PDA

View Full Version : Config.php


jambo_1969
14 Aug 2008, 13:04
Having a blond moment here...

About to upgrade to latest version from 3.6.8 - I note that they say to rename the config file prior to uploading and presumably, make the necessary changes..

My question - is 3.6.8 config file the same as the one that would be used by 3.7.2 ?

ie - do i really need to reupload it etc ?

Opserty
14 Aug 2008, 13:11
In most cases, there is no need to reupload config.php each time. I'd expect that the vBulletin team would make it pretty clear if they ever changed the config.php file. But there isn't a reason to redo it every time you upgrade.

As far as I am aware there aren't any changes between 3.6.8 -> 3.7.2. If you run into problems then it may be worth just reuploading it but if all goes well then there is no need to.

jambo_1969
14 Aug 2008, 14:11
In most cases, there is no need to reupload config.php each time. I'd expect that the vBulletin team would make it pretty clear if they ever changed the config.php file. But there isn't a reason to redo it every time you upgrade.

As far as I am aware there aren't any changes between 3.6.8 -> 3.7.2. If you run into problems then it may be worth just reuploading it but if all goes well then there is no need to.

Cheers !

Pretty much what I thought, so that's my blond moment over :)

Marco van Herwaarden
14 Aug 2008, 14:43
Where do "they" say this?

In the manual (Upgrading vBulletin (http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/upgrade)) is stated:
These instructions are for 3.5.0 and higher. If you are upgrading from vBulletin 3.0.x to 3.5.0, you will also need to recreate your includes/config.php file based on the new version of includes/config.php.new. Please see this page (http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/main/editconfig) in the installation section on how to edit the config file. This step is not necessary for individual upgrades within the 3.0.x or 3.5.x series.
If you are upgrading from vBulletin 3.5.x to vBulletin 3.6.x you do not need to edit the config.php file.

jambo_1969
14 Aug 2008, 15:07
Where do "they" say this?

In the manual (Upgrading vBulletin (http://www.vbulletin.com/docs/html/upgrade)) is stated:
[/B]

Problem is tho Marco - the update instructions state that you should rename the file .php.new etc, then open it in text editor (presumably to amend the connections etc)...

I merely wondered if going from .6.8 to .7.2 I could "ignore" the config file as you do with the install php file...

I hate ambiguity ;)

Marco van Herwaarden
14 Aug 2008, 15:29
You can use any 3.5 or higher config file with 3.7. You might miss some new options but they are not essential.

jambo_1969
14 Aug 2008, 15:30
You can use any 3.5 or higher config file with 3.7. You might miss some new options but they are not essential.

Thanks !