Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Thread Thumbnail Details »»
Thread Thumbnail
Mod Version: 1.1, by jasonmerchant (Coder) jasonmerchant is offline
Developer Last Online: Jun 2009 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.6.8 Rating: (21 votes - 4.81 average) Installs: 208
Released: 21 Sep 2007 Last Update: 21 Sep 2007 Downloads: 1375
Not Supported Uses Plugins Template Edits  

This plugin is the newest version of the Thread Thumbnail plugin

This plugin will display the first attachment as a thumbnail on forumdisplay.php

New Features:
  • If there are attachments that are not images, it will skip them and go to the first image attachment.
  • Optional - you can now display thumbnails on search results.



Installation:

In your AdminCP, go to Plugin System, Download/Upload Plugins and import the xml document.

Be sure to change the forum ids in the $thumbsforums array to the forum ids you want to enable thumbnails in.

The plugin comes with the Search Thumbnails enabled. If you do not want to have thumbnails show up in the search results, make sure you deactivate it.

If you would like thumbnails to display in the search results, you will need to replace your search.php page with the one in the zip file. Unfortunately vBulletin forgot to include a hook variable where it is necessary for this to work. I have added 1 line to search.php with the hook variable. There is no way around this until vbulletin adds it themselves.

Next you will need to modify your threadbit template:

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace With:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You will also need to upload an image to display if there are no image attachments here: $stylevar[imgdir_misc]/nothumb.jpg(ex: http://www.mysite.com/forums/images/misc/nothumb.jpg). I've made a simple one you can use or you can make your own. By default thumbnails are confined in a 100x100 px area, I found that it looks good to make the "no image" image about 100x83 px.

_____________________________________________________

Add-ons (Optional)

UserCP option to turn the thumbnails on/off on a per user basis

Go into your admincp and click User Profile Fields->Add New User Profile Field.

Select "single selection radio buttons", click continue.

For title put "Thread Thumbnails", for description put "This will allow you to turn the thumbnails of threads on and off."

For options, enter "On" and "Off".

Skip down to Display Page and choose "Options: Thread Viewing".

In your threadbit template(assuming you already applied the template changes above):

Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You need to replace field5 with the field name of the profile field you created earlier.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	attachment.jpg
Views:	5437
Size:	36.5 KB
ID:	70123

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Thread Thumbnail jasonmerchant vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 196 04 Jan 2009 09:26

  #61  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 07:55
rolfw1 rolfw1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Real name: Rolf
Does anyone have this running where VBSEO is installed, works fine on my little forum, but when my colleague installed it on our bigger forum with VBSEO installed, it didn't work and I would like to install VBSEO in the near future.

Not sure whether it just didn't work, or it created errors, but will try and find out.
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 17:45
Principe10's Avatar
Principe10 Principe10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Massimo
Originally Posted by Defkalion View Post
@lasto and @principe10: Can you guys please share how you accomplished this? I've been trying to do it myself, following principe10's instructions and screenshots but I haven't been able to get it to work.

Can you please assist?

What's your problem? Could U explaine please?

M.
__________________
My web site

My forum: Forum Occhi sulla Natura
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 17:47
Principe10's Avatar
Principe10 Principe10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Massimo
Originally Posted by rolfw1 View Post
Does anyone have this running where VBSEO is installed, works fine on my little forum, but when my colleague installed it on our bigger forum with VBSEO installed, it didn't work and I would like to install VBSEO in the near future.

Not sure whether it just didn't work, or it created errors, but will try and find out.

Sorry for the question, but what's VBSEO?

M.
__________________
My web site

My forum: Forum Occhi sulla Natura
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 20:28
rapidphim rapidphim is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Originally Posted by rolfw1 View Post
Thanks, just what I needed, really looks good on this section.

I've only set it up for one section at the moment, do I change the XML file and re-import it to add new sections, or is there another way?


Sorry scratch that, just edit it in the plugin manager.
Hello, how did you intergrate the highslide JS into the attachment thumbnail?
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 22:11
Defkalion Defkalion is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Originally Posted by Principe10 View Post

What's your problem? Could U explaine please?

M.
I want to be able to have the image thumbnail as the thread prefix, but the full size image inside the topic. I understand you guys managed that.
Reply With Quote
  #66  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 22:41
rolfw1 rolfw1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Real name: Rolf
Originally Posted by rapidphim View Post
Hello, how did you intergrate the highslide JS into the attachment thumbnail?
It's a mod from here
Reply With Quote
  #67  
Old 09 Oct 2007, 22:43
rolfw1 rolfw1 is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Real name: Rolf
Originally Posted by Principe10 View Post

Sorry for the question, but what's VBSEO?

M.
vBulletin Search Engine Optimisation, a paid package which helps to lift your search engine optimisation.
Reply With Quote
  #68  
Old 10 Oct 2007, 00:01
delphi77 delphi77 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Thank you ! nice work. Installed
Reply With Quote
  #69  
Old 10 Oct 2007, 02:07
Trana Trana is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Originally Posted by Defkalion View Post
I want to be able to have the image thumbnail as the thread prefix, but the full size image inside the topic. I understand you guys managed that.
Yes, I have been looking to get this working as well. Can you explain what you did to fix it? I want to view the full size images within the threads but still use this mod (which requires the thumbnail function enabled in admincp).

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #70  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 12:12
Principe10's Avatar
Principe10 Principe10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Massimo
Originally Posted by rolfw1 View Post
vBulletin Search Engine Optimisation, a paid package which helps to lift your search engine optimisation.
Sorry, I dont' have it.

See U.

M.
__________________
My web site

My forum: Forum Occhi sulla Natura
Reply With Quote
  #71  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 12:20
Principe10's Avatar
Principe10 Principe10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Massimo
Originally Posted by Defkalion View Post
I want to be able to have the image thumbnail as the thread prefix, but the full size image inside the topic. I understand you guys managed that.
Have U installed the Plug-in correctly? What do U see now in your forum? Give me the addess so I can see it.

My forum is here and U can see an example: http://www.forumocchisullanatura.it/...splay.php?f=40

M.
__________________
My web site

My forum: Forum Occhi sulla Natura
Reply With Quote
  #72  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 16:49
rapidphim rapidphim is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
did anyone find out a correct way to eliminate the thumbnail if the thread doens't have thumbnail in it?
Reply With Quote
  #73  
Old 11 Oct 2007, 17:04
Principe10's Avatar
Principe10 Principe10 is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Real name: Massimo
Originally Posted by rapidphim View Post
did anyone find out a correct way to eliminate the thumbnail if the thread doens't have thumbnail in it?
Yes, easy.


Here:
<if condition="$show['threadicons']">
<td class="alt2" align="center" valign="middle">
<if condition="$tt_displaythumbs">
<if condition="($thread['attachmentid']) AND ($thread['thumbsize'])">
<a href="showthread.php?$session[sessionurl]t=$thread[threadid]">
<img src="attachment.php?attachmentid=$thread[attachmentid]&stc=1&thumb=1" alt="" border="0" />
</a>
<else />
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/nothumb.jpg" alt="" border="0" />
</if>
<else />
<if condition="$show['threadicon']">
<img src="$thread[threadiconpath]" alt="$thread[threadicontitle]" border="0" />
</if>
</if>
Put:
<img src="$thread[threadiconpath]" alt="$thread[threadicontitle]" border="0" />

so U have the normal icon.

M.
__________________
My web site

My forum: Forum Occhi sulla Natura
Reply With Quote
  #74  
Old 12 Oct 2007, 23:58
Majest Majest is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Is it at all possible this would work on 3.6.5?
Reply With Quote
  #75  
Old 13 Oct 2007, 00:57
Spank Spank is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Real name: Mark
Is it possible to take a thumbnail from the first youtube video posted in a thread?
As youtube has the thumbnails from the videos.
http://img.youtube.com/vi/videoid/default.jpg
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 13:08.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: