![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Beware of Tricky Email
Today I got an email that looked just like it came from Vbulletin. However, it is not. Here is the email that I received. Be wary, I wouldn't click on any link.
Hello everyone. As some of you may know, three large vBulletin modification sites have been attacked recently and may be down for some time. I'd like to take this time to introduce our new website to you. It is a full vBulletin modifications site which can grow even larger with your help. So don't hold back, come join us and help us build our community even bigger. URL REMOVED We hope to see you all there soon! +++++++++ Staff No members have liked this post.
Last edited by BirdOPrey5 : 11 Jul 2012 at 12:21. |
|
#2
|
||||
|
||||
|
Originally Posted by Reycer
I recieved this mail as well and blocked it.
It's sad to see a nice piece of software abused this way!! No members have liked this post.
Last edited by BirdOPrey5 : 11 Jul 2012 at 12:21. |
|
#3
|
||||
|
||||
|
I also got it .. I laughed at the name "******" and paid the site a visit just because of the funny name. However there wasnt much activity there.
I wonder where they got my e-mail address from. It's not publicly available in many places. It has surely been leaked from some forum associated with vBulletin/forum administration. No members have liked this post.
Last edited by BirdOPrey5 : 11 Jul 2012 at 12:22. |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Yeah I got that too! I'm glad I didn't click the link...
"*******" That's funny... vijayninel, a few years ago I purchased a few exotic skins for my board - I honestly can't remember the name of the creator (if I look deeper, I'm sure I'll figure it out) but I'm about 99.9% sure that he in turn sold my email to others...for a few years, I got spam from Arabic-language sites. I'm saying this because the email address that the +++++++++ spam used is the one I use for spam when I don't want my real email used...my vBulletin email wasn't hit with this... No members have liked this post.
Last edited by BirdOPrey5 : 11 Jul 2012 at 12:22. |
|
#5
|
||||
|
||||
|
HAHAHHAHA.
******, good one. No members have liked this post.
Last edited by BirdOPrey5 : 11 Jul 2012 at 12:22. |
|
#6
|
|||
|
|||
|
Thanks for the heads up.
It is a shame that some lowlifes try to impersonate others to cheat with and a shame that some people actually support these scammers on their websites. Domain: REMOVED Length: 13 characters MD5 Hash: eee949d3cf410b628ddc6ac84626941d Zone: com ISP: Unknown Organization: Unknown IP Address: 128.204.202.130 IP Hostname: hosted-by.dotvps.net IP Country: United States United States (US) Google Page Rank: 0 Alexa Rank: 27237133 Domain Created: 2012-04-18 (3 months ago) No members have liked this post.
Last edited by BirdOPrey5 : 11 Jul 2012 at 12:22. |
|
#7
|
||||
|
||||
|
Nope did not get it
No members have liked this post.
|
|
#8
|
|||
|
|||
|
Didn't get it either. And seems the link has gone south also.
No members have liked this post.
|
|
#9
|
||||
|
||||
|
Linking to Pirate/Warez sites is NOT ALLOWED. Links/domains removed.
You are giving them more publicity then they could otherwise have hoped to have.
__________________
-Joe Qapla.com - Exclusive VB Mods! | Joe's Ultimate Off Topic | My Free VB "Mods" You can PM me if you want but be warned I do not read them often. No members have liked this post.
|
![]() |
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
| Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests) |
| Thread Tools | |
|
|
| New To Site? | Need Help? |
All times are GMT. The time now is 13:29.



