Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Proxy to Real IP Conversion Details »»
Proxy to Real IP Conversion
Mod Version: 2.25, by Paul M (Dr Pepper Addict) Paul M is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.6.x Rating: (24 votes - 4.13 average) Installs: 634
Released: 02 Jul 2006 Last Update: 25 Nov 2006 Downloads: 3034
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Auto-Template Code Changes Translations  

This modification is no longer supported.
It will remain available for download and use, but the thread is no longer monitored.

This hack makes the forum always use the members real ip when a proxy is detected, meaning that all existing ip functions should continue to work, basically ignoring the proxy server (other than recording it's presence).

i.e.

* The real ip (or host) is displayed in the who's online page.
* The real and proxy server ip's are accesible for each post, the button is red for members using a proxy server.
* The real ip is searchable in the admin/mod cp (but not the proxy ip).
* The real ip can be banned by admins.

etc etc ......

Note: Obviously this hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection.

If a proxy is detected, then a red ip icon is displayed instead of the standard one. This mod will also detect if the ipinfo hack is installed and adjust itself to call the ipinfo code.


History:

v2.20 : Updated for vb 3.6. IP Info detection added.
v2.21 : Dependancies updated for 3.6.0 Gold.
v2.22 : Updated for Version Checking.
v2.23 : Fixed bug causing wrong ip in WOL display.
v2.24 : Rewritten slightly to fix a minor issue with spiders.
v2.25 : Updated for changes in vB 3.6.4.


Remember that this modification involves changes to the class_core.php file - if you upgrade your vbulletin, you must reapply those changes.

Please do not post asking why this does not work with some proxy servers, the answer is already in the notes above, and also in Post #160.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Proxy IP to real IP conversion Paul M vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 152 20 Feb 2011 22:46
Proxy ip to real ip conversion Paul M vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 236 27 Jan 2007 04:25
Use real ip when proxy server is detected. Paul M vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 260 04 Oct 2006 06:46

  #46  
Old 21 Aug 2006, 00:44
DaveAK DaveAK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
This all seems a bit flaky on my board, not that I'm saying there's anything wrong with it, just that I don't understand what's happening.

Here's my problem :

Sometimes the icon appears red and when you click for info the proxy server IP address simply reads 'PROXYIP', sometimes the icon is the normal green. Either way the actual IP address is the same, and you never get a proxy server IP. This happens for most users, regardless of the service they use. Any idea as to where the problem lies?
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 21 Aug 2006, 22:48
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Sounds to me like you haven't done the file edits to class_core.php
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 22 Aug 2006, 02:39
DaveAK DaveAK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Originally Posted by Paul M
Sounds to me like you haven't done the file edits to class_core.php
I followed your instructions to the letter and did the file edits. It's an intermittent problem, so I'm guessing it's not a problem with your code, or my installation of it. Something else is screwy and I was looking for ideas as to what it might be as I don't understand too much about proxy servers. Could it be something on my server set up?

As a very basic rule of thumb would it be fair to say that most home users won't be using a proxy, (excluding AOL users), where as members logging in from work might well be using a corporate proxy server? This might give me an idea as to which IP's are having a problem.
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 22 Aug 2006, 03:09
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
The only way it can say "PROXYIP" is if the code has not run.

BTW, as far as I know, this won't detect AOL proxies as they don't pass on the correct http variables.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 22 Aug 2006, 03:29
DaveAK DaveAK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Thanks Paul. I've just been checking my board again and all seems normal. Why it happened first time around I guess we'll never know.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 03:54
NeitherSparky's Avatar
NeitherSparky NeitherSparky is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Sparky
I have a really terrible person who has been threatening me and plagiarising portions of my website to his for a long time. He's just seriously been a thorn in my side for quite a while, and he follows me everywhere. I banned his home IP from my website a while ago but then he started using proxies of some kind...the other day he signed up for an account on my new vBulletin mimicing my username there, obviously intending to try to fool people into thinking he was me. I've HAD it with him. I have installed this hack, and hopefully it will help! Thank you.
__________________
www.fosters-home.com
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 06:58
Zelos's Avatar
Zelos Zelos is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by I||usi0nz
I think you might of deleted this line

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

under
In class_core.php ;
Find ;

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with ;

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.
That solved the problem! Thank you so much!


EDIT: Is it safe to install the "Extra user IP information" mod, having already installed this one?

Last edited by Zelos : 23 Aug 2006 at 07:20.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 07:47
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Originally Posted by Zelos
EDIT: Is it safe to install the "Extra user IP information" mod, having already installed this one?
Yes.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 20:48
NeitherSparky's Avatar
NeitherSparky NeitherSparky is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Real name: Sparky
This is unfortunately not working with my problem user - he's on right now. Poop.
__________________
www.fosters-home.com
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 21:29
Neal-UK's Avatar
Neal-UK Neal-UK is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Real name: Neal
He probably using a fake IP then. Just moderate new members. If their IP hostname comes back as nothing or something weird or that you have never heard of, delete them.
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 21:35
Zelos's Avatar
Zelos Zelos is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Originally Posted by Paul M
Yes.
I just installed the extra IP info mod, but now I'm not sure this mod is working correctly anymore.

This is what I get when I click the IP button of someone who has a proxy: http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/8080/ipproxyuf0.png
Not only does it not list the fake adress, but the "real" IP adress it lists has (according to the list) only been posted from twice. Should I just uninstall the extra info mod?
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 21:38
Shazz's Avatar
Shazz Shazz is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Utah
Real name: Shawn Hinckley
Updated yesterday? Anything major.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 23 Aug 2006, 22:57
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Originally Posted by Zelos
I just installed the extra IP info mod, but now I'm not sure this mod is working correctly anymore.

This is what I get when I click the IP button of someone who has a proxy: http://img182.imageshack.us/img182/8080/ipproxyuf0.png
You cannot have both displays off one link, so you need to choose which you prefer.


Originally Posted by Shazz
Updated yesterday? Anything major.
There is a version history in the first post.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 24 Aug 2006, 02:48
slowhand.chen slowhand.chen is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
my vbb server is:172.24.32.108
proxy server is:172.24.32.187

if I use proxy ,user this Plugin don't record the proxy

I already note
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by Paul M : 24 Aug 2006 at 03:13.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 24 Aug 2006, 03:14
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
Please put code inside php or code tags.

Also note ;
Obviously this hack relies on the proxy server passing the correct http variables to allow detection.
__________________


Lead Developer, vBulletin.Org & vBulletin.Com
Please do not PM me about custom work - I no longer undertake any.

Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:49.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: