Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Global "New Thread" Button in Navbar Details »»
Global "New Thread" Button in Navbar
Mod Version: 1.1, by sockwater (Coder) sockwater is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.7.x Rating: (9 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 91
Released: 02 Jul 2008 Last Update: 02 Jul 2008 Downloads: 437
Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template  

This mod adds a New Thread button or link to the navbar so that your users can start a new thread with two clicks from anywhere on the forums. First they click New Thread, then they click on the forum they want to post in. The hierarchical list of forums should respect all forum permissions, and forums where the user can post are shown as a link.

Features:
  • Show/hide large New Thread button (Settings in the Global New Thread Button Options group)
  • Show large New Thread button as Text or the default vB New Thread button () (added v1.1)
  • Show/hide navbar New Thread link
  • Show/hide forum descriptions on the listing of forums
  • All HTML is in templates (scroll down to the temlates that start with gntb_)
  • All language is in phrases (they all start with gntb_)
  • The product can be enabled/disabled in the Product Manager, rather than adding the extra overhead of an on/off switch in the options
  • Easy installation: Import the products XML file


Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	global-new-thread-button.png
Views:	2473
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	83344Click image for larger version

Name:	global-new-thread-button2.png
Views:	2169
Size:	11.9 KB
ID:	83404

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
  #61  
Old 24 Feb 2010, 21:37
yotsume's Avatar
yotsume yotsume is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Lightbulb REQUEST: Drop Menu List and Columns

I have custom work I need done to this mod:

REQUEST 1: Columns
I have one category that has forums named A-Z. So that is 26 forums right there! So instead of a long one column list, can we get an option to select categories to be listed in columns instead. We would need to be able to pick the number of columns so that if the forum name was longer, a two column layout would be perfect. If the forum name was shorter more columns could be set without breaking theme.

REQUEST 2: Drop Menu Forum Selection
I have other forums in another category with longer names. I really need these forums to be listed in a drop menu instead of one long list on the page. As more forums are added the longer this page is growing and too much scrolling has to happen. With a drop menu selection box that is wide enough all other forums could be included in the drop menu instead. This would allow our entire site to be on one short page without the need to scroll down on a ever growing long page.

Conclusion: (Three Display Options Per Category)
So under each category we should be able to decide if we want one of three forum listing options:
  1. Columns: multiple column listing (can select number of columns)
  2. Drop Menu Selection: drop menu listing of forums
  3. Default: simple list that is default
Are you willing to make these changes for a fee for a 3.8x site? Are you able to handle this coding yourself or do I need to look for a third party coder?
__________________
Yotsume
Kaydev Media Productions
Check out my mods
:
EYO-AIM, FlashChat Combo-Module for vBadvanced 3.6x or 3.7x
Reply With Quote
  #62  
Old 28 Aug 2010, 19:51
SemperFideles's Avatar
SemperFideles SemperFideles is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Real name: Rich
Any chance there will be a vB4 version of this? I've tried to modify it to work with vB4 to no avail.
__________________
Rich
LtCol, USMC
PuritanBoard
Reply With Quote
  #63  
Old 09 Jan 2011, 13:16
hilfe-forum hilfe-forum is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: http://www.alpha-board.eu
Real name: http://www.alpha-board.eu
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by SemperFideles View Post
Any chance there will be a vB4 version of this? I've tried to modify it to work with vB4 to no avail.
same here
__________________
Alpha-Board
Reply With Quote
  #64  
Old 18 Jun 2011, 07:55
n0obiest n0obiest is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
please update to 4.1.x. thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #65  
Old 18 Jun 2011, 08:28
rootsxrocks rootsxrocks is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
this should be a standard feature, has it been requested on .com?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:45.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: