PDA

View Full Version : Version user is using in profile


SVTCobraLTD
15 May 2009, 15:22
When someone makes a post in a modification and says that it is working or not working, you never know what version they are running unless they state it. It would be nice to have that in the users profile so we could see if it something worked for them, what version they are using of vB.

Lynne
15 May 2009, 15:31
It is in the user's profile. You've listed that you are using 3.6.11. However, you are assuming the user actually keeps that field accurate. I know when I upgraded to 3.8, I forgot to change that field for a few months.

BlueNinjaGo
15 May 2009, 15:39
It is in the user's profile. You've listed that you are using 3.6.11. However, you are assuming the user actually keeps that field accurate. I know when I upgraded to 3.8, I forgot to change that field for a few months.

Or they put anything at all! I think it should be mandatory... And it would be nice if it showed in the postbit, but that's not necessary I guess. (Just make things go a little smoother)

Lynne
15 May 2009, 15:49
You could also post something in your announce post that says "If you leave a comment about this modifications working, or not working, please list your version of vbulletin also."

BlueNinjaGo
15 May 2009, 16:13
You could also post something in your announce post that says "If you leave a comment about this modifications working, or not working, please list your version of vbulletin also."

You put a lot of trust into users... :)

Lynne
15 May 2009, 16:22
You put a lot of trust into users... :)
Hope springs eternal. :D

Paul M
15 May 2009, 16:23
Your vb version (assuming you keep it up to date) is already in your profile and your postbit, so Im not sure what this is asking about ?

Lynne
15 May 2009, 16:36
It isn't in your postbit. The version in the postbit in the mods forums is the version of the modification you last downloaded, not the version of vbulletin you put in your profile.

Wayne Luke
15 May 2009, 17:39
The profile field should be a dropdown with a range of values... 3.5.X, 3.6.X, 3.8.X, 4.0.X, etc...

If you want to know why look at the value I have for mine. Not exactly helpful.

Lynne
15 May 2009, 17:53
Well, you are on Staff over at vb.com, so maybe you really are running vb4.6 beta 2! :D

TheLastSuperman
15 May 2009, 18:52
It is in the user's profile. You've listed that you are using 3.6.11. However, you are assuming the user actually keeps that field accurate. I know when I upgraded to 3.8, I forgot to change that field for a few months.

LOL... ohh yeah, updating now & thanks for the "reminder" :D

Paul M
15 May 2009, 19:34
It isn't in your postbit.

Yes it is. :)

The version in the postbit in the mods forums is the version of the modification you last downloaded, not the version of vbulletin you put in your profile.

No it isnt, in the mods forums you have vB Version and Version (which is the mod version).

The profile field should be a dropdown with a range of values... 3.5.X, 3.6.X, 3.8.X, 4.0.X, etc...

Yes, I tend to agree, its simply always been a text field, and no one has ever suggested otherwise (until now). Not sure off the top of my head how easy it would be to change it now (or even if its worth it).

Dean C
15 May 2009, 21:18
Yes it is. :)



No it isnt, in the mods forums you have vB Version and Version (which is the mod version).



Yes, I tend to agree, its simply always been a text field, and no one has ever suggested otherwise (until now). Not sure off the top of my head how easy it would be to change it now (or even if its worth it).


I don't see anyone in this thread with their vBulletin version in their postbit

Princeton
15 May 2009, 21:30
vbulletin is constantly changing - new versions are out more frequently

IMO it's not needed.

most people will ignore option or never update it

Paul M
15 May 2009, 22:21
I don't see anyone in this thread with their vBulletin version in their postbit
The confusion here would seem to be because of a difference between the postbit and postbit legacy templates - apparently its only in the legacy version now, I wasnt aware it had been removed from the other template. :)

davidw
15 May 2009, 23:17
TBH, at this moment, the only logical reason I can think of offhand to use it is for modification purposes (to keep from having to ask the user which version of vbulletin they are using) and even that is prone to error due to not updating or an incorrect setting.

Dean C
15 May 2009, 23:20
You could prompt users once a fortnight to update the field?

Dismounted
16 May 2009, 06:05
You could prompt users once a fortnight to update the field?
Or prompt a couple of weeks after a new vBulletin release. Could get annoying though.

Dean C
16 May 2009, 12:45
Or prompt a couple of weeks after a new vBulletin release. Could get annoying though.

Well, if you only did it after a release you'd get many people who have to plan an upgrade etc. who wouldn't upgrade straight away.

Dismounted
16 May 2009, 13:11
Hence the waiting of a couple of weeks.

Lynne
16 May 2009, 15:35
Or prompt a couple of weeks after a new vBulletin release. Could get annoying though.
I would find it very annoying.

Spank
18 May 2009, 00:15
I would find it very annoying.

Same here.

Is it really too much bother to ask users what version they are running?
As already pointed out, the legacy postbit shows the info the member has typed in.
Even if it was changed to a dropdown and someone was using an older version you'd be asking them if that's the version they are actually using, which is just as asking them what version they are using.

Ziki
18 May 2009, 12:10
Yes, I tend to agree, its simply always been a text field, and no one has ever suggested otherwise (until now). Not sure off the top of my head how easy it would be to change it now (or even if its worth it).

I don't think it should be changed purely of comedic reasons.

cheat-master30
18 May 2009, 22:42
Change the version to a drop down number? That would kind of kill the humour value of the thing, nothing like searching for version 4 or the like, or seeing the funniest version numbers that go way past what's released (*cough* set own profile/forum version number as 999.99.99 *cough*).

Although I do agree with the pointlessness comment... does anyone really edit that field after every single release of vBulletin that comes out? Pretty sure many people have gone whole major versions without changing it...

Ryan Ashbrook
19 May 2009, 12:45
Change the version to a drop down number? That would kind of kill the humour value of the thing, nothing like searching for version 4 or the like, or seeing the funniest version numbers that go way past what's released (*cough* set own profile/forum version number as 999.99.99 *cough*).

Although I do agree with the pointlessness comment... does anyone really edit that field after every single release of vBulletin that comes out? Pretty sure many people have gone whole major versions without changing it...
I change it after every major upgrade, like 3.7 > 3.8.

Then I update it for bugfix releases/PL's when I remember to do so.

SVTCobraLTD
20 May 2009, 01:21
Anyway it could automatically update from the latest version downloaded? Or I guess that would not work since this is .org not .com

However, even having the option there I believe would benefit some people. Yes some people would not update but when someone mentioned that their question mentions 3.7.4 however their profile says they are running 3.6.8 then most likely the user would update it.

It was just something I thought would be useful.

Ziki
24 May 2009, 11:54
Anyway it could automatically update from the latest version downloaded? Or I guess that would not work since this is .org not .com

However, even having the option there I believe would benefit some people. Yes some people would not update but when someone mentioned that their question mentions 3.7.4 however their profile says they are running 3.6.8 then most likely the user would update it.

It was just something I thought would be useful.

The user can download it and not install it ;)

Makc666
25 May 2009, 16:39
I like this field :D