Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Live Search 1.0 (AJAX) Details »»
Live Search 1.0 (AJAX)
Mod Version: 1.00, by coderphp (Coder) coderphp is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (15 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 91
Released: 08 Aug 2007 Last Update: 09 Aug 2007 Downloads: 489
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files  

About the hack
==============

The hack adds a quick live search form to your forum's at any place you want it,
results are to be shown exactly under the search field as you type (by ajax)

Supported browsers
==============

IE6, IE7, FF2, Opera 9

Demo
====================

http://www.montadaphp.net
right under the logo

How to Install
==============

1- Add the following code to the end of ur "headinclude" template:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

2- Add the following code wherever you want the search field to appear, for me i added to the "header" template exactly under the logo:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

3- Upload the contents of folder "Upload" to ur froum's home directory.

and u r done

If u like the hack please dont forget to click INSTALL

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screen1.jpg
Views:	2341
Size:	23.4 KB
ID:	68246

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
[AJAX] Live Search mad@Max vBulletin 3.7 Add-ons 267 06 Jun 2012 19:16

  #46  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 13:55
Magnumutz's Avatar
Magnumutz Magnumutz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Alex
This is awesome... Thanks.
*Installed*
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 14:00
Regs Regs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Someone asked earlier about queries... does this not query the server on every key press?

It's a very good idea but not too sure it is friendly for a large, busy site?

Cheers,

~Regs.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 14:06
Magnumutz's Avatar
Magnumutz Magnumutz is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Real name: Alex
There's only 1 (ONE) query: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...5&postcount=16
__________________

Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 14:41
Regs Regs is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Yes, I read that. But my question remains - is this one query on every keystroke?
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 15:15
Brew's Avatar
Brew Brew is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Difference between IE and FF

In FireFox the mod looks great but it's a bit different in IE. The box comes up too small in IE.

EDIT:
I forgot to mention that the below pics were taken after adding the code for the div statement from another reply; overflow:auto; height:200px but the layout is the same with or without the change.

Examples below..The first image is FF the second is IE..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg CriticalReactor_FF.jpg (55.1 KB, 44 views)
File Type: jpg CriticalReactor_IE.jpg (58.7 KB, 44 views)
__________________
The Ultimate Chiller
BREW
www.politicalforums.net
www.oldhouseforums.com

Last edited by Brew : 09 Aug 2007 at 15:49.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 15:18
Brew's Avatar
Brew Brew is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by Regs View Post
Yes, I read that. But my question remains - is this one query on every keystroke?
Seeing as how the script grabs info from the server in order to insert the links I would say it's safe to assume that each keystroke causes one query.
__________________
The Ultimate Chiller
BREW
www.politicalforums.net
www.oldhouseforums.com
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 17:12
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Egypt
Real name: Mahmoud
Originally Posted by valdet View Post
When i type in the search field, this error pops out in search results table..



Any ideas.. as I would install this on my live site in a snap...

Thanks.
it seems u have a problem in the file "ajax_search.php"
Please try to upload the file again... and tell me if the problem presists

Originally Posted by Magnumutz View Post
This is awesome... Thanks.
*Installed*
thanx

Originally Posted by Regs View Post
Someone asked earlier about queries... does this not query the server on every key press?

It's a very good idea but not too sure it is friendly for a large, busy site?

Cheers,

~Regs.
Yes ti do one query every keypress
again i tested on medium forum (mine) and it didnt show any problems till now
i didnt test on large forums
if it appear to be a problem on large forums we could add a time limit then but i dont like to do so now cause it no longer be LIVE SEARCH

Originally Posted by Regs View Post
Yes, I read that. But my question remains - is this one query on every keystroke?
yes as mentioned on every key stroke

Originally Posted by Brew View Post
In FireFox the mod looks great but it's a bit different in IE. The box comes up too small in IE.

EDIT:
I forgot to mention that the below pics were taken after adding the code for the div statement from another reply; overflow:auto; height:200px but the layout is the same with or without the change.

Examples below..The first image is FF the second is IE..
what versions do u use of browsers? i tested it on the browsers mentioned in the first post and it is working good
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 17:14
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Egypt
Real name: Mahmoud
Originally Posted by StrifeX View Post
Wow, thanks for the solution to my problem

Btw coderphp, i downloaded the new version of your mod and i had the same problem, you might want to add rainyleaves' code into your php file... And you might also want to update the version of your hack to like 1.01 .

Also, how do i get the text to show "Searching..." instead of " .." while searching?
table prefix already added
also template edit updated.. please install the updated ones
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 17:17
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Egypt
Real name: Mahmoud
Originally Posted by Brew View Post
In FireFox the mod looks great but it's a bit different in IE. The box comes up too small in IE.

EDIT:
I forgot to mention that the below pics were taken after adding the code for the div statement from another reply; overflow:auto; height:200px but the layout is the same with or without the change.

Examples below..The first image is FF the second is IE..
i think that is because u combine the mod to the DHTML search menu
infact i didnt test it in the DHTML menu but only in the header portion of the page, outside the DHTML menu
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 17:51
Brew's Avatar
Brew Brew is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by coderphp View Post
i think that is because u combine the mod to the DHTML search menu
infact i didnt test it in the DHTML menu but only in the header portion of the page, outside the DHTML menu
I really don't know much about DHTML and AJAX.

I wonder if there is something to add to either the DHTML or this mod to make it work correctly in IE within the stock search dropdown.

BTW, My Internet Explorer version is 7.0.5730.11
__________________
The Ultimate Chiller
BREW
www.politicalforums.net
www.oldhouseforums.com
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 18:06
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Very nice mod. Installed.

In my search, there is a radio button to select Post or Thread, can you modify the code so it can search post as supposed to search Thread by default now.

You can look at the site on my signature to see my search box
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 18:17
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
not sure if this is a bug

On FF, the search result displayed on the ajax box is left aligned while in Opera 9.22, it's right aligned

Also, i have a wiki on my site at www.quantnet.org/wiki but the search box is no longer working there. The default select radio button is disappear on the wiki site. Thread is selected by default on the forum site but as soon as i go to my wiki site, the select disappear so i can't search anymore
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 18:30
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Here is the code of the search box that i have in my navbar template


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 18:34
Quantnet Quantnet is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Found another error:

I have this error when i search while I'm on the home page (i have vbAdvanced as homepage)

http://www.mysite.com/ 68.198.xxx.xxx /ajax_search.php?query=ds www.mysite.com Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.6) Gecko/20070725 Firefox/2.0.0.6 404 Please contact admin@xxx.org if you can not find the content you are looking for.
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 09 Aug 2007, 18:43
coderphp's Avatar
coderphp coderphp is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Egypt
Real name: Mahmoud
Originally Posted by Brew View Post
I really don't know much about DHTML and AJAX.

I wonder if there is something to add to either the DHTML or this mod to make it work correctly in IE within the stock search dropdown.

BTW, My Internet Explorer version is 7.0.5730.11
again the problem is the width of DHTML drop down menu is fixed
so u should better install this mod directly in the header portion of the page
or any place outside the drop down menu
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 09:29.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: