Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 02 Mar 2009, 16:59
Hidden_Gamma Hidden_Gamma is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Question RSS Feed Won't Post

I've set up my vBulletin installation (3.8.1) to automatically post threads from my Wordpress (2.7.1) RSS 2.0 feed. When I preview the feed in the AdminCP, it sees it and, apart from some weird HTML tags that don't convert well to BB code that I'm trying to figure out how to get it to ignore before it posts, everything seems fine. The problem is, I've activated the feed in vBulletin and set up a dedicated forum for the threads to post to, but nothing is posting. Is there something I am overlooking? Should I not use the RSS 2.0 feed? Should I use Atom 0.3 or RSS.93 instead?

Thanks for any help.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03 Mar 2009, 09:43
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Try resetting the RSS feed.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03 Mar 2009, 11:19
mindfawk mindfawk is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
I've come across the same issue; except I can generate manually right after I have created the feed; but after that it never posts again until I reset it and manually run it again.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03 Mar 2009, 17:33
TSHNOFX TSHNOFX is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Real name: Aaron Rosenbaumer
Same problem here, it only posts when I run it manually, and I've set up everything(scheduled task and all).
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03 Mar 2009, 17:43
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Does the user you assign to post the items have permission to post in the forum you select? Are you sure the Scheduled Task is running (when is the next time to run)? Is the time changing for when it was last checked (what is the last checked time?)?
__________________
Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 01:54
Hidden_Gamma Hidden_Gamma is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Does the user you assign to post the items have permission to post in the forum you select? Are you sure the Scheduled Task is running (when is the next time to run)? Is the time changing for when it was last checked (what is the last checked time?)?

Thanks for the reply Lynne,

I created a new user with admin privileges for posting of the RSS feeds. In answer to your second question, yes, the scheduled task does seem to be running. When I last checked it just before posting this, it shows it was last checked 9-minutes ago. I'm stumped.

--------------- Added 04 Mar 2009 at 01:57 ---------------

Originally Posted by Marco van Herwaarden View Post
Try resetting the RSS feed.
I've done a reset, and it's still a no go, I'm afraid. I've even tried posting some dummy posts to check if maybe it just wasn't seeing old posts and would only sense new ones, but that didn't help either.

Last edited by Hidden_Gamma : 04 Mar 2009 at 01:57. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 04:15
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Try deleting the feed and then adding it back again.
__________________
Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 04:27
Hidden_Gamma Hidden_Gamma is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Try deleting the feed and then adding it back again.
Thanks for the suggestion, but that didn't work either; I actually tried that a few times. This is absolutely nuts.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 04:42
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Why don't you post the feed link and one of us can test it on our test forums. Have you looked in your error_logs to see if there is anything there?
__________________
Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 05:04
Hidden_Gamma Hidden_Gamma is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Originally Posted by Lynne View Post
Why don't you post the feed link and one of us can test it on our test forums. Have you looked in your error_logs to see if there is anything there?

Where would I locate the error_logs? At the moment, my entire forum is going crazy, and I can't figure out what exactly the problem may be, but it may have something to do with my forum. subdomain URL not redirecting correctly. I'm having my web hosts take a look at that issue.

Here is the RSS 2.0 feed: http://www.blu-raydefinition.com/feed
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 09:14
Marco van Herwaarden Marco van Herwaarden is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
There is no feed at http://www.blu-raydefinition.com/feed/ it seems. I only get an empty directory.
__________________
Marco van Herwaarden
Ex vBulletin.org Coordinator
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 14:52
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
Originally Posted by Hidden_Gamma View Post
Where would I locate the error_logs? At the moment, my entire forum is going crazy, and I can't figure out what exactly the problem may be, but it may have something to do with my forum. subdomain URL not redirecting correctly. I'm having my web hosts take a look at that issue.

Here is the RSS 2.0 feed: http://www.blu-raydefinition.com/feed
Post back when your host fixes the issue. Right now, all I'm getting is a directory with that feed, not any sort of rss output.
__________________
Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 04 Mar 2009, 22:50
Hidden_Gamma Hidden_Gamma is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Will do. I don't know what the heck happened to the feed, because it was actually working, I just couldn't get it to post into the forum. Now, I can't see it at all. I need to fix it in Wordpress.

EDIT:
I've discovered that the RSS .92 and Atom .03 feeds are still working without any issues:

http://www.blu-raydefinition.com/feed/rss
http://www.blu-raydefinition.com/feed/atom

--------------- Added 04 Mar 2009 at 23:09 ---------------

The RSS 2.0 feed seems to working now again and my redirect issues have all been fixed:

http://www.blu-raydefinition.com/feed

--------------- Added 05 Mar 2009 at 04:55 ---------------

I got the RSS feeds working and they are now posting into the forum. I was wondering now if someone could instruct me on how to get it formatted so that instead of posting the entire post into the forum it would post only a summary and then I could simply insert a "Read More" link to direct people to the front page?

Last edited by Hidden_Gamma : 05 Mar 2009 at 04:55. Reason: Auto-Merged DoublePost
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 05 Mar 2009, 06:54
Hoggard Hoggard is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
I got the RSS feeds working and they are now posting into the forum. I was wondering now if someone could instruct me on how to get it formatted so that instead of posting the entire post into the forum it would post only a summary and then I could simply insert a "Read More" link to direct people to the front page?
Thats the opposite of my problem. I get a summery with a "Read More" link but want to make the summery longer and include video.. Still searching the forums but came across this thread. Maybe the answer to your question will also answer mine!
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 05 Mar 2009, 15:54
Lynne's Avatar
Lynne Lynne is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Real name: Lynne
H_G, the amount of text that is sent to be posted in your forum is set by the site that offers the rss feed. So, see if you have any settings for your wordpress rss feed that will limit the amount of text it sends out.
__________________
Try a search before posting for help. Many users won't, and don't, help if the question has been answered several times before.
W3Schools -
Online vBulletin Manual
If I post some CSS and don't say where it goes, put it in the additional.css template.
I will NOT help via PM (you will be directed to post in the forums for help.)
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 00:53.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: