vBulletin Mods

The Official vBulletin Modifications Site
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=103565

Rebuild Bitfields Link in AdminCP
by evenmonkeys
23 Dec 2005 00:50

1 Attachment(s)
I spent like thirty minutes lookin for the link that rebuilds your bitfields. When I finally found it, I found it in a thread that a person said it should be made into a modification. I couldn't agree more. For my first vB Extention, I'm releasing this one.

Description
This will add a link under your vBulletin Options category within your AdminCP that will allow you to rebuild your bitfields with the click of your mouse. It will then just reload to your main AdminCP homepage.

Templates to edit: 0
Files to Upload: 1

Instructions
1. Upload all cpnav_rebuild_bitfields.xml to your forum/includes/xml directory.
2. Go to AdminCP to make sure it's all working. It'll be located under the vBulletin Options.


All done! Enjoy!!



da420 23 Dec 2005 00:56

im sorry what exactly does this do?

evenmonkeys 23 Dec 2005 00:59

Quote:

Originally Posted by da420
im sorry what exactly does this do?

I'm going to be 100% honest. I have no idea what the exact purpose is. What I can tell you is that a lot of hacks that are released require that you manually update your bitfields after installing them. This is the link required that I can never find. I'm sure the command has something to do with updating certain fields that your database is not recognizing. Maybe one of the coders around here can answer it for you.

Rhoads 23 Dec 2005 02:03

You can edit your cpnav_vbulletin.xml

:ermm:

evenmonkeys 23 Dec 2005 02:11

Yeah, but why edit a file if you don't have to?

EasyTarget 23 Dec 2005 02:36

haha thanks, now we just need to sticky this or something.

jugo 23 Dec 2005 03:53

Just set your debug to on. or install the debug in admincponly modification and you'll get that and alot more useful info.

Feckie (Roger) 23 Dec 2005 06:29

It's Already On Quick Admin Tools

evenmonkeys 23 Dec 2005 07:25

Meh... well... this hack will be for those who don't want an entire list of quick links... and are just looking for this one link... and uhhh... don't want to spend the time looking for the debug option... which I have not been able to find. Where is that located? I could have sworn it used to be in the config.php file... but it's not anymore.

Marco van Herwaarden 23 Dec 2005 07:37

It still is in the config.php:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

PS Regardless of your debug setting, the direct link to rebuild always works: http://www.myboard.com/admincp/index...buildbitfields

Arios 23 Dec 2005 15:35

Cool saves me hunting for a link everytime. Thanks!

Andreas 23 Dec 2005 21:06

Normally, it should not be necessary to rebuild bitfields manually ...

evenmonkeys 23 Dec 2005 21:15

Quote:

Originally Posted by Andreas
Normally, it should not be necessary to rebuild bitfields manually ...

I've installed three modifications that have given me a link at the end of the install script telling me to run admincp/index.php?do=buildbitfields.

Andreas 23 Dec 2005 21:57

Yes, in older Versions this was necessary - now it should not.

akanevsky 26 Dec 2005 21:23

When you turn on the debug mode, the link is available under vBulletin Options... Don't see any use to this hack.


All times are GMT. The time now is 16:23.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.12
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright ©2001 - , vbulletin.org. All rights reserved.