Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 17 Mar 2008, 17:34
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
need help tracing IP

got home today and recieved this email to my email account

Received: by 10.141.4.5 with SMTP id g5cs53826rvi;
Mon, 17 Mar 2008 05:22:21 -0700 (PDT)
Received: by 10.141.43.5 with SMTP id v5mr41936rvj.216.1205756540360;
Mon, 17 Mar 2008 05:22:20 -0700 (PDT)
Return-Path: <piecesofeighty@aol.com>
Received: from imo-d21.mx.aol.com (imo-d21.mx.aol.com [205.188.144.207])
by mx.google.com with ESMTP id 39si31717902wrl.29.2008.03.17.05.22.19;
Mon, 17 Mar 2008 05:22:20 -0700 (PDT)
Received-SPF: pass (google.com: domain of piecesofeighty@aol.com designates 205.188.144.207 as permitted sender) client-ip=205.188.144.207;
Authentication-Results: mx.google.com; spf=pass (google.com: domain of piecesofeighty@aol.com designates 205.188.144.207 as permitted sender) smtp.mail=piecesofeighty@aol.com
Received: from piecesofeighty@aol.com
by imo-d21.mx.aol.com (mail_out_v38_r9.3.) id o.d45.248dce81 (37116)
for <**************>; Mon, 17 Mar 2008 08:21:55 -0400 (EDT)
Received: from webmail-me06 (webmail-me06.webmail.aol.com [64.12.88.198]) by cia-ma01.mx.aol.com (v121.4) with ESMTP id MAILCIAMA012-90fc47de6263f1; Mon, 17 Mar 2008 08:21:55 -0400
To:*********************
Subject: your sucky ass vbulletin board
Date: Mon, 17 Mar 2008 08:21:55 -0400
X-MB-Message-Source: WebUI
X-AOL-IP: 96.234.73.32
X-MB-Message-Type: User
MIME-Version: 1.0
From: piecesofeighty@aol.com
Content-Type: multipart/alternative;
boundary="--------MB_8CA56409FA32425_468_537A_webmail-me06.sysops.aol.com"
X-Mailer: AOL Webmail 35304-STANDARD
Received: from 96.234.73.32 by webmail-me06.sysops.aol.com (64.12.88.198) with HTTP (WebMailUI); Mon, 17 Mar 2008 08:21:55 -0400
Message-Id: <8CA56409FA0C1C7-468-2893@webmail-me06.sysops.aol.com>
X-Spam-Flag: NO


----------MB_8CA56409FA32425_468_537A_webmail-me06.sysops.aol.com
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Type: text/plain; charset="us-ascii"


did you know that we are going to flood your ++++ed up, shitty ass, broken-ass-links,?board every night?? Get ready boy!

----------MB_8CA56409FA32425_468_537A_webmail-me06.sysops.aol.com
Content-Transfer-Encoding: 7bit
Content-Type: text/html; charset="us-ascii"


<div>did you know that we are going to flood your ++++ed up, shitty ass, broken-ass-links,&nbsp;board every night?&nbsp; Get ready boy!</div>
<div id='u8CA56409FA0C1C7-468-2893' class='aol_ad_footer'><FONT style="color: black; font: normal 10pt ARIAL, SAN-SERIF;"><HR style="MARGIN-TOP: 10px">Supercharge your AIM. Get the <A title="http://download.aim.com/client/aimtoolbar?NCID=aolcmp00300000002586" href="http://download.aim.com/client/aimtoolbar?NCID=aolcmp00300000002586" target="_blank">AIM toolbar</A> for your browser.</FONT> </div>

----------MB_8CA56409FA32425_468_537A_webmail-me06.sysops.aol.com--


I dont know much about this but i heard IPs are traceable and they can be traced back is this possible as who ever sent the email has also made 3 accounts on my board and spammed the board really bad today with posts which i can not repeat here.


Can anyone find out if the info from above matches the ip in the pic below.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 1.jpg (26.0 KB, 52 views)
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 17 Mar 2008, 19:33
nexialys
Guest
 
real hackers never announce their misfits... this guy is like all the others.. making big words to make you fear .. they usually ask you to pay them in their paypal account so they will not do it if you pay...

luckily it is not one of your threats...
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 17 Mar 2008, 19:42
Paul M's Avatar
Paul M Paul M is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Paul Marsden
That IP belongs to Verizon Internet Services Inc - abuse email is security[at]verizon.net
__________________


Cable Forum - DigiGuide
Please Note: I will not answer support questions via e-mail or PM - please use the relevant thread or forum.
Senior vBulletin Developer : Please do not PM me about custom work - I work for Internet brands and no longer have the time to undertake any.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 17 Mar 2008, 19:45
optrex optrex is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
verizon are useless they wont act on it, just check out all the results on google. I had one the other week and reported it to them , you just get an automated bounce as a response.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 17 Mar 2008, 20:20
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
ive recieved the bounce email already
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 17 Mar 2008, 20:26
SEOvB's Avatar
SEOvB SEOvB is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Real name: Jarvis
I suppose you could do the sensible thing and ban their IP at the server level, and then you won't have to worry about it much
__________________
vBulletin Services and vBulletin Hosting
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 18 Mar 2008, 00:15
Zachariah's Avatar
Zachariah Zachariah is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canoga Park, CA
Newark, NJ, USA

Name: pool-96-234-73-32.nwrknj.fios.verizon.net
IP Address: 96.234.73.32
Location: Newark (40.733N, 74.172W)
Network: VIS-BLOCK

fios = fiber optic

OrgAbuseHandle: VISAB-ARIN
OrgAbuseName: VIS Abuse
OrgAbusePhone: +1-214-513-6711
OrgAbuseEmail: security@verizon.net


Attach your e-mail and send them one. I had a few people that DOSS my site for weeks.
I sent logs of activity to ISPs of the attackers and in 2 days the attackers were gone.
Just keep logs of activity and all communications.
__________________
http://www.szone.us | http://www.gzhq.net
Twitter | Facebook | My:Hacks @ vBulletin.org
Member of Kiwanis Club of Chatsworth

Last edited by Zachariah : 18 Mar 2008 at 00:21.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 18 Mar 2008, 16:25
AmbitiousOne AmbitiousOne is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
What do you do when someone is using a proxy server? I have had many idiots conspire to DDOS my site. And quite frankly, I can't stand hearing it. They are all on proxy server!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 18 Mar 2008, 16:44
optrex optrex is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I use the proxy server hack and it tells me the real IP address. It seems to work quite well.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 19 Mar 2008, 16:13
alphadeity alphadeity is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
If an attacker is good at what they do they can hide their real IP address no matter what. They best way to avoid proxy attacks is to block all proxy connections at the server level. But even this is not fool proof.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 23 Mar 2008, 13:35
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
where is the proxy server hack - for vbull 3.6.8

EDIT

never mind ive found one by paul on here

Last edited by lasto : 23 Mar 2008 at 13:57.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 23 Mar 2008, 14:24
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Post removed

--------------- Added 23 Mar 2008 at 23:08 ---------------

Mister popularity is responsible for the ip in the 1st post.He admitted it in an email to me today when he threatened that if i did`nt stop writing bad things about him,30 so or more would come and spam my board.Im not bad mouthing him but only stating who is it.I have the email as proof.
I know you cant disclose members information so im not even gonna go there but he admitted it himeslf in an email to me today which ive also posted on another board.

Last edited by lasto : 23 Mar 2008 at 23:24. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 27 Mar 2008, 17:19
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
this has now been sorted can this thread now be closed.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 12:55
Butcher's Avatar
Butcher Butcher is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Real name: Dava
Don't know why vb.org can't act on such people
makes me sick and makes you want to go somewhere else rather than sit here with these people about
__________________
www.the-redlion.org.uk- Football Manager Forum
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 16:21
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
hello butcher long time no see m8 - hope all is well with you

In all fariness to the board this was dealt with on here and sometimes when you think things are not getting sorted they are.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 20:51.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: