PDA

View Full Version : Tutorial : how to install you home Webhost in 5 clicks


miz
08 Sep 2004, 09:38
ok, first i didnt maked this app so i dont take credit for it.

ok lets start

did you guys ever wanted to install a completly host on your home pc but you to lazy ?

look at this package

apache 2.0.50
php 4.3.8
mysql 4.0.20
perl (dunno the version i dont use it)
and everything is working and configured !!! only to change passwords and start working
and its also got status for your home server

this is very nice all-in-1 pack
so i decided to share it with you guys
i hope you will enjoy it.

and again i didnt maked it !!!

credits goes to : DeveloperSide.NET

Cant attch it (23.3 mb)
so he is link (http://www.devside.net/download/std/setup-1.12.exe)

thats all and enjoy.

MiZ

glo
28 Sep 2004, 10:40
Thanks Miz,

I've loaded this up and it looks very promising!

But i am getting one error when try to load vB!
It says Attempting to attach to database...

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please go back to the last step and ensure that you have entered all your login details correctly.

Click to go to the vBulletin website

And this is probably because in WinMySQL it didnt ask me to create a u/name and p/word, thus there is no server connection, i guess.

What can i try?

BTW, it also says driver 3.51 not found. :surprised:

Dean C
28 Sep 2004, 12:07
I'd reccomend xammp over this :)

glo
28 Sep 2004, 12:14
I'd reccomend xammp over this :)
HI Dean,

I'll give that a go, in an effort to get vB running agian on my pc.

I really dont know why its proving so difficult for me, especially since i had Teck's original method runnning under XPpro sp1. (now running sp2)

Dean C
28 Sep 2004, 15:53
xammp is so easy. You literally download and then run some batch files and you're good to go :)

glo
28 Sep 2004, 15:58
Hi Dean,

Im about to give it ago right now, but have spent the last few hours trying to figure out why i can access the server. i have confirmed that it running, but cant get a connection to it!

Even disabled Zone Alarm and Windows Firewall to ensure that ports are not blocked!

BUT my fear is that even after trying XAMMP that i will hit the same wall!

miz
29 Sep 2004, 03:38
Thanks Miz,

I've loaded this up and it looks very promising!

But i am getting one error when try to load vB!
It says

And this is probably because in WinMySQL it didnt ask me to create a u/name and p/word, thus there is no server connection, i guess.

What can i try?

BTW, it also says driver 3.51 not found. :surprised:


its says the same here and its working perfect i guss that the reason its not working is that you didnt changed mysql password

try this (from dos) :
Add a password to the MySQL 'root' account. Initially, that password is not set.
<drive:>\www\mysql\bin> mysqladmin -u root password new-password-here

glo
29 Sep 2004, 04:23
Hi Miz and Dean,

When i run <drive:>\www\mysql\bin> mysqladmin -u root password new-password

so that the username is "root" and the password is "password"

then it gave me a heap of data ie
mysql Ver12.22 Distrib 4.0.20a, for Win95/98 (i32)
etc etc etc


But i still cant instal vB with the same vB error
Attempting to attach to database...

The database has failed to connect because you do not have permission to connect to the server. Please go back to the last step and ensure that you have entered all your login details correctly.

Click to go to the vBulletin website

im starting to pull my hair out!

miz
29 Sep 2004, 15:33
i think like that :

before you install vbb, login to your data base with phpmyadmin create db for vbb
and later on edit config.php file...
and then try to install it again

glo
29 Sep 2004, 19:17
miz,
Instructions -- Setup the Environment
(6) Go to 'Start' 'Settings' 'Control Panel'; Select 'System' - 'Advanced' - 'Environment Variables...'; Under 'System variables' select 'Path'
Add to Path:
<drive:>\www\Apache2\bin;<drive:>\www\mysql\bin;<drive:>\www\perl\bin;<drive:>\www\php\dlls
*NOTE that the individual locations are separated with a ";" and that you will need to place a ";" at the end of the original PATH, to separate it from the first appended location.

Is Add to Path:
<drive:>\www\Apache2\bin;<drive:>\www\mysql\bin;<drive:>\www\perl\bin;<drive:>\www\php\dlls meant to be all on one line??? Because i have entered each one individually.

thanks

glo
29 Sep 2004, 19:53
Hooray! I got it running!

Thanks heaps!

I like the fact that this allows you to run a virtual server of your PC, instead of only vB.

It took me a while to figure out how to uninstall and clear all previous (past few days worth) MySQL and Apache installations.

Now, back to hacking! (and some sleep, its 5am Sydney time and i havent slept yet!)

kobescoresagain
12 Jul 2005, 04:38
I tried to do this, I have downloaded all myfiles and put them into the www/webroot file. What else do I need to do, in order to get this up, so I can edit vb on my pc

Danny.VBT
12 Jul 2005, 04:43
xammp is so easy. You literally download and then run some batch files and you're good to go :)

Can't agree with you more Dean, plus I love it's PHP switch option!

kobescoresagain
12 Jul 2005, 05:03
Is xammp easy to install? If so can someone let me know how to do it? So I can get my vb up on my pc, so I can edit offline, thanks

glo
12 Jul 2005, 05:17
this is a self installer. once installed you can follow the instructions on how to load vb on your PC (this thread (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=39482) )

Just skip the parts which tell you to install mysql, php and apache.

You then need to install vB onto your pc. try all your hacks there first, make a back up of your files you are changing too!

Good luck.

It will take some time, but be patient.

Rover416
12 Jul 2005, 12:14
Thank you.

I have installed a test vB on my pc this morning. :D

kobescoresagain
12 Jul 2005, 19:12
When I go to http://localhost/forums/ I get a database error, I don't think I have put the mysql anywhere yet, so I downloaded it off my current one online, but how do I put this on my pc?