Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 10:26
kushtiUK kushtiUK is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Stuart
YAHOO sueing 1800 people for their domains!

I have a friend in Egland with a domain name "yazoomail.com" which he has had for 2 years and make regular use of - he has just received in the post a letter notifying him that if he does not HAND the domain over to YAHOO immediately, and for NO financial compensation, (not even the cost of the domain name registration,) he will be sued in court to force him to sign ownership of this domain over to YAHOO! In addition, he received a list of 1800 other people with similar domain names who are ALSO being threatened with legal action if they refuse to GIFT to YAHOO their private property! WAHT does everyone think of THAT??? BOO YAHOO I say - if this goes ahead, where will it stop? This is bully-boy extortion and surely it must be illegal? Or is nothing illegal if your chequebook is fat? here are some other domains being sued for: btyaho.com, e-yatoo.com, careyaho.com, boyyaho.com, djyahoos.com, yah-uu.com, yahpgosi.com, sbcatahoo.com
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 10:39
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Looks like a load of tosh to me...i cant see how they can do anything as they aint the same as such!!
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 11:47
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Fillip
Ok this is scaring me. Even fuggen MICROSOFT, who have been dragged into countless Anti-trust lawsuits, had the decency to offer Mike Rowe, the previous owner of MikeRoweSoft.com, a free X-Box and a lifetime pass to all Microsoft screenings.

And here I was thinking that M$ was the largest devil on the Intar Nets XD
__________________
* You may translate any of my posted tutorials/Phrase XML files and release them to any site.
* You may not release full copies of any modification (incl. Product XML files) to any site.
* You must always link back to the thread on vBulletin.org.

I'm not available for support, (major) custom changes to any of my modifications or (major) custom jobs at this point in time, due to college.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 12:21
Jay... Jay... is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Piss take that is, i'd tell Yahoo to do one, let them take me to court.

Last edited by Paul M : 25 Jun 2006 at 13:06.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 12:40
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Sounds like complete tosh to me, probably a scam.
__________________


Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Please Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Senior vBulletin Developer : Please do not PM me about custom work - I work for Internet brands and no longer have the time to undertake any.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 14:40
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
Originally Posted by Revan
Ok this is scaring me. Even fuggen MICROSOFT, who have been dragged into countless Anti-trust lawsuits, had the decency to offer Mike Rowe, the previous owner of MikeRoweSoft.com, a free X-Box and a lifetime pass to all Microsoft screenings.

And here I was thinking that M$ was the largest devil on the Intar Nets XD
That's only after a HUGE campaign backing Mike Rowe in both the on and offline media You can be sure they wouldn't have offered him that package if it had receieved no press.
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 14:52
Shazz's Avatar
Shazz Shazz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Real name: Shawn Hinckley
blah there just URL names pff
________
Ferrari F2002 history

Last edited by Shazz : 06 Feb 2011 at 07:07.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 17:14
Revan's Avatar
Revan Revan is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Real name: Fillip
Originally Posted by Dean C
That's only after a HUGE campaign backing Mike Rowe in both the on and offline media You can be sure they wouldn't have offered him that package if it had receieved no press.
True but they still did it
__________________
* You may translate any of my posted tutorials/Phrase XML files and release them to any site.
* You may not release full copies of any modification (incl. Product XML files) to any site.
* You must always link back to the thread on vBulletin.org.

I'm not available for support, (major) custom changes to any of my modifications or (major) custom jobs at this point in time, due to college.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 17:25
sambah sambah is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
seems like a good SLAPP lawyer is needed
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26 Jun 2006, 06:33
Ntfu2 Ntfu2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
probably a horrible attempt to high jack his domain. If i was him i'd wait for the "offical court papers"

Even then yahoo doesnt have much of a case against him.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26 Jun 2006, 13:20
MPDev's Avatar
MPDev MPDev is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Sending threatening letters is cheap...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26 Jun 2006, 23:20
AN-net's Avatar
AN-net AN-net is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
they wouldnt win the yazoo mail as it doesnt even have the same pronunciation as yahoo. nor does it represent yahoo at all. its a hoax. also was it an email or a letter. if its an email its definately a fake. any legal department would send a lengthy document detailing their claims.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27 Jun 2006, 21:14
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
Originally Posted by MPDev
Sending threatening letters is cheap...
Maybe yahoo should take a leaf out of your book Michael
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 27 Jun 2006, 21:25
COBRAws's Avatar
COBRAws COBRAws is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Real name: Jack
Well, as everyone said, if its an email its nothing serious. I receive a LOT of emails and phonecalls threatening my biz but never got a reall letter from any attourny.

So, until they get those pappers, be cool
__________________
cobraws
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29 Jun 2006, 04:58
The SandKiller The SandKiller is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by Revan
Ok this is scaring me. Even fuggen MICROSOFT, who have been dragged into countless Anti-trust lawsuits, had the decency to offer Mike Rowe, the previous owner of MikeRoweSoft.com, a free X-Box and a lifetime pass to all Microsoft screenings.

And here I was thinking that M$ was the largest devil on the Intar Nets XD

OMG, i remember that forum i was on there with Kerry. OMG. Good memories.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: