PDA

View Full Version : Signature Backgrounds


smokin1337
23 Oct 2009, 05:01
This mod will allow users to add backgrounds to their signatures. It requires 3 new fields and 1 template edit. This mod requires some experience in editing templates.

First field is X-1:

Type: Single-Line Textbox
Name: Signature Background
Details: Choose a color or image for your background
The rest is default. On this field color names, hex values or links can be used. ie., black, white, #000000, #FFFFFF, http://yourimagelink.com/yourimage.png, http://yourimagelink.com/yourimage.gif

Second field is X-2:

Type: Single-Line Textbox
Name: Signature Background Border Color
Details: Choose a color for the border if any
The rest is default.

The third is X-3:

Type: Multiple-Selection Checkbox
Name: Signature Background Link ?
Details: If you used a link to an image check yes here.
Options: Yes
The rest is default. This field tells it if it's a link or not and switches the codes accordingly.

Now for the templates open postbit/postbit_legacy and find:



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------



Then replace from <!-- sig --> to <--/ sig --> with:



Code:
---------------
Code is only visible to licensed users, and only when logged into the forums.
---------------



Replace the X's with your fields and that's it.

I am just learning all of this stuff so if i did something wrong in my coding please for give me. But this works great on my board.

Faizan
23 Oct 2009, 08:29
Nice one

Log on
24 Oct 2009, 09:27
Great

saadessa
24 Oct 2009, 09:40
thank you for this iwill try later

abouahmed
24 Oct 2009, 23:47
very good

fta2k
29 Oct 2009, 00:40
Ok, got the fields made but I'm obviously doing something wrong here.

Instruction says:

Replace the X's with your fields and that's it.

Do I replace just the X or the X-* within the ( )?

Like this
['field10-1']

Or this:
['field10']


Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

fta2k
29 Oct 2009, 02:01
Or this:
['field10']

That is the setting and I've gotten it to work. I'd show a pic but it's not fit for an open forum...

Thanks for the mod

ThyElite
01 Nov 2009, 20:41
the only thing is that when the board isn't fixed, the images tile horizontally

fta2k
02 Nov 2009, 03:51
the only thing is that when the board isn't fixed, the images tile horizontally

It's not the forum width that makes it tile, it's your screen resolution. What look right to you may or may not look right to others with a different resolution.

You'll need to enlarge your picture in Paint or Photoshop to fit your space. Even then it might not look right to other. Only took me 5 or 6 adjustments to get mine right.