PDA

View Full Version : How does the postparsed table work?


SnapOff Racing
23 Oct 2009, 01:44
I'm wondering how the postparsed table works because I ran the query TRUNCATE TABLE `postparsed` to clear it out so that I could rebuild it. Then went into my AdminCP -> Maintenance -> Rebuild Post Cache but it keeps rebuilding the cache with duplicate values. Like there are 3 rows for the same exact postid. Do I need to run like an AUTO_INCREMENT=1 query on the table or something?? :confused:

Adrian Schneider
23 Oct 2009, 01:46
Its per style... so if you have 3 styles, you may end up with 3 values for each post. :)

SnapOff Racing
23 Oct 2009, 01:52
Ahhhhh ok that makes sense then. I will just TRUNCATE the table, Rebuild Post cache and then run a query to remove the unneeded rows.

Do you know if there is a way that vb clears out un-used post cache that hasn't been used in like X amount of days? Like a cron job or something?

Thanks for the help!

Adrian Schneider
23 Oct 2009, 07:04
There's an option in the AdminCP that determines how long cached posts stick around for. I think it's called "Cached Posts Lifespan" or something similar.

When viewing a post, it'll see if the cache is too old, and then regenerate a new one if it is.

Dismounted
23 Oct 2009, 07:23
Just truncate the table. Posts will be automatically rebuilt and cached by themselves on first view.

SnapOff Racing
23 Oct 2009, 18:40
Thanks Guys! :up: