Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Left side column on forum home only Details »»
Left side column on forum home only
Mod Version: 1.0.2, by peterska2 (Coder/Designer) peterska2 is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.6.0 Rating: (10 votes - 4.80 average) Installs: 264
Released: 08 Jun 2006 Last Update: 29 Aug 2006 Downloads: 1437
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

This is the 3.6.0 port of the release for 3.5.x found here.

Changes since the last version
Alignment issues fixed.
Template renamed to group in the forumhome templates.

Installation Instructions
Download the attached zip file.
Import the product.
Perform the template modifications.
Click install

Screen shot attached for those who like to see them.


29 August 2006
Upgraded to version 1.0.2

Changes:
  • Now valid XHTML Trans
  • Fixed to work correctly with vBShout when located below navbar.
  • Added vB.org version checking.





Please Note: This modification is only for the forumhome. I do not support any attempts to use it on any other pages. Alternative modifications exist that are for all pages - please use one of them if that is what you want to do.


If you require support, please ensure that provide a link to your site and that the column is enabled. Thanks.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	sidecolumn_left.gif
Views:	3742
Size:	10.3 KB
ID:	49051

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Put a Column on the Left Side of Every Forum Page amykhar vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 462 29 Mar 2011 22:05
Right side column on forum home only peterska2 vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 135 26 May 2008 17:04

Comments
  #2  
Old 08 Jun 2006, 06:14
gothicuser's Avatar
gothicuser gothicuser is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Real name: Tony
Nice One.. nice to see soembody is on the ball
__________________
Grumpy and bad tempered. I'm a pensioner, so don't care any more
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08 Jun 2006, 18:03
bing11 bing11 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
thank you!!
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10 Jun 2006, 11:28
good2laugh good2laugh is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Am just trying this out on a test server (where I'm playing with the 3.6 beta)

Haven't decided on all the content - was thinking of adsense or maybe links to products at amazon, and then links to related sites. Can't really decide on content yet, but figured it would be good to have this kind of area.

I also think I'd have this on one style but not another, just giving users choice


What I was wondering, (because I get scared changing code )
was does this work if I want three or four contents

Is it just a case of adding another bit of code like this,
<tr>
<td class="alt1">
Column Content 2
</td>
</tr>

Also I was wondering if I could get a space between say content 1 and 2 so it apears like a box with content, some white space a box with more content.


Should I press install? its only a test page server right now so not sure.

Thanks very much, this was so easy to install and so offers me extra options for my site, and providing it works with the 3.6 gold I'll definitely use it
__________________
Smile!
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10 Jun 2006, 13:05
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
yes you just need to use the code you have added to put another row in the box.

to add a break between to areas, use


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

ensure that your template starts with <tr> and ends with </tr> otherwise it will not work.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!

Last edited by peterska2 : 10 Jun 2006 at 13:28.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10 Jun 2006, 13:09
good2laugh good2laugh is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Originally Posted by peterska2
yes you just need to use the code you have added to put another row in the box.

to add a bread between to areas, use


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

ensure that your template starts with <tr> and ends with </tr> otherwise it will not work.
Hey thanks for such a fast and well explained reply I'm guessing you've recognised a total non-coder.
off to play
__________________
Smile!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11 Jun 2006, 06:41
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
i think I'll give a side block a try,, thx
__________________
Contact me if you're looking for help with your forum.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11 Jun 2006, 07:33
good2laugh good2laugh is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Talking

Just back as I wanted to say thanks, because this is pretty awesome.

Wanted separation between some of the side bar content, so changed the code as suggested, right now it a short box of content and then a longer box of content, this fits pretty well and is totally what I wanted to achieve. This is only on my test server right now but definitely going to install it live once 3.6 is gold. <wanders off to find the install button>

Thanks again!!
__________________
Smile!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 25 Jun 2006, 21:27
Gizmo999 Gizmo999 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Real name: Michael
Can this be added to the new posts and todays posts templates as well please??
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 28 Jun 2006, 02:37
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
does someone mind posting what they have in forumhome_sidecolumn_left ? so i can get an idea for different links,,
or
I'll try and fugure this out

thanks
__________________
Contact me if you're looking for help with your forum.

Last edited by Brandon Sheley : 28 Jun 2006 at 16:52.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29 Jun 2006, 05:57
Kwak Kwak is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Great hack.

Can't wait to see a "Right Colum" and a "forum display" hack for this on 3.6.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 01:01
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
You can include this on any page in vB by adding the first section of code after
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

in the template and the second section before
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

The right side one is already released.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 01:43
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
how can i put a bullet next to a link ?
  • example


thank you
__________________
Contact me if you're looking for help with your forum.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 14:21
peterska2 peterska2 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Real name: Kerry-Anne (really!)
For that particular type of bullet, you would need to use
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Use
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

between each item and omit the
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

until the final item so your list would look like
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You can put as many items as you wish within the list using this format.
__________________
Kerry-Anne
Previously known as peterska2

My Sites: peterska2.co.uk Super Clickers World News Zone English Football League Popular Usenet Groups
Do NOT PM or email me for Support or Modification Requests - No Exceptions!!
I do NOT do custom requests. Do not ask for them. - No Exceptions!!

Last edited by peterska2 : 30 Jun 2006 at 14:24.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30 Jun 2006, 16:27
Brandon Sheley's Avatar
Brandon Sheley Brandon Sheley is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Real name: Brandon
great, thx perterska i like this hack a lot
__________________
Contact me if you're looking for help with your forum.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 18:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: