think my CSS doesn't have the required class names or something.

Using my LCD screen at an extreme angle I can see that the lines are highlited but so close to the default theme that it's unnoticable.

Can you point out what is needed to change the color in the hover mode?

You can see what I'm talking about here:

http://www.tankkillers.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=5

Thanks!

TheFrienzNet
13 Jan 2007, 17:35
Ehhh! Thanks. :D

Endurer
13 Jan 2007, 18:26
Thank you :) Installed.

Ragnarok
02 Mar 2007, 05:32
I dunno why I didn't mark this as installed when I first installed it >.>

Installed on both my forums anyway.

BigJimTheLug
06 Mar 2007, 00:50
Hey, how can I choose different colors on mouseover?

GXT Owner
15 Mar 2007, 05:01
How Do i make it so the whole Cell is a link? IT wont work http://www.xeon-gaming.net/forums/index.php

Chris-777
26 Mar 2007, 13:43
This is pretty similar (rather, almost exactly the same) as my mouseover hack for 3.5.

Shazz
26 Mar 2007, 14:10
This is pretty similar (rather, almost exactly the same) as my mouseover hack for 3.5.

You see duplicates everyday :\

anywares
27 Mar 2007, 02:15
ZombieAndy this is one of the best template mod releases made in this year imo

thanks for this AWESOME release!

l3it3r
11 May 2007, 13:30
I had to remove the 'onclick' line from the threadbit hack because it killed my collapsable first post mod.

Ohiosweetheart
05 Jul 2007, 02:29
I LOVE this hack, works very well on my forum.

BuRNZau
19 Jul 2007, 14:23
welcome all
Open Template "threadbit"
FIND



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

REPLACE WITH



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

the error in

Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

the ok

Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

working on 3.6.2
go to site
http://www.professional77.com/vb

Enjoy!

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/attachment.php?attachmentid=54481&stc=1&d=1160460693
Does this work on 3.6.7? I love this mod but I love my inline edit also.

Realm of Horror Comics
03 Aug 2007, 23:34
How can I make it so that on the forum homepage, only the actual forum links are clickable, and not the entire cell?

Thanks!

ZombieAndy
03 Aug 2007, 23:59
Thanks alot for your comments guys, it was nothing really just a small cosmetic mod i wanted for a while. Really sorry i havn't been around to answer questions but ive been snowed under at work and on my own forums.. im sure you guys know how it is, i suppose i shouldn't of marked it as supported or check back more often lol..

Anyway, ive turned on email subscription so if anyone else has any probs, i will do my best to answer them.

Hey, how can I choose different colors on mouseover?

It uses ALT1 and ALT2 colours defined in your style, you just need to change those to change the colours it uses.

This is pretty similar (rather, almost exactly the same) as my mouseover hack for 3.5.

Well i did say i searched for this before i made it, i couldn't find a similar hack at the time of release.

How can I make it so that on the forum homepage, only the actual forum links are clickable, and not the entire cell?

Thanks!

open template "threadbit" and find



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------



and replace with



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

deathbyalfonzo
04 Aug 2007, 00:48
thanks dude

installed

applyimage
11 Aug 2007, 20:25
It uses ALT1 and ALT2 colours defined in your style, you just need to change those to change the colours it uses.
Excuse me it appears i'm a retard, could you be more specific as to where I edit this? thanks buddy. :)

EDIT: DONE LOOKS GREAT!!!!

applyimage
11 Aug 2007, 21:20
sorry guys i dont use sub-forums myself so i didn't spot this earlier, but a friend of mine pointed out that it kind squashes sub-forums up if you use them.

if you do, download the text file again and make the relevant changes to the "forumhome_forumbit_level1_post" template.

that will fix it :)
Yeah I have this problem, what do you mean 'relevant changes' that's a little vague to a n00b like me.

My subforums are appearing like this:
http://img58.imageshack.us/img58/2840/untitled3hg7.jpg
Is that how they're meant to display?

applyimage
30 Sep 2007, 02:39
Made the suggested changes to the code but the rollover cell still appears on my homepage, I dont want the whole cell to direct to the section, any help appreciated.

ZombieAndy
30 Sep 2007, 18:04
Made the suggested changes to the code but the rollover cell still appears on my homepage, I dont want the whole cell to direct to the section, any help appreciated.
Send me a PM with your code in and i'll take a look at it.

Analogpoint
01 Oct 2007, 20:58
For greater cross-browser compatibility, change cursor:hand to cursor:pointer, so the "hand" will show up in more browsers.

YsTyle
01 Oct 2007, 21:42
how can i change the color?

Danny Diamond
16 Oct 2007, 00:55
Thank you. Quick and super easy.

Traxdata
18 Dec 2007, 23:58
just installed! works fine on vb 3.7.0.beta2

k007
29 Jan 2008, 09:05
Hey man thx

k007
31 Jan 2008, 08:08
sorry for double posting,

my froum thread are sometimes have a color in their cel depending if their new\the user posted in them...etc
when color changes of the cel after the mouse is out it doesnt return to its right color...
here is the screen shot.
http://img218.imageshack.us/img218/2147/sreenyct6.jpg