Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Forum Icons on forumhome Details »»
Forum Icons on forumhome
Mod Version: 1.00, by Sofia (Coder/Designer) Sofia is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2012 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (20 votes - 4.75 average) Installs: 508
Released: 22 May 2009 Last Update: Never Downloads: 41
Not Supported Template Edits Re-usable Code Translations  

This mod allows you to have specific forum icons on the forumhome per forum.







(New) You want your statusicons per forum? Read this : http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...6&postcount=45


Installation


In the template forumhome_forumbit_level2_post,

Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add above:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Create a folder "iconforums" into your images/misc folder. Upload your icons in images/misc/iconforums.

Indicate a forumid for the images name.


Example:
ID Forum = 3. So your image have this name : "3.gif"
ID Forum = 7. So your image have this name : "7.gif"

You must have an icon for each forum
.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Sans titre.png
Views:	2989
Size:	22.7 KB
ID:	99462

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #31  
Old 25 May 2009, 01:59
Black Tiger's Avatar
Black Tiger Black Tiger is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Add above:
Looks almost the same. Must the line be added above or can this also be achieved by replacing the found line by the new one?
__________________
Greetings, Black Tiger
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 25 May 2009, 09:40
Sofia Sofia is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Sofia
Originally Posted by Black Tiger View Post
Looks almost the same. Must the line be added above or can this also be achieved by replacing the found line by the new one?
If you replace the first line by my line, forumtitles don't show up.
Do you have a problem with this code?
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 28 May 2009, 15:01
tspaetten tspaetten is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Great mod now i get it to work
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 29 May 2009, 11:04
Sofia Sofia is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Sofia
Originally Posted by tspaetten View Post
Great mod now i get it to work
Hope you enjoy it
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 01:24
crustymusic99 crustymusic99 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I only want to customize a select few icons, the others should be default. This mod requires me to have a unique icon for every forum.. Do you know what I should add to specify only which forums need a new icon, and the rest be the default?

I also would like to change the really small icons per sub-forum..
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 09:04
Sofia Sofia is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Sofia
Originally Posted by crustymusic99 View Post
I only want to customize a select few icons, the others should be default. This mod requires me to have a unique icon for every forum.. Do you know what I should add to specify only which forums need a new icon, and the rest be the default?

I also would like to change the really small icons per sub-forum..
If your default icons is statuiscon (new / old), you can't do it. If your default icons are customized icons, you can create a default icon.

If you want icons in sub-forums, you must edit the template "forumhome_forumbit_level1_post" (same code).
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 01 Jun 2009, 09:23
crustymusic99 crustymusic99 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Preferably if no custom icon is specified I want no icon to show. How it is now if no icon for that forum exist a red x error image will show. I need it to be default where nothing shows.
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 12 Jun 2009, 16:24
abbasbsp's Avatar
abbasbsp abbasbsp is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Real name: abbasbsp
mr. sofia
my icon makes to want to present middle, like there divider between subforum
can you help me

this I make :


this exam, what I want


please help me ...
__________________
vb4.0.X is good, not heavy and perfect, demo of the modification I made, please the see JurDik Teknik Mesin Forum
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
if you are still stumped, please PM me
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 13 Jun 2009, 00:14
DNG DNG is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
nice

thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 14 Jun 2009, 20:00
kyrenator kyrenator is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
thanks, nice work!
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 19 Jun 2009, 17:26
ddo36 ddo36 is offline
 
Join Date: May 2009
mark this as installed.

Great work sofia

I have one question though..

I went to vBulletin Options>> Forum Display Options (forumdisplay)>>Enable Forum Description set to Yes..

So that means that the description of the forum will show below the navbar right?

my question is, where do you think i can edit the forum description(showing below the navbar), so that icons can show in the description without editing the forum description(in the forum manager).

just like what you did in this mod.

coz i'd like that the forum description(below the navbar) will have pictures too.

i hope you understood my question.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 19 Jun 2009, 22:34
Candostum Candostum is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Thanks but I get XHTML error with this code.
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 20 Jun 2009, 11:24
kent_lkc kent_lkc is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
any idea how to add image to Category ?
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 02 Jul 2009, 15:11
New Joe's Avatar
New Joe New Joe is online now
 
Join Date: May 2009
Originally Posted by Sofia View Post
Hi aliali. Yes, it's possible, but only 1 icon by forum, so you cannot have old/new posts system.

In the template forumhome_forumbit_level2_post and forumhome_forumbit_level1_post

Find:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace by:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
I tried that but it didn't work.
Could you give me a more "step by step" way to do it, including where to upload the images.
Also do I have to add anything to the code change?
How does it know which picture to add to which Forum?
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 02 Jul 2009, 16:37
Sofia Sofia is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Sofia
Originally Posted by New Joe View Post
I tried that but it didn't work.
Could you give me a more "step by step" way to do it, including where to upload the images.
Also do I have to add anything to the code change?
How does it know which picture to add to which Forum?
Hey Joe.
Try to upload images in the folder misc.


If it doesn't work, you can test this:

Only if you have 3.7.x and newer version (3.8.x)

You can have specific status icons by forum.
With no product, no template modification and very easy.








Installation


1. AdminCP


AdminCP >> Forums & Moderators >> Forum Manager >> Choose a forum

In this forum, find: Style Options
In Style Options,
we can modify Prefix for Forum Status Images.

This setting allows you to have a prefix by forum that will be used on status icons filenames.

You must enter here your forum ID.

How I can find my forum ID?
On the same page, at the top of this page, you've your forum name and your forum ID.





In this example, ID is "2", so you must enter "2" in Prefix for Forum Status Images.
Then, I use "_" so that it is more clean on your filenames.


2. Images

Now, you have to create your images for every forum where you want to have specific status icons.

Your images must have this name:
ID_forum_link.gif
ID_forum_new.gif
ID_forum_new_lock.gif
ID_forum_old.gif
ID_forum_old_lock.gif

In my example, images have this name:
2_forum_link.gif
2_forum_new.gif
2_forum_new_lock.gif
2_forum_old.gif
2_forum_old_lock.gif

Finally, upload images into "images/yourstyle/statusicon".
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:40.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: