PDA

View Full Version : Gettin' Traffic


rajab1988
28 Dec 2006, 13:59
Ciao ,

Can anyone of you guys just explain how many ways there are to subtim your site to search engines or Traffic sites ...

I just wanna get traffic

ciao e grazie

Rajab

raiderlax
28 Dec 2006, 21:17
Hey man, um try www.google.com/addurl and add your site. Also submit a sitemap to google sitemaps. Hope that helps a bit.

rajab1988
29 Dec 2006, 13:40
thx m8 , done that before just haven't done the sitemap yet , any more ideas guys ?

ciao

Greek76
31 Dec 2006, 01:16
Get zoints seo it did wonders for my Greek Forum. In two months on google the main keyword which I wanted to pop up for my site was Greek forum. If you type that in google my forum GreekRealm.com pops up on the number 4 spot! You can get Zoints seo on for free at Vbulleting modifications. Its well worth it.

Also submit to google, yahoo and other search engines and thats about it. Thats all I really did I get atleast 3-5 members a week not bad...

brianmt
31 Dec 2006, 08:13
go to http://www.pivot-place.org and look on the right side for "free website submissions" theres a good site to submit your site to a bunch of engines.

Brandon Sheley
31 Dec 2006, 08:17
add your link in your sig ;)
build quality content
build more content
and more
get some back links
build more content ;)

choice
07 Jan 2007, 14:00
check out www.searchengineplug.com

rajab1988
12 Jan 2007, 16:09
Thank you very much guys , really appreciated

rareclownfish
12 Jan 2007, 19:53
add your link in your sig ;)
build quality content
build more content
and more
get some back links
build more content ;)

Thanks for the info

MRGTB
14 Jan 2007, 23:16
Don't just rely on search engines alone.

You need content and lots of it. It's a simple case of mathematics. The more pages you have with content on your site. The more pages will get indexed in search engines, which in turn will increase your chances of getting hits due to the amount of pages indexed from your site to find by users.

It's all about content at the end of the day, you can submit your site to a zillion search engines and install the likes of vBSEO and all, but if you only have a few pages with content on your site (and I mean real content, not two lines of dribble that won't attract anybody to join). Your not going to get many hits due to the lack of pages you have indexed or members joining becuase the content is rubbish.

You just can't escape the fact you need "good content" at the start (articles are way best), and that were people are lazy, they think they can setup a board and sit back after submitting it to search engines. Thinking people will come and do all the hard work for them in adding content. It just doesn't work that way! And it's the main reason why so many people come asking how to get members after there board is in place and they have submitted it to every search engine known to man.

Best thing you can do is just submit your site to the 3 top search engines (Yahoo, Google and MSN). Then get to work adding quality content such like articles over the next few weeks. Most people only use these 3 search engines anyway, so I wouldn't bother with the rest. At some point they will find there own way to your site as the content grows.

rajab1988
15 Jan 2007, 09:57
@MRGTB . you are right , I have owned a Satellite Discussion and Files Forum for about a year now and what it makes it big its content , I have a good content ;) but subtiming to search engines is good thing too
thanks guys

RZ500
19 Jan 2007, 18:55
I have a problem, one big company wants to link my forum to their site, but since is PHP the refresh per page is not the same as by hit and the want pages , so I need a script to refresh the complete page evry time they hit some link, like normal HTML, any ideas?

Mr Chad
22 Jan 2007, 22:52
I have a problem, one big company wants to link my forum to their site, but since is PHP the refresh per page is not the same as by hit and the want pages , so I need a script to refresh the complete page evry time they hit some link, like normal HTML, any ideas?
i don't understand what your trying to say?

NameClan.com
23 Jan 2007, 01:57
i want to get more traffics to my forums as well.

StepOnFrog
23 Jan 2007, 07:44
I have a problem, one big company wants to link my forum to their site, but since is PHP the refresh per page is not the same as by hit and the want pages , so I need a script to refresh the complete page evry time they hit some link, like normal HTML, any ideas?

Are you talking about having seperate frames with the main frame refreshing constantly, and the links and other stuff in side frames that don't get refreshed? Or, is it something to do with pop-ups?

:confused:

RZ500
23 Jan 2007, 15:37
Are you talking about having seperate frames with the main frame refreshing constantly, and the links and other stuff in side frames that don't get refreshed? Or, is it something to do with pop-ups?

:confused:
Sorry, my English is a little rusty, and this is what I want, to have the hole page refresh when you click a link, instead of the changing frame, this company avaluates by pages and no clicks, so with the PHP of VBulleting when you move in the forum you refresh only one area but no the Home style or base style (I do not know the name)

RMS-Chef
23 Jan 2007, 20:38
It's odd seeing these threads for me since I am trying to limit my traffic.
After growing at almost 100 new regs per day for almost a year I was continually outgrowing my servers. For the last 6 months I have blocked ALL search engine bots with robots.txt and as of last month closed off public regs and went to invite only. Damn if I still show a "User Activity" stats of well over 6,000 per day.
http://img412.imageshack.us/img412/5113/usract2wk.gif (http://img412.imageshack.us/my.php?image=usract2wk.gif)

amnesia623
24 Jan 2007, 07:11
so - how'd you do it? (get to the point of going invite only?)

RZ500
24 Jan 2007, 15:00
Places like Yahoo, and some others pay for linking your site to sell your hits for adds.

StepOnFrog
24 Jan 2007, 23:57
I want, to have the hole page refresh when you click a link, instead of the changing frame

Right, yeah... Not exactly sure how you'll get that to work.?! As far as I understand vBulletin PHP rewrites the page with different content depending on the commands sent with the HTTP request (ie, /forum/newreply.php?do=newreply&noquote=1&p=1166409)

Really, I'd go into the Programming Discussions forum on this site --> Click Here (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/forumdisplay.php?f=15)<-- and ask the same questions. Sorry, I can't help you, but that's where I'd begin asking about what you want to do.

Hope it helps.

newbreef.com
25 Jan 2007, 01:02
Ciao ,

Can anyone of you guys just explain how many ways there are to subtim your site to search engines or Traffic sites ...

I just wanna get traffic

ciao e grazie

Rajab


Getting traffic is a timely thing, the best way to get traffic is to advertise, post on other forums in a respect full manner (NOT SPAMMING), link exchanges, and other methods etc...