Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Plugin Accelerator Details »»
Plugin Accelerator
Mod Version: 1.2.1, by Trigunflame (Member) Trigunflame is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.5.3 Rating: (4 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 171
Released: 06 Feb 2006 Last Update: 12 Mar 2006 Downloads: 778
Not Supported Code Changes Additional Files  

Vbulletin Plugin Accelerator
Accelerate Your Forums Plugins



Summary:

If you use the Vbulletin Plugin System (Specially if you use a lot of plugins), this will help improve the performance of the system overall by inlining all of the plugin code into the PHP files themself.

Essentially making it as if you had hacked the files yourself, this will give you better performance on your forum overall.

PS. Use this in conjunction with my Other Hack (Compress Forum Templates) for speeding up your forum even more by compressing templates.
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=107615
PS. Use this in conjunction with my Other Hack (Template Cache System) for speeding up your forum by caching its templates.
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=110144

Install:
  1. Download the zip file.
  2. Open install.txt and Read Instructions

Upgrade:
  1. Download the zip file.
  2. Uninstall Product "Vbulletin Plugin Accelerator"
  3. Open install.txt and Read Instructions to install like usual.

Current Status: (RC2)

Release Candidate 2 Has Been Released.
This code has been deemed acceptable and to be used by all.

Please report any bugs back to this thread.
Thanks.
  • Latest Changes: 02/11/2006
  • Fixed another problem with backslashes, hopefully this will fix some other problems.
  • To upgrade, just replace the includes/class_plugin_accelerator.php with the new one.

Important Notes:

1. While this IS a release candidate, more than likely its not fully bug free so Please backup your files before you install this modification, this system is not yet perfect.

2. When running "Rebuild Hook Cache" and "Rebuild All Plugins" if you ever see a small parse error, or file couldnt be opened error; re-run both again and it should go away.

3. includes/hook_files.php contains locations of all the files the accelerator scans for plugin hooks, if you have any files that have been renamed, moved, etc.. you need to add it to that file on its own line, thanks.


If You Have Problems:

If you incur any parse errors, or pages not displaying after running the steps. Please make a copy of the affect file as well as its original version, zip them and upload somewhere. Send me a link to the file for me to download, review and provide a fix.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Comments
  #2  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 22:04
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Laymans terms please lol
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 22:26
Protoman's Avatar
Protoman Protoman is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
it works!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 23:06
Trigunflame's Avatar
Trigunflame Trigunflame is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Dusty Burns
Originally Posted by bashy
Laymans terms please lol
If you use a lot of "Plugins" via the Vbulletin Plugin System, this will make your site faster when I get an actual version working.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 23:20
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Interesting
I wrote a little windows application to prepare a "slipstreamed" vBulletin with all Plugins included back in beta stage.

Worked very well, though you loose the flexibility of the Plugin system:
You can't easily enable/disable Plugins/Products through ACP anymore, as this requires reprocessing the files.
And having them +w might not be a too good option, especially in shared environments.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 23:41
Trigunflame's Avatar
Trigunflame Trigunflame is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Dusty Burns
Originally Posted by Andreas
Interesting
I wrote a little windows application to prepare a "slipstreamed" vBulletin with all Plugins included back in beta stage.

Worked very well, though you loose the flexibility of the Plugin system:
You can't easily enable/disable Plugins/Products through ACP anymore, as this requires reprocessing the files.
And having them +w might not be a too good option, especially in shared environments.
Well this is the thing, you Will be able to easily "enable/disable" the plugins and products from the ACP; this system will not hinder the use of that, I will keep a cache of the hook_name => file pairs, by good use of power of preg via comments I can control where code is placed in the vbulletin files and be able to add and remove plugin code easily (Only) on the needed files, no need to scan the files again for every plugin code change.

As for the chmod options, there is a truth to that; but I can probably write a suitable php implementation that can control the chmod options to a degree when files need to be wrote, then set back to 755.. ofcourse this will defer depending on the system; in the end people can always chmod their files to 777 when they want to make a change, then back to 755 when they finish.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 23:54
Andreas's Avatar
Andreas Andreas is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Andreas
Yeah, but if I turn Off the Plugin System you will have to re-process all files that contain active Hooks

Also, you would have to add a check for DISABLE_HOOKS being set on every Hoook location, or that won't work any longer - which again adds some overhead.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 06 Feb 2006, 23:59
Trigunflame's Avatar
Trigunflame Trigunflame is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Dusty Burns
Originally Posted by Andreas
Yeah, but if I turn Off the Plugin System you will have to re-process all files that contain active Hooks

Also, you would have to add a check for DISABLE_HOOKS being set on every Hoook location, or that won't work any longer - which again adds some overhead.
That is true, but you are talking hypothetically. Realistically no one is going to turn their plugin system on and off several times a day every day. There are lots of plugin hooks, but not all of them are used.. as such not every file has to be modified and not every hook has to be replaced. If the file contains hooks that are not currently used by the system they are simply commented out.

I plan to keep existing compatability; Even if used an if() construct for each plugin segment that still takes less cpu cycles than an empty function call.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 04:03
Trigunflame's Avatar
Trigunflame Trigunflame is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Dusty Burns
Update:

Integrated Test Number 2, this does an actual hook cache, hook replace with php code, output with 2 included example files.

This is a proof of concept attempt, and will be further expanded probably tomorrow.. but this is a good foundation to work from.

No need to worry about modification of your files, this is performed on the 2 test files e_1.php and e_2.php included with the archive.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 04:50
Zia's Avatar
Zia Zia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Z.R.
hello...
im not a coder or a xpert...
in easy way...does it help speed up vb3.5.3 ?????
.i read the description mentioned...:S kinda hard to realize..

it will create another plug in system that will work faster than the defult system?




sorry for this kind of raw qus...but im not a coder or an xpert..
thnx
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 05:12
Trigunflame's Avatar
Trigunflame Trigunflame is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Dusty Burns
Originally Posted by Zia
hello...
im not a coder or a xpert...
in easy way...does it help speed up vb3.5.3 ?????
.i read the description mentioned...:S kinda hard to realize..

it will create another plug in system that will work faster than the defult system?




sorry for this kind of raw qus...but im not a coder or an xpert..
thnx
This is alpha quality code, we are just in the testing stages; the current code in the archive simply provides 2 tests that you can run to see if the plugin system code will work on your server/forum/site.

We should have "fully" operational code with the next day or so.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 05:40
Zia's Avatar
Zia Zia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Z.R.
Thans let us try with it in our test site ...

thnx
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 06:34
uae's Avatar
uae uae is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Real name: Alyassi
Hey thanks,
But there is no file called static_plugins.php in the zip file!
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 06:38
Trigunflame's Avatar
Trigunflame Trigunflame is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Real name: Dusty Burns
Originally Posted by uae
Hey thanks,
But there is no file called static_plugins.php in the zip file!
I renamed it to test.php, sorry I'll update page.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 07 Feb 2006, 14:18
The Realist's Avatar
The Realist The Realist is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Brian
Re: No4 below, what findings do you want?

1) Instructions:
2) Download the zip file.
3) Place the static_plugins folder in your forum directory.
4) Run the script via the url [u]http:// yoursite.com/static_plugins/test.php
5) Report your finding back here if you would please.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:14.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: