Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Proxy to Real IP Conversion Details »»
Proxy to Real IP Conversion
Mod Version: 2.25, by Paul M (Dr Pepper Addict) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Jul 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (24 votes - 4.13 average) Installs: 634
Released: 02 Jul 2006 Last Update: 25 Nov 2006 Downloads: 3032
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Code Changes Translations  

This modification is no longer supported.
It will remain available for download and use, but the thread is no longer monitored.

This hack makes the forum always use the members real ip when a proxy is detected, meaning that all existing ip functions should continue to work, basically ignoring the proxy server (other than recording it's presence).

i.e.

* The real ip (or host) is displayed in the who's online page.
* The real and proxy server ip's are accesible for each post, the button is red for members using a proxy server.
* The real ip is searchable in the admin/mod cp (but not the proxy ip).
* The real ip can be banned by admins.

etc etc ......

Note: Obviously this hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection.

If a proxy is detected, then a red ip icon is displayed instead of the standard one. This mod will also detect if the ipinfo hack is installed and adjust itself to call the ipinfo code.


History:

v2.20 : Updated for vb 3.6. IP Info detection added.
v2.21 : Dependancies updated for 3.6.0 Gold.
v2.22 : Updated for Version Checking.
v2.23 : Fixed bug causing wrong ip in WOL display.
v2.24 : Rewritten slightly to fix a minor issue with spiders.
v2.25 : Updated for changes in vB 3.6.4.


Remember that this modification involves changes to the class_core.php file - if you upgrade your vbulletin, you must reapply those changes.

Please do not post asking why this does not work with some proxy servers, the answer is already in the notes above, and also in Post #160.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Proxy IP to real IP conversion Paul M vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 152 20 Feb 2011 22:46
Proxy ip to real ip conversion Paul M vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 236 27 Jan 2007 04:25
Use real ip when proxy server is detected. Paul M vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 260 04 Oct 2006 06:46

  #151  
Old 04 Nov 2006, 19:55
Shazz's Avatar
Shazz Shazz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Real name: Shawn Hinckley
Well they have to be using a PROXY
Reply With Quote
  #152  
Old 04 Nov 2006, 20:37
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Originally Posted by apiasto
Like it, but one problem instead of red picture i get a X mark when proxy is detected. What i am doing wrong. help
You haven't uploaded the image to the correct place for your style.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #153  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 00:11
Wild-Wing Wild-Wing is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
oh im glad to see this ported over its been helpful for canning problem people
__________________
I dont code for the hell of it:rambo:
Reply With Quote
  #154  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 00:11
Wild-Wing Wild-Wing is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
your the best paul!
__________________
I dont code for the hell of it:rambo:
Reply With Quote
  #155  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 01:56
beishe8 beishe8 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by Shazz
Well they have to be using a PROXY
I'm using a proxy to try it...

www.mywebsite/forum
Log in as "myname" .


New TAB.
www.mywebsite/forum
Currently Active Users
"myname"

Change TAB.
Who's Online?

"myname" XX.111.....
guest 85.195.123.22
http://Anonymouse.org/ (Unix)

Shouldn't it be twice XX.111.... ? Puzzles me...
Reply With Quote
  #156  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 02:03
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Nope, only one ip is displayed in WOL.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #157  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 02:26
beishe8 beishe8 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by Paul M
Nope, only one ip is displayed in WOL.
"myname" XX.111.....
"guest" should be XX.111....

The two are the same! Me.
Reply With Quote
  #158  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 02:37
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Sorry, I don't understand you.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #159  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 03:10
beishe8 beishe8 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by Paul M
Sorry, I don't understand you.
I normally log in once as "user1". I am the admin.

Then log in again as "user2" with the help of a proxy.

Currently active users:


As user2 I can see online: user1 and user2. No IP

As user1 I can see online:
user1 IP=XX.111...
user2 IP=YY.222... Why not XX.111... ?

user1 and user2 have the same IP because both of them are myself.

I should see twice XX.111.
I see YY.222 which is the proxy. This hack in my case does not show the real IP...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg new-2.jpg (11.1 KB, 91 views)

Last edited by beishe8 : 05 Nov 2006 at 05:54.
Reply With Quote
  #160  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 10:33
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Please read the notes.

This hack makes the forum always use the members real ip when a proxy is detected
Obviously this hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection.
Obviously annonymouse is not going to pass on those variables (nor will any "annonymous" proxy) - they wouldn't be annonymous if they did.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #161  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 12:37
apiasto's Avatar
apiasto apiasto is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M
You haven't uploaded the image to the correct place for your style.
I did uploaded px.gif to images>buttons folder, where the ip gif is. as it says in the instruction
Reply With Quote
  #162  
Old 05 Nov 2006, 18:18
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
The instructions cannot cover all possibilities - like I said, it needs to be the correct place for your style.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #163  
Old 06 Nov 2006, 03:50
beishe8 beishe8 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Originally Posted by Paul M
... - they wouldn't be annonymous if they did.
Grrr... Thanks Paul.
Reply With Quote
  #164  
Old 10 Nov 2006, 10:05
taydu taydu is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
please help, do i need to enable this hack after install ?? Mind the doesn't seem to be working
Reply With Quote
  #165  
Old 13 Nov 2006, 02:15
influence influence is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
what is the CVS folder for? do i need to upload it to my server? to where?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 11:07.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: