Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Catagory Icons Details »»
Catagory Icons
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by Adrian. (Coder/Designer) Adrian. is offline
Developer Last Online: Feb 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.6.1 Rating: (33 votes - 4.70 average) Installs: 672
Released: 24 Sep 2006 Last Update: 24 Sep 2006 Downloads: 2191
Not Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Template Edits  

Catagory Icons
Tested on 3.6.1
By Adrian at Development chat.com

Current Version: 1.0.1
1.0.1 Status: Working Fine.

Hey,

I noticed a few people around the 'net wanted a modification like this, It wasn't too hard so i thought i would give it ago.

You can specify a image path/url to use for your catagory icon, if none is specified, the forum will use vBulletins default image.
See bottom of post for screenshots

Installation
Import product-catagoryicons.xml (It should make the needed Mysql tables too)
Go to Options > Catagory Icons to enable the mod'.

Template Edits
Open Forum Home Templates > forumhome_forumbit_level1_post
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Save.
Open up Forum Home Templates > forumhome_forumbit_level2_post
Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

or


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Done.

That should be it.

To set catagory icons, just edit a forum, the image field is at the bottom.
If you have any problems, just ask.

If you use it, please click install.

Thanks.

Adrian

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

forum.jpg   forumoption.jpg   options.jpg   subforum.jpg  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Home Enhancements Automated Simple Catagory Icons MThornback vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 27 27 May 2009 18:01

Comments
  #2  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 13:06
forumbeat forumbeat is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Nice hack, will install soon!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 13:11
ChavMagnet's Avatar
ChavMagnet ChavMagnet is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Help

Ok Great hack buy im having a few problems first one is this you say in forumhome_forumbit_level2_post replace this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

But my template is like this


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I replaced that with your code and this is what happened to my icons Thanks Alot.
Attached Images
File Type: gif icons.gif (19.6 KB, 2188 views)
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 14:13
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Hi

I was about to install and i see i have the same code as ChavMagnet


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Could you please advise as to the best way to tdo this please as i do not know what functionality the extra bit of code i have does and i do not want to break something like normal lol
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 14:21
Adrian.'s Avatar
Adrian. Adrian. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Adrian
If you have...


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace it with my code, it should work fine...

Just make sure, you are not replacing <td> </td> <tr> </tr>

EDIT: Also, make sure you have the mod' enabled.

Adrian
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 14:38
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Hi m8, Ok done that and seemed ot go ok,
Can you take a look at the image please, i take it the forum manager aint meant to look like that?

Also i have added an image, yet it dont show the image, it just removes the original
Attached Images
File Type: jpg catergory icon.JPG (24.2 KB, 544 views)
File Type: jpg cater.JPG (12.4 KB, 1160 views)
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting

Last edited by bashy; 24 Sep 2006 at 14:45.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 15:15
Adrian.'s Avatar
Adrian. Adrian. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Adrian
Sorry about it having no description on the field.

I was in a hurry to finish this mod' up for someone before i had to go out.

If you import the .xml attached (Updated), it should add the description.

Adrian
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 15:25
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Ny ideas on the image not showing, the url in the box is
/images/catergory/grabit.gif
i take it thats right

EDIT, Sorted, it needs forums/ 1st
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting

Last edited by bashy; 24 Sep 2006 at 15:31.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 16:47
Snake's Avatar
Snake Snake is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Real name: Josh
Thanks for making this!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 17:13
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Just a wee question, is this possible to work with the sub forum icons please?
If too much then no worries!!
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 17:32
Adrian.'s Avatar
Adrian. Adrian. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Adrian
Originally Posted by bashy
Just a wee question, is this possible to work with the sub forum icons please?
If too much then no worries!!
You can currently set a custom image for subforums...

Or do you mean, set custom images for the subforum list on forum home?
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 17:58
Veer Veer is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Great Work Adrian.

Clicks Install, Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 18:39
bashy bashy is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
The latter m8, to show on forumhome?

Originally Posted by Adrian.
You can currently set a custom image for subforums...

Or do you mean, set custom images for the subforum list on forum home?
__________________
Bashy

Bashys Place ~ Bashys Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 19:57
Kaleem's Avatar
Kaleem Kaleem is offline
 
Join Date: May 2006
Real name: Kaleem
didt work for me
__________________
My Forum: FriendsKorner - Entertainment Forum
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 24 Sep 2006, 19:59
Adrian.'s Avatar
Adrian. Adrian. is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Real name: Adrian
Originally Posted by LightInClouds
didt work for me
Do you have the hack enabled in Options > Catagory Icons?
__________________
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 16:30.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: