Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Different Domain, Different Style Details »»
Different Domain, Different Style
Mod Version: 1.0.1, by dartho (Coder/Designer) dartho is offline
Developer Last Online: May 2016 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.7.0 Rating: (13 votes - 4.77 average) Installs: 185
Released: 28 Mar 2008 Last Update: 19 May 2008 Downloads: 1154
Not Supported Uses Plugins Re-usable Code Translations  

This is a simple add-on which will force users to a specific style based on the url the user visited.

I wrote this with the idea of being able to create a subdomain of mobile.domainname.com and have visitirs to that URL forced to a mobile style whilst visitors to my normal site (domainname.com or www.domainname.com) would be rpesented with my regular style.

Alternatively if you have 2 domain names which point to the same forum, you can have a customized style based on the domain name visited. You can do what you want, but it may be as simple as only having a different banner reflecting the host name visited, or if you have merged 2 forums - users could still get the same skin they always have had if they continue to visit the same URL.

With the HOST matching be aware that if the URL specified in the add-on matches anywhere in the url visited, the add-on will be triggered.

e.g. if URL specified in add-on = domainname.com, any subdomains of domainname.com will match this.

Version Information
1.0.0 - Initial release ported from 3.6 version
1.0.1 - Fixed missing Setting Group Name


product-ddds37.xml supports a single additional domain
product-ddds37_5-domain-version.xml supports one to five additional domains


To upgrade, simply import and allow overwrite.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Forum Display Enhancements DDDS - Different Domain Different Style dartho vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 116 25 Nov 2009 08:20

Comments
  #2  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 02:31
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Hi Dartho,

So, I can choose any domain for the mobile style? If this is the case, is the force style hack needed?

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 02:43
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
You can use either add-on or both side by side.

One example of using side by side would be if you wanted to not auto-detect and force iPhones to a mobile style, but still wanted to give them the option of browsing. You could add iPhones to the exclusion list in the auto-detect mobile device hack and configure this addon so that iPhone users could still browse via mobile.domainname.com if they found the default style too slow or bandwidth hungry.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 02:49
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Ah, I see.

Dartho, I've just installed this product, but in the vBulletin options there is no title. Not a big problem, as I can still set the settings.

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 04:42
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Could you do a screen dump and show me - the code looks like it should be OK....

Ed: A 5 domain version has just been added

Last edited by dartho; 28 Mar 2008 at 04:53.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 05:26
ChurchMedia's Avatar
ChurchMedia ChurchMedia is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Real name: Tim Eason
Cool! This is perfect for some things I'd like to do with my forum. Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 06:13
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
I also have an add-on that will assign a different vBAdvanced page based on the domain which I'll post up ... "Different Domain, Different vBAdvanced Page" should do for a name
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 15:19
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Hi Dartho,

I want to use: www.tst2go.org... it doesn't seem to be owned by anyone -- would I have to purchase this -- or could I use it as an add-on domain?

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 28 Mar 2008, 21:19
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
You would need to purchase the domain name, then depending on your hosting, you would need to park it on the same same webspace as your main domain
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 00:35
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I see -- thanks!

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 15:53
MaxiMal MaxiMal is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Maxim
empty hack name in forum option
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 29 Mar 2008, 17:30
Jase2 Jase2 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
I had that problem MaxiMal -- hmm I'll take a look at the code.

Regards Jason
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 01 Apr 2008, 00:32
lighti lighti is offline
 
Join Date: May 2007
Just a slight question - Does this do anything different from just adding on a domain and using it as a redirect domain pointing to the styleid?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 01 Apr 2008, 00:49
dartho dartho is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
This doesn't add domains - you'll need to register any additional domains or set up sub-domains and configure them to point to the same webspace as your primary domain. Redirects will not work with this add-on as they simply redirect one url to your primary domain.

Once you have your domain names setup and visiting these domain names takes you to the same content as your primary domain you can then install and configure this add-on.

What it then does is checks the URL that was used to get to your site, and if this matches one configured with this add-on it will override the default style with the configured style.

For example, if your sites primary domain is "domain.com" and you use the default vBulletin style, all visitors to your domain will be presented with this default style.

If you then register say "pinkdomain.com" and configure it to use the same webspace as your primary domain, all visitors to "pinkdomain.com" will also be presented with the same default style. If you were to install a new style - lets say with a pink colour scheme called "Pink" and installed this addon, you could configure it such that all visitors to "pinkdomain.com" will be presented with the "Pink" style whilst visitors to "domain.com" will continue to be presented with the default style. The same could be done if you configured a subdomain of "pink.domain.com"

The user/visitor can not override the style with this addon, even if you allow them to change styles, this will force the visitor to what ever style you configure.

Hope this helps..
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 26 Apr 2008, 23:31
Sparky_s's Avatar
Sparky_s Sparky_s is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Real name: Denis Nolan
*installed*

Hey I think this may interfere with vBseo in some way.

mobile.htireland.com goes to the mobile theme no problem, but all the links from then all go back to www.htireland.com.

Is there any other reports of this?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:52.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: