Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
vBMicroStats Details »»
vBMicroStats
Mod Version: 1.1.0, by TECK (Coder) TECK is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.6.5 Rating: (16 votes - 4.94 average) Installs: 280
Released: 25 Feb 2007 Last Update: 03 Mar 2007 Downloads: 2379
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits Code Changes  

This hack will add at the bottom of each vBulletin (powered) page, the statistics listed below.
Also, it will help you troubleshoot and optimize your vBulletin board by viewing or comparing PHP/MySQL options and other statistics that are normally hidden in your forum pages.

Regular Users:
Load time of specified page in microseconds
Number of queries executed
PHP percent page usage
MySQL percent page usage

Administrators Only:
Active users browsing the forum (members and guests) new in 1.1.0
Server memory usage per page (in Kb)
Display DEBUG mode status
Browser GZIP library compression status
Server average loads
Uncached templates (useful to troubleshoot the code)

The code modifications were tested into a clean installed vBulletin board. They work 100%.
The hack was tested in vBulletin 3.6.4 and 3.6.5.
If you want to test it into a lower version (3.6.x), let me know.
Also, if you encounter any problems, feel free to post your questions here.

Step by step install instructions are posted into readme.html file.
In order to perform an efficient modification of your files, I recommend you to use Komodo Edit or Textpad.
Both editors will allow you to complete all steps without any coding errors.

The code changes are very safe and designed not to interfere in any way with the vBulletin performance/functionality.
Make sure you modify, save and upload one file at the time to your server.
Then, simply run the product-vbmicrostats.xml file.

The PLUGIN itself is DISABLED by default.
This was done in order to make sure you properly edit your code first and to avoid surprises.
You will need to enable it, once your code modifications are completed:
Plugins and Products > Manage Products > vB Microstats > Enable (dropdown)
Then, go to your vBulletin Options, click on BB MicroStats setting group and set all your options.

Upgrade to version 1.0.2.
Upgrade to version 1.0.3.
Upgrade to version 1.1.0.

Want to be a guinea pig and try this hack into a higher vBulletin version?
Post your results, so others can read your feedback.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	microstats.jpg
Views:	4528
Size:	22.4 KB
ID:	61365Click image for larger version

Name:	microstats_templates.jpg
Views:	3895
Size:	33.1 KB
ID:	61366Click image for larger version

Name:	microstats_admin.jpg
Views:	1638
Size:	77.9 KB
ID:	61368

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
vBMicrostats TECK vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 258 25 Feb 2007 20:44
vbMicroStats: page load time, queries, GZIP and PHP version TECK vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 942 14 Jan 2005 23:43

  #61  
Old 27 Feb 2007, 19:07
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
If you guys and girls notice something useful that should be added to the hack, let me know.
Make sure you post feedback about it, I would like to know from all of you how the hack is running on your sites, especially on large forums.

Thanks.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 27 Feb 2007, 22:05
Hornstar's Avatar
Hornstar Hornstar is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Real name: Matt
Originally Posted by TECK View Post
If you guys and girls notice something useful that should be added to the hack, let me know.
Make sure you post feedback about it, I would like to know from all of you how the hack is running on your sites, especially on large forums.

Thanks.
Is it possible to show everything only to the admins?
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 00:00
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
Yes. Go here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...0&postcount=46

Download the XML file and edit it to fit the new version.
(compare the 2 installers)

If you post it, I will look to make sure everything is ok, then give you 5 stars and link it to the first post.
As you noticed, I try to involve people, like in the old golden vBulletin.org times.
Before, people used to post a lot more in the hack threads...

Last edited by TECK : 28 Feb 2007 at 00:21.
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 10:12
bluechris bluechris is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Strangely when i uninstall 1.02 and i install 1.03 all my footers show

{microstats}

... If i uninstall 1.03 and reinstall 1.02 i see stats fine.
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 13:57
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Call me X
Originally Posted by bluechris View Post
Strangely when i uninstall 1.02 and i install 1.03 all my footers show

{microstats}

... If i uninstall 1.03 and reinstall 1.02 i see stats fine.
Same for me.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 15:03
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
Originally Posted by bluechris View Post
Strangely when i uninstall 1.02 and i install 1.03 all my footers show

{microstats}

... If i uninstall 1.03 and reinstall 1.02 i see stats fine.
I used Ollie's suggestion.
Check the template modification section, in the readme file.
See how to update your footer template, there.
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 16:42
Xplorer4x4 Xplorer4x4 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Real name: Call me X
Thanks.

On one of my styles, I want to include the info in a table such as whoisonline table. I have a table made, it collapses fine, but i cant seem to find a template or any code to strip the template background from the code and simply display the stats. How could I do this?

Thanks tech!
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 17:24
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
Show me a screenshot so I understand better your example. Visual guy here.
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 17:51
Skavenger Skavenger is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Hi, first at all, thank you for the mod

I have a few questions about the results I see in the footer:
- I have enabled Memory Usage, the results are: 0KB Used, I read in the 'help' that I have to compile PHP with enable-memory-limit option, but... what does 0KB Used mean? and how do I compile PHP with enable-memory-limit option?

- What does Unchached Templates means?

Thank you

Last edited by Skavenger : 28 Feb 2007 at 17:55.
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 18:29
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
The value 0KB is displayed when PHP is not compiled with the option "--enable-memory-limit". It's just an indicator for you to know that the memory limit is disabled in PHP.
Otherwise, you will see values like 4,236.85KB, instead of 0KB.
All you have to do is contact your host and ask them to enable the option.

In vBulletin, a datastore is used to store into memory useful variables, templates, etc.
That system avoids calling the database each time you process some global info, increasing the script performance.
If you create a modification or a separate file and forget the cache your new templates (using the array variables defined into default vBulletin files), then each uncached template will execute a query instead of being stored into server memory.

Let's take an example. You install a new hack.
The hacker who created the hack forgot to cache one template. The result?
One extra query performed for nothing in each vBulletin page. The forum display would have 14 queries instead of 13 if you missed to cache 1 template, 15 queries if you missed to cache 2 templates and so on...
The microstats will show you always if there are any "forgotten" templates on your page, in order to avoid performing not needed queries. It will display the number of un-cached templates as well their names. The un-cached templates will be highlighted in light-blue, like in the first screenshot.
Cool, huh?

I hope this helps clearing your questions.
If I missed or forgot something, please let me know.

Last edited by TECK : 28 Feb 2007 at 18:35.
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 18:40
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
Ok guys and girls. I need you to "invent" a new option for MicroStats.
I need that because I plan to add phrases into main MicroStats template, so you can translate it easier.
I don't want to release a new version just for this, we need to excite the users with something new also, right?
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 18:54
Skavenger Skavenger is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I think you made a mistake here

asd.bmp

vB instead of BB =P

Originally Posted by TECK View Post
The value 0KB is displayed when PHP is not compiled with the option "--enable-memory-limit". It's just an indicator for you to know that the memory limit is disabled in PHP.
...
Now I understand

Thank you again

Last edited by Skavenger : 28 Feb 2007 at 19:00.
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 20:48
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
No mistake, it's intended like this. You are not the first one who shows me this "typo".
It's a tradition that I kept from early versions, when I made this hack for vBulletin 2.x (year 2002 I think).
It also reminds me when I used to sleep only 4-5hrs/night while sharing most of my free time with the hackers to come up with all kind of useful edits in the raw vB code...
There were no plugins, way back. To tell you the truth, I like a lot better to edit directly the files. Many people learned PHP because of this. They were forced to watch the code closely...
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 28 Feb 2007, 20:51
TECK's Avatar
TECK TECK is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Floren Munteanu
Take a look how it used to be vBMicroStats for vBulletin 2.x on forum home:
(17 queries performed, as default)
Attached Images
File Type: gif vbmicrostats.gif (20.7 KB, 41 views)
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 01 Mar 2007, 02:00
ncweb ncweb is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by TECK View Post
Ok guys and girls. I need you to "invent" a new option for MicroStats.
I need that because I plan to add phrases into main MicroStats template, so you can translate it easier.
I don't want to release a new version just for this, we need to excite the users with something new also, right?

Hey TECK, maybe if others would like to see this they will chime in
Not sure what good it would be in a shared environment but for dedicated it's nice to have.

I dont know much about how to do it but somthing like this maybe..

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


to display (i.e. MemTotal: 8299056 kB MemFree: 126812 kB ).

I for one would like to see an option to display all of the microstats to only admins via admincp.

Also, is it a good idea to compile PHP with the option "--enable-memory-limit". What would be the benefits of being able to set this in php conf or .htaccess. Thanks...

Last edited by ncweb : 01 Mar 2007 at 02:08.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:19.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: