Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
[Ajax] Check for similar thread before posting a new one Details »»
[Ajax] Check for similar thread before posting a new one
Mod Version: 2.00, by MrNase (Coder/Designer) MrNase is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.0 Rating: (56 votes - 4.71 average) Installs: 637
Released: 13 Jan 2009 Last Update: 13 Jan 2009 Downloads: 3731
Not Supported Uses Plugins Auto-Template Additional Files  

Hi there!

I decided to give my old Add-on a little update.

You love the 'similar threads' function and you are sick of duplicate threads just because your users don't use the search function?

Why not just combine them?

This Add-on will grab the thread title the user typed in and it will load a small box (using Ajax magic ) with 5 similar threads just like the 'similar threads' function that you can normally find under an already posted thread.

The box also tells the user to search through the similar threads first BEFORE starting a new one.


Features:
- indicated if you already subscribed to one or more similar threads
- hover over the title and it gives a little preview of the thread's content
- no edits whatsoever needed, just import the product file, enable the Add-on and it works (well, it should )
- you can turn it off for certain forums or
- you can turn it off completely without leaving any code that messes your templates/files
- it can be translated
- don't like it anymore? Remove the product and you'll never see that Add-on again


Known issues:
- none


Things to consider:

It uses jQuery to get the information from ajax.php. jQuery is great and you can do many great things with it and unlike the vBulletin method it's quite easy to understand.
Here's the version I use: http://code.google.com/p/jqueryjs/do...s&downloadBtn=

Just download the file from the location and put it into the 'clientscript' folder on your server without renaming the file.

jQuery 1.3 is out, read this if you would like to update: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...1&postcount=27



Installation:
  1. Download jQuery as described above.
  2. Import the attached file using the Product Manager. Go to your vBulletin settings and search for 'Check for similar threads?'.
  3. Enable it.


Important:
It adds 2 new templates, it changes 1 template and it edits 2 files. I highly doubt that it will break you vBulletin but do a back-up and be on the safe side.



Version history:
2.0 -> this release
1.0 -> outdated (made for vB 3.6.*)

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Bild 2.png   Bild 3.png   Bild 4.png  

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
New Posting Features [Ajax] Check for similar thread before posting a new one MrNase vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 374 02 Apr 2013 12:14
End-User Options Ajax Check Username MrNase vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 74 10 Sep 2008 10:13
Similar Topic Check Velocd vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 33 06 Dec 2003 23:10

Comments
  #2  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 19:03
vip-q.com's Avatar
vip-q.com vip-q.com is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
great

thanks
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 19:33
Emunator Emunator is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Works very nice.
Thans.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 19:51
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
I am glad you like it.

Some users had problems with the previous version but I tested this one and it works. One thing I should mention: It uses the default vBulletin functions to find the similar threads so when you are happy with the similar thread display (the default vBulletin setting) this one will work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:02
Dax IX Dax IX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Emily
For some reason this is not working for me.

It shows the notice to the user when you first post a thread, but it doesn't update...

Any ideas?
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:09
Emunator Emunator is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Originally Posted by Chani View Post
For some reason this is not working for me.

It shows the notice to the user when you first post a thread, but it doesn't update...

Any ideas?
Did you upload jquery to the correct map ?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:11
logicuk's Avatar
logicuk logicuk is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Wil this work on vb3.7?
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:13
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
It should.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:13
Dax IX Dax IX is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Real name: Emily
Originally Posted by Emunator View Post
Did you upload jquery to the correct map ?
As far as I know it is. It's at [forumhome]/clientscript/jquery-1.2.6.min.js
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:23
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Can you send me the Url so that I can look at it?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:33
cafenetland cafenetland is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
it works but,

then auto tagger does not work.

they dont work together for me
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 21:42
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Well the problem is that both try to access the contents of the input field at the same time and that doesn't work or it requires major modifications (on both add-ons) to make it work.

I didn't install the auto tagger to test it but yes, this might be a problem. Can you disable this behaviour in the auto tagger settings? If so this might a solution.
If I recall correctly, the auto tagger works even with this feature turned to 'off'.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 22:13
cafenetland cafenetland is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Originally Posted by MrNase View Post
Well the problem is that both try to access the contents of the input field at the same time and that doesn't work or it requires major modifications (on both add-ons) to make it work.

I didn't install the auto tagger to test it but yes, this might be a problem. Can you disable this behaviour in the auto tagger settings? If so this might a solution.
If I recall correctly, the auto tagger works even with this feature turned to 'off'.
now they r two good friends and working together...


thx for the help

auto tagger and auto checker similar post hacks r most importand hacks for my site.

thx again.
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 22:33
Jaxel Jaxel is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Disable "Enabled AJAX?" in the Auto Tagger settings and then it works fine.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 13 Jan 2009, 22:38
cafenetland cafenetland is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Originally Posted by Jaxel View Post
Disable "Enabled AJAX?" in the Auto Tagger settings and then it works fine.
i disabled Custom tags behaviour using AJAX and they worked fine.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:25.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: