Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Country Flags - Postbit & Postbit_Legacy. vB 4.0.x (Inc GO Details »»
Country Flags - Postbit & Postbit_Legacy. vB 4.0.x (Inc GO
Mod Version: 1.00, by Welshy2008 (Coder/Designer) Welshy2008 is offline
Developer Last Online: Mar 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.x Rating: (64 votes - 4.81 average) Installs: 572
Released: 04 Dec 2009 Last Update: 30 May 2012 Downloads: 4134
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes Additional Files Translations  

Description:

This Add on, gives a selection of Countries that your Member (New or Existing) can choose from in a 'Drop-Down Menu'. The Country he/she selects, will be displayed as a Flag in their Postbit.

Credit for the Flags goes to Cobro. (I have renamed each and every flag to work with this Mod).


Instructions:

Firstly “Upload” ALL the Flag GIF pics to your forum root /images/buttons/flags folder.

IE: yourforumaddress.com/forum/images/buttons/flags

Please Note: Due to the flags folder being too large to upload as one - I have been forced to upload it as "flags1", "flags2" and "flags3" - Please ensure that you add a new folder to "images/buttons/" and name it "flags". Please copy the contents of ALL THREE (3) flags folders in the attachment below to the new 'flags' folder that you have just made. (DO NOT place them as 3 seperate folders!"


Then in your Admin Control Panel (ACP), please do the following:
ACP -> User Profile Fields -> Add New User Profile Field ->Profile Field Type -> Single-Selection Menu (select ‘Single-Selection Menu’ from the Drop-Down Menu) -> Please enter the following into the following fields (REMEMBER to make a note of the FieldID, because you will need to replace ALL the X’s in [fieldX] with it!!!
(Please see 'FieldID.jpg' attachment below).

Add New User Profile Field Single-Selection Menu:

Title = Country Flag
Description = Add your country flag to your profile:
Profile Field Category = (Uncategorized)
Options = Copy & Paste the Whole contents of the file attached below (OPTIONS)
Set Default = None
Display Order = You Select this (dependant on how many you already have)
Field Required = yes, at registration and profile updating
Field Editable by User = Yes
Private Field = No
Field Searchable on Members List = No
Show on Members List = Yes


Optional Input:

Allow user to input their own value for this option = No
Max length of allowed user input = 100
Field Length = 25
Regular Expression = Leave this Blank


Display Page:

Which page displays this option? = Edit Your Details ** Please note that the vB4.0.4 Version does not show this option. Please select "Edit Profile" option. The selct your country flag option, I can confirm, Also shows on registration too.
** SAVE **


Then, In your Admin Control Panel (ACP)...

ACP -> Styles & Templates -> Style Manager -> <<>> -> Postbit Templates -> select the template that you use (ie Postbit or Posbit_legacy) – This is for the Postbit_Legacy…

FIND:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


If you would like to place it under your number of user posts (to the right of your Postbit) then look for:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


(upto vB4.0.5) ADD BELOW:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(for vB4.0.6 AND 4.0.7) ADD BELLOW:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(Also adds the Username to the 'alt' Code on Mouseover).

(for vB4.0.8):


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

(Thanks to Krusty1231 for this).

(for vB4.1.0 , 4.1.0 PL2 & 4.1.1)


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Even though I have not tested this in these versions, others have and have reported this mod to be working in them.[/b]

Please make sure the style and template edits are still there. Just one of the people can be seen on post 350


** Replace the ‘X’ with your FieldID number **
** Replace the ‘Red Text’ with Your Forum Address **



** SAVE Template **





And that's it - Enjoy!


Please do not forget to click "Install"

Edit & Update TRACKER - Keep Upto date here:

** 30/05/2012 - Update "Flags2 to include correct name on Switzerland flag"..

** 27/09/2010 - Update on 4.0.6 "added code for the 4.0.6 Version, and instructions on how to place the flug under a user's postcount in posbit"..


** 12/07/2010 - Update on 4.0.4 "Which page displays this option"..

** 26/06/2010 - Updated Flag Names and Country Names in the "Options" text file. PLEASE Re-upload and overwrite all three flag folders and the options Text file...

** 15/01/2010 - Made all the Countries in the "OPTIONS.txt" in Alphabetical Order..

** 27/12/2009 - Changed the contents of OPTIONS.ZIP folder from a .docx file to a .txt file, as requested.

** 26/12/2009 - Option 2 Added
- Flag folder Updated (UK.gif changed to UK.GIF)


** 05/12/2009 - OPTIONS File Added.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Supporters / CoAuthors

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	AdminCP.jpg
Views:	3760
Size:	100.7 KB
ID:	107172Click image for larger version

Name:	Postbit_Legacy.jpg
Views:	6855
Size:	30.0 KB
ID:	107173Click image for larger version

Name:	FieldID.jpg
Views:	5410
Size:	88.5 KB
ID:	107179

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Country Orb people (Country Flags) mac27 vBulletin Avatar Sets 101 02 Jan 2012 23:16

  #496  
Old 10 Mar 2012, 21:42
Krusty1231's Avatar
Krusty1231 Krusty1231 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Real name: Jerry
Originally Posted by BrightStar View Post
Could someone help me with the code please? My flags directory is located in /forums/images/buttons/flags/image.GIF and everytime I've to upload the directory into the style directory as that's where the script tries to look for.

Is it possible to define a custom location of the directory rather than looking into the style's directory?

Cheers
This is what I did.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That way I am not uploading the flags to each style. One flag folder to rule them all!

The path can be suited anyway you like. In my example my flag folder is uploaded outside my forum content - example - http://www.youraddress.com/flags/Canada.Gif

Hope it helps!

Last edited by Krusty1231 : 10 Mar 2012 at 21:48.
Reply With Quote
  #497  
Old 11 Mar 2012, 23:15
andie215 andie215 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Originally Posted by Krusty1231 View Post
This is what I did.


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That way I am not uploading the flags to each style. One flag folder to rule them all!

The path can be suited anyway you like. In my example my flag folder is uploaded outside my forum content - example - http://www.youraddress.com/flags/Canada.Gif

Hope it helps!
All works fine in 4.1.11 and using Krustys code above.
Reply With Quote
  #498  
Old 17 Mar 2012, 12:16
gazza2008 gazza2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Am getting a problem I can not get them to display

Welshy if ya around PM me i'll setup a temp admin account


cheers

gaz
Reply With Quote
  #499  
Old 19 Mar 2012, 17:59
Welshy2008's Avatar
Welshy2008 Welshy2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Gazza PM ME the dtails and a link buddy, and I will do it for you, mate.
__________________
Talk.electricianforum.co.uk - The UKs most respected Electricians Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #500  
Old 22 Mar 2012, 20:51
datoneer's Avatar
datoneer datoneer is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
I must say that welshy is a genius! He helped me every time i contact him! Very very nice, and thank you once again
Reply With Quote
  #501  
Old 27 Mar 2012, 03:45
sweetpotato sweetpotato is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Please add the flag for South Sudan
Reply With Quote
  #502  
Old 29 Mar 2012, 15:32
GeorgeEcuador's Avatar
GeorgeEcuador GeorgeEcuador is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
help me... I get rather field6 field5 and I are the flags. And follow as it was here.

sorry for me bad english..
Reply With Quote
  #503  
Old 02 Apr 2012, 08:58
hhumas hhumas is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
i want it for vb 4.1.5 ...........
Reply With Quote
  #504  
Old 27 Apr 2012, 01:32
booble booble is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
work on 4.1.12???????
Reply With Quote
  #505  
Old 27 Apr 2012, 10:55
ukhostz's Avatar
ukhostz ukhostz is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Real name: Andy
I can confirm it works fine on VB 4.1.12 Patch 1

No problems at all.
Reply With Quote
  #506  
Old 27 Apr 2012, 16:19
booble booble is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
ok, but I have:

<!-- Wy Country Flags Start -->
<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><style="text-align:left"> Country:</dt> <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/flags/{vb:raw post.field6}.GIF" align="middle" alt="{vb:raw post.field6}" border="" /></vb:if>
<!-- Wy Flags End -->


And not work.

"Country: Spain" :_____(
Reply With Quote
  #507  
Old 29 May 2012, 22:20
spillage spillage is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Real name: Bryan
Originally Posted by Welshy2008 View Post
I have added the switzerland flag previously. It is in a post somewhere.

Anyway, I have added it again, it is showing in the "Screenshot" section. Just right click and "Save picture as..."
For anyone that still has issue with the missing Switzerland flag, it is included in the zip file, but it's named Suisse instead of Switzerland... rename it and you should be fine.
__________________
Bryan
vB 4.2.2
Reply With Quote
  #508  
Old 30 May 2012, 09:26
Welshy2008's Avatar
Welshy2008 Welshy2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Originally Posted by sweetpotato View Post
Please add the flag for South Sudan
I'm sorry, I only have the Sudan flag.

Originally Posted by booble View Post
ok, but I have:

<!-- Wy Country Flags Start -->
<vb:if condition="$post['field6']"><style="text-align:left"> Country:</dt> <img src="{vb:stylevar imgdir_button}/flags/{vb:raw post.field6}.GIF" align="middle" alt="{vb:raw post.field6}" border="" /></vb:if>
<!-- Wy Flags End -->


And not work.

"Country: Spain" :_____(

If you, or any other member would like me to take a look and get it working on your forum, please PM Administrator Username & Password for your forum. Please also ensure that full Admin perssion are set up on the temporary account for me. This offer only applies to those whose have marked the mod as "Installed".

Originally Posted by spillage View Post
For anyone that still has issue with the missing Switzerland flag, it is included in the zip file, but it's named Suisse instead of Switzerland... rename it and you should be fine.
Thank you for mentioning that. I have now worded the Switzerland flag correctly and re-uploaded the whold folder again. (The Switzerland flag was also added as an attachment in my OP, some time ago).
__________________
Talk.electricianforum.co.uk - The UKs most respected Electricians Forum.
Reply With Quote
  #509  
Old 30 May 2012, 16:57
NickTGA NickTGA is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Any update for 4.1.12?
Reply With Quote
  #510  
Old 31 May 2012, 11:09
Welshy2008's Avatar
Welshy2008 Welshy2008 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Originally Posted by NickTGA View Post
Any update for 4.1.12?
It works on vB4.1.2. I am using it myself. (and has been confirmed by others).
__________________
Talk.electricianforum.co.uk - The UKs most respected Electricians Forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 19:43.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: