PDA

View Full Version : World Clock on your forum


Cobro
31 May 2008, 00:20
i made this for my board becous a can't trust the server clock :) so i just use the world clock witch is allways right

So in your AdminCP/Styles & Templates/Style Manager then Expand Templates
and then in click on forum home templates and then FORUMHOME template then

find


Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------


and below add



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------



code look's like this

<iframe src="http://free.timeanddate.com/clock/i11meuiw/n179" frameborder="0" width="82" height="18"></iframe>

and you are done :)


Note you can have the code on what ever page you want

this link is better i think (http://www.timeanddate.com/clocks/free.html?n=285)

http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/


hope you all like it's very simple :)

aamirkhj
31 May 2008, 02:33
Thank you nice and simple, Installed.

silver surfer
31 May 2008, 15:05
nice :D

-installed-

Mookie
04 Jun 2008, 21:10
Cobro nice mod! **Installed**

I did a few addition to the code thought you and maybe someone else may like. I attached a text file of the change and a jpg of 2 different layouts.

Kangaroo666
05 Jun 2008, 03:03
Nice mod Cobro.

Great addition Mookie!

Thanks guys, looks great and is installed. :)

Dingo14
05 Jun 2008, 04:43
nice mod from both thanks

Cobro
05 Jun 2008, 21:13
Cobro nice mod! **Installed**

I did a few addition to the code thought you and maybe someone else may like. I attached a text file of the change and a jpg of 2 different layouts.

Wow your version much nicer thanks

your version installed!

Dingo14
11 Jun 2008, 02:03
I went to site and changed a few things edited the clocks and the css background code this is end result

http://i27.tinypic.com/rbjhxv.jpg

Cobro
13 Jun 2008, 23:54
I went to site and changed a few things edited the clocks and the css background code this is end result

http://i27.tinypic.com/rbjhxv.jpg

maby you want to tell us what you did so we can have it like yours

Dingo14
14 Jun 2008, 12:08
ok I used the code supplied by Mookie went to site for clocks http://www.timeanddate.com/clocks/free.html?n=70 this one allows you to set place, time, date colors etc, see pic above and then went into the css code of my vb style added background color chose text color at the bottom of site you will see html code only edit the iframe parts of the code dont remove other code just change the clocks that are there now for your new ones hope this helps

Mookie
14 Jun 2008, 17:57
Very Nice Dingo :up:

Cobro
15 Jun 2008, 21:42
thank you very nice

Dingo14
16 Jun 2008, 03:33
hey could'nt have done it without your coding in the first place and members are rapt with the clocks in different zones

R1chardYoung
18 Jun 2008, 09:15
Used this... looks great. Nice simple but great :)

Cobro
19 Jul 2008, 14:03
yes simple and great

Jase2
22 Jul 2008, 15:00
Tip: Use lower-case and quote marks here for xhtml compliance:



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

RedskinsFan1
23 Jul 2008, 19:19
Does anyone know how to put the code right under the "currently active users" and "statistics" part of the forum but above the footer? I'd really appreciate your help in this. Also if anyone is interested in the world clock with the following cities already built in: Los Angeles, Washington, D.C., Paris, Nairobi, Shanghai and Sydney I have attached the code. Note: it has been derived from Mookie's.

Thanks,

-RedskinsFan1.

Jinkasu
03 Aug 2008, 13:09
I installed the World Clock from the text File, thanks, really helpful for our round the world players for online gaming :)

How do i make it so that only certain usergroups can see it, wouldnt want everyone else using up my bandwidth to check the time in places!

Thanks

Mathiau
13 Aug 2008, 07:01
Cobro nice mod! **Installed**

I did a few addition to the code thought you and maybe someone else may like. I attached a text file of the change and a jpg of 2 different layouts.

how can i change the color of the text and background

lucky51
16 Aug 2008, 14:44
thanks working click instal

legionofangels
16 Aug 2008, 18:09
Would be better if it was an actual image of a clock, rather than text.

needaltuna
26 Aug 2008, 07:57
Mookie, I applied your modifications. Turned out great except for one thing: there is a small white border around the time and date text. How do I get rid of this border, so that the color is uniform?

http://content.imagesocket.com/images/clock743.jpg (http://imagesocket.com/view/clock743.jpg)

Dingo14
28 Aug 2008, 11:14
you need to got to site for clocks and add your css style background color

needaltuna
29 Aug 2008, 05:58
Thanks, Dingo, that fixed the problem.

baghdad4ever
24 Sep 2008, 20:33
installed

johnny713
25 Sep 2008, 10:08
Thank, what I'm been looking for

Eq4bits
03 Oct 2008, 22:55
wonderful! *clicks install*
I added 5 of these suckers in a table right below my navbar for the timezones corresponding to the majority of my members. Now they can see at a glance that the person they may be waiting a reply from might be visiting with the sandman or at work!

GSeybold
08 Oct 2008, 20:04
OH MY GOD I FRIGGEN DID IT! I've never done any coding in my life. Well is cutting and pasting coding the same? THANKS so much for this. It looks great on my forum and much needed!

I'm so proud of myself. I think I'm celebrate! LOL

THANK YOU COBRO AND MOOKIE!

GSeybold
08 Oct 2008, 21:26
Ok Mayday Mayday... I replaced some clock code as shown but the clock in the far right hand side appears on the left above the world clock box. Ok what did I do wrong? please explain in very layman's terms:) LOL I cppied Mookies stuff and just replaced with what I needed.

<!-- World Clock -->
<table class="tborder" cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="$stylevar[cellspacing]" border="0" width="100%" align="center">
<thead>
<tr>
<td class="tcat" colspan="6" align="center"><a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_world')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_world" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_tcat$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_world].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a>World Clock
</td>
<tbody>
<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_world" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_world]">
<td class="thead" colspan="6">
<tr align="center">
<td class="thead">Los Angeles</td>
<td class="thead">Denver</td>
<td class="thead">New York</td>
<td class="thead">Montreal</td>
<td class="thead">London</td>
<td class="thead">Amsterdam</td>
</tr>
</td>

<td class="alt1" colspan="6">
<tr align="center">
<td class="alt1"> <iframe src="http://free.timeanddate.com/clock/i11v60q3/n137/fc3e5c92/tcf5f5ff/ftb/tt0/tw0/tm1/th1/ts1/tb4" frameborder="0" width="90" height="34"></iframe>

</td>
<td class="alt1"> <iframe src="http://free.timeanddate.com/clock/i11v60q3/n75/fc3e5c92/tcf5f5ff/ftb/tt0/tw0/tm1/th1/ts1/tb4" frameborder="0" width="90" height="34"></iframe>

</td>
<td class="alt1"> <iframe src="http://free.timeanddate.com/clock/i11v60q3/n179/fc3e5c92/tcf5f5ff/ftb/tt0/tw0/tm1/th1/ts1/tb4" frameborder="0" width="90" height="34"></iframe>

</td>
<td class="alt1"> <iframe src="http://free.timeanddate.com/clock/i11v60q3/n165/fc3e5c92/tcf5f5ff/ftb/tt0/tw0/tm1/th1/ts1/tb4" frameborder="0" width="90" height="34"></iframe>

</td>
<td class="alt1"> <iframe src="http://free.timeanddate.com/clock/i11v60q3/n136/fc3e5c92/tcf5f5ff/ftb/tt0/tw0/tm1/th1/ts1/tb4" frameborder="0" width="90" height="34"></iframe>

</td>
<iframe src="http://free.timeanddate.com/clock/i11v60q3/n16/fc3e5c92/tcf5f5ff/ftb/tt0/tw0/tm1/th1/ts1/tb4" frameborder="0" width="90" height="34"></iframe>

</td>
</tr>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>


</thead>
</table>
<br />
<!-- end World Clock -->

GSeybold
09 Oct 2008, 03:00
Can anyone help me with this asap? This mod is very worthwhile for my forum and I would like to get it up and running asap.. Thank you:)

Nadeemjp
09 Oct 2008, 07:02
nice. installed

Dingo14
09 Oct 2008, 10:28
width="90" try making this smaller

GSeybold
09 Oct 2008, 19:08
HI Dingo. Thank you . I've tried with several numbers. stilll doing this same.

Any other suggestions?

Dingo14
10 Oct 2008, 22:54
try a few things font size might be to big or try another font, it is the width that is causing the problem, i played around for a bit until i got it right

Janfri
11 Oct 2008, 03:43
Thank you very much for the nice code. I integrated it as a template module in vbadvanced cmps and it works brilliant. As I am building a translation site, I put some translation-related clickable links in the headers, instead of only names of cities. You can see it here. (http://thetranslation.org) For those of you just want to overwrite the links and make their own cmps module, I leave the code below:


Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------


Thanks again and best regards
Janfri

GSeybold
11 Oct 2008, 09:24
Got it fixed. I missed a piece of code:)

ArnyVee
17 Oct 2008, 15:39
This is VERY cool! :)

I've added it to my site at www.WaltDisneyBoards.com/forums.php if you'd like to check it out! I'm tracking the times at all 5 Disney resorts around the world! :D

Now, just have to work to get the font colors just right and everything. But thanks for the help everyone!

ArnyVee
17 Oct 2008, 16:17
I just noticed that I have some spaces that I'd like to eliminate just above both areas (the clock and table headings) of the table. They have the white borders too. How can I adjust that?

Janfri
19 Oct 2008, 05:38
As I said above, I installed this mod and found it brilliant. But I uninstalled it because it is not valid XHTML and causes 27 mistakes on my page. I'ts a pity, I really like it, but I can't fix it myself.:( Does anybody have a XHTML compliant version of this code?
Best regards
Janfri

GSeybold
19 Oct 2008, 05:46
Janfri
What are these 17 causes if I may ask. Or at least a few. I've had mine installed for about a week with no problems.

Janfri
19 Oct 2008, 09:36
Janfri
What are these 17 causes if I may ask. Or at least a few. I've had mine installed for about a week with no problems.
Hi,
have a look at it , http://validator.w3.org/check?verbose=1&uri=http%3A%2F%2Fthetranslation.org%2F
Regards
Janfri

Armageddonz
19 Oct 2008, 13:32
Thanks a lot this really make things simple and nice.

ArnyVee
19 Oct 2008, 15:14
I just noticed that I have some spaces that I'd like to eliminate just above both areas (the clock and table headings) of the table. They have the white borders too. How can I adjust that?

Had a friend that was able to fix it!

I guess that I had some extra tables or something in it. :)

Thanks again for this great mod! :D

Janfri
24 Oct 2008, 14:21
I have found a solution, at least for my installation, making a module for vbadvanced CMPS, which is valid XHTML. If somebody is interested, see this thread on vbadvanced.
(http://www.vbadvanced.com/forum/showthread.php?p=157821#post157821)
Best regards,
Janfri

smokering
31 Oct 2008, 03:20
thank you both excellent'e

intospain
10 Nov 2008, 14:10
Simple and effective, thanks for sharing with us :D

segwayon
13 Nov 2008, 03:35
Alas, I had to remove the world clock feature because a few users come in with iPhones, and one said the clock feature was causing the forum load times to increase substantially.

Cobro
19 Nov 2008, 16:59
Nice to see people are intrested in this mod and mod it as you like it thank you for the support

momo2
23 Nov 2008, 01:54
very nice, thank you

RageRaft
06 Dec 2008, 16:15
Nice find. I also found out that you can go to the first world clock link and copy the HTML code into one of your templates. :)

LAKELURKER001
16 Dec 2008, 05:08
dowloaded but installed mookie,s that had full date and time ,very nice mookie

steve1966
16 Dec 2008, 10:36
cool thanks mookie

compact123
17 Dec 2008, 09:41
woww very nice, thnx...

http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/1192/adsztq0.png

joh
24 Dec 2008, 00:27
compact123, How did you get the clock image?
Guys, do you all have a way to add the weather.
Do you all have away to let my users set his/her own area for the time and weather.
where the heck is code monkey?

damlost
02 Jan 2009, 00:13
i cant download the clock

damlost
03 Jan 2009, 23:31
ok i got it but how did compact123 get those images

damlost
04 Jan 2009, 01:00
ok i figure this much how 123 got those images but dont know who to add them Horizontal can someone help


<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr><td align="center"><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.worldtimeserver.com/clocks/embed.js"></script><script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">objUSNY=new Object;objUSNY.wtsclock="wtsclock001.swf";objUSNY.color="FF9900";objUSNY.wtsid="US-NY";objUSNY.width=100;objUSNY.height=100;objUSNY.wmode="transparent";showClock(objUSNY);</script></td></tr><tr><td align="center"><h2>california</h2></td></tr></table>

<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr><td align="center"><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.worldtimeserver.com/clocks/embed.js"></script><script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">objUSNY=new Object;objUSNY.wtsclock="wtsclock001.swf";objUSNY.color="228B22";objUSNY.wtsid="US-NY";objUSNY.width=100;objUSNY.height=100;objUSNY.wmode="transparent";showClock(objUSNY);</script></td></tr><tr><td align="center"><h2>texas</h2></td></tr></table>

<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr><td align="center"><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.worldtimeserver.com/clocks/embed.js"></script><script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">objUSNY=new Object;objUSNY.wtsclock="wtsclock001.swf";objUSNY.color="008080";objUSNY.wtsid="US-NY";objUSNY.width=100;objUSNY.height=100;objUSNY.wmode="transparent";showClock(objUSNY);</script></td></tr><tr><td align="center"><h2>chicago</h2></td></tr></table>

<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr><td align="center"><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.worldtimeserver.com/clocks/embed.js"></script><script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">objUSNY=new Object;objUSNY.wtsclock="wtsclock001.swf";objUSNY.color="0000FF";objUSNY.wtsid="US-NY";objUSNY.width=100;objUSNY.height=100;objUSNY.wmode="transparent";showClock(objUSNY);</script></td></tr><tr><td align="center"><h2>new york</h2></td></tr></table>

<table border="0" cellspacing="0" cellpadding="0"><tr><td align="center"><script type="text/javascript" src="http://www.worldtimeserver.com/clocks/embed.js"></script><script type="text/javascript" language="JavaScript">objUSNY=new Object;objUSNY.wtsclock="wtsclock001.swf";objUSNY.color="FF0000";objUSNY.wtsid="US-NY";objUSNY.width=100;objUSNY.height=100;objUSNY.wmode="transparent";showClock(objUSNY);</script></td></tr><tr><td align="center"><h2>uk</h2></td></tr></table>

Cobro
04 Feb 2009, 00:31
thank you all for making this better this looks nice now keep up the good work

Cobro
01 Mar 2009, 21:36
woww very nice, thnx...

http://img370.imageshack.us/img370/1192/adsztq0.png


this mod looks very nice :up:

Drago13
07 May 2009, 05:37
awesome hack... thanks...

sflmkv
10 Jun 2009, 16:39
I'm not the greatest coder but here's my side by side...


Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------

Eq4bits
10 Jun 2009, 20:30
compact123, How did you get the clock image?
Guys, do you all have a way to add the weather.
Do you all have away to let my users set his/her own area for the time and weather.
where the heck is code monkey?
For adding weather I use wunderground.com
find the location of the weather you want to display, then scroll down that 'stations' page till you get to the "Free Weather Stickers® for Your Homepage" box, click the link to go to that page. I put mine in the individual subforum description, but you could easily put it *anywhere* on a forum page.

Eq4bits
10 Jun 2009, 20:35
Alas, I had to remove the world clock feature because a few users come in with iPhones, and one said the clock feature was causing the forum load times to increase substantially.
I haven't had anyone report any iPhone issues... I use a Samsung Propel with AT&T when I'm mobile and haven't had any problems, of course it's a bit slower when I'm not in a 3G area. Perhaps you could add a mobile style/theme that can be used by your iPhone users when mobile, just don't have the clocks on that style/theme.

ricardoNJ
13 Aug 2009, 09:01
Testing! :)

goldoff
13 Sep 2009, 21:12
Downloaded, customized installed and workig fine!

Thanks to Cobro and Mookie :up:

imported_silkroad
21 Sep 2009, 19:36
This would be a great mod to use with GeoIP. Then, you can show various different clocks to users based on the country (or continent) or city they are it when viewing your forums.

Philippe J
10 Jun 2010, 16:17
Doesn't seem to work with vbulletin 4.03.
Can anybody help ?
Thanks ! ;)