Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
  #1  
Old 05 Jul 2007, 11:04
moondragon13 moondragon13 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Browsing is fast; posting slow - what size does replicatin make sense?

Hello,

I am starting to experience a lag (10 seconds or more) in posting on my forum and I believe it could be due to the amount of traffic at a given time that is on the server trying to post messages. Browsing the forum is quick and most pages load in the time it takes to verbally say "1 - 1,000" so about a second to 2 seconds top.

In your experience at what level do you start to see a need to have two databases? One for inserts and the other for the select queries?

I am running MySQL 4.1.20 and will be upgrading to MySQL 5 soon. Will this help?
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 05 Jul 2007, 12:30
orban orban is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Request server optimization over at vb.com in the server forum before you do anything at all.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05 Jul 2007, 14:39
moondragon13 moondragon13 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
orban,

Thanks for the reply. I will look into that. I can say that my Hardware should more than handle it. A Dell 6650 with 6GB ram and 4 multi-threaded CPUs with multi-threaded apache installed. I am going to move the db to its own machine this week too.

I had vB 3.0 two weeks ago with no problem. Upgraded to 3.6 and the problems started. Is there more overhead now in 3.6?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05 Jul 2007, 14:44
orban orban is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Oh wow?!

How many users online and how many posts do you have? That's a crazy machine
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 07:41
moondragon13 moondragon13 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
orban,

Not enough to make this machine sweat but all my users are complaining and I agree with them. It can take 30 seconds to post a message and it has to be MySQL related.

I have about 1.8 million post. On a peak 300 - 400 users.

I have requested support at vB.com and no answers yet.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 12:23
orban orban is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
moondragon, you can run 300-400 users on a much much much smaller machine. Also how large is your db?

There is absolutely no need to move to a two machine setup for these numbers.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 18:59
moondragon13 moondragon13 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
orban,

I agree 100%, you wouldn't believe the complaints I am getting now though. I will PM you the URL to see if you see the same "slowness" they are talking about.

My db is about 750MB.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 19:14
Yellow Slider Yellow Slider is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
I'm experiencing slowness too, my DB is 920 MB and the DB collection is UTF8,
i've installed xcache+xcache modofication and it helped a little, also the template cache plugin, try those..

which plugins do you have installed?
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 19:18
moondragon13 moondragon13 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by Yellow Slider View Post
I'm experiencing slowness too, my DB is 920 MB and the DB collection is UTF8,
i've installed xcache+xcache modofication and it helped a little, also the template cache plugin, try those..

which plugins do you have installed?
Zero, I stripped them all to send vB a support ticket. Things seem to be running better now that I have MySQL 5
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 19:38
mtlcore mtlcore is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
I would love to browse your site sicne you mentioned it is running on a beast-like machine.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 06 Jul 2007, 22:09
Farcaster Farcaster is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Robert Howard
Offhand, have you tried disabling the option "Automatic Similar Thread Search?" It might help to look at the queries running as well in debug mode to see where the hold up might be.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07 Jul 2007, 14:09
orban orban is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Do you have any news? Have you managed to set up slow query log?
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Jul 2007, 19:21
moondragon13 moondragon13 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by orban View Post
Do you have any news? Have you managed to set up slow query log?
orban,

I have this in the my.cnf file:

[mysqld_safe]
log-error=/var/log/mysqld.log
log-slow-queries=/var/log/mysqldslow.log
pid-file=/var/run/mysqld/mysqld.pid

But it hasn't logged the slow queries and I am showing 8 slow queries now. The good news is I've done some more MySQL tweaking with help from a MySQL focused forum and it seems to be helping. Will keep everyone updated.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Jul 2007, 21:25
orban orban is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
You aren't swapping by any chance are you?
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08 Jul 2007, 01:57
mtlcore mtlcore is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Hey bud, it's still running slow.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: