Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Fix the weird characters/symbols in posts. Details »»
Fix the weird characters/symbols in posts.
Mod Version: 1.00, by borbole (Coder/Designer) borbole is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.0.2 Rating: (2 votes - 4.50 average) Installs: 31
Released: 28 Mar 2010 Last Update: 10 Apr 2010 Downloads: 245
Supported DB Changes Uses Plugins Additional Files Translations  

This mod will allow you to fix the weird characters/symbols that appear at your forum when you move hosts and/or reatore a database due to the coallition characters conflict in the db.
For ex when all your posts appear with a bunch of Â@@ or whatever characters. All you have to do is enter those weird characters at the mod settings and then enter the right symbols that you want to replace and all your problems will be solved.

It can aslo be used to replace text. It can be whatever text you want.

Installation:

To install the mod, upload the includes folder to your forum root folder and then import the wierd_symbol_fix.xml file inside the mod package to Plugins&Products in the acp of your forum. Then go to the mod setting option: Fix Wierd Symbols. It can be found on the left side of the Admin Panel, right above the Maintenace section. And enter the information accordingly.

Note: After doing the replacement, go to: Admin CP -> Maintenance -> Update Counters and run Rebuild Post Cache.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	Admin Control Panel_1269737643205.png
Views:	919
Size:	63.9 KB
ID:	114818

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Add spanish characters/ or other language characters kypdurron vBulletin 2.x Beta Releases 3 24 Feb 2007 20:51

  #16  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 11:56
Threepwud Threepwud is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I mentioned that my apostrophes are showing as & # 0 3 9 ; (without the spaces, here it changes to an apostrophe!) so I want to change ' into an apostrophe.

Is this mod able to do that? Cheers mate

Last edited by Threepwud : 11 Sep 2010 at 12:01.
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:04
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Threepwud View Post
I mentioned that my apostrophes are showing as & # 0 3 9 ; (without the spaces, here it changes to an apostrophe!) so I want to change ' into an apostrophe.

Is this mod able to do that? Cheers mate
Yes, that is able to do it. It can replace any text and character.

Anyway, you are using a single quote and as such you should escape it with the backslash character \

i.e. you should enter the character like this:
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

at Wierd Symbol & the Replaced Text. I just tried it at my test site and it worked fine.
__________________
I am giving away some of my paid mods for free. Please pm me if you are interested.

My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:17
Threepwud Threepwud is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Alright, I changed it so my replaced text said \' and it didn't work - then also tried it with \**** and that didn't work.

I'm thinking maybe because it is between other characters. ie i****m has the characters between the I and M characters.
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:21
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Threepwud View Post
Alright, I changed it so my replaced text said \' and it didn't work - then also tried it with \**** and that didn't work.

I'm thinking maybe because it is between other characters. ie i****m has the characters between the I and M characters.
After you ran it, did you update the counters as well as mentioned in bold at the bottom of the first post here

Note: After doing the replacement, go to: Admin CP -> Maintenance -> Update Counters and run Rebuild Post Cache.
__________________
I am giving away some of my paid mods for free. Please pm me if you are interested.

My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:29
Threepwud Threepwud is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
HA! I did indeed miss that counter update. You sir are a genius.

The only thing I've noticed is that the forum slows down after I've enabled the mod. I'll look into that.

Thanks very much!

edit: after running your brilliant mod and then updating the counters, I simply disabled it and the place went faster again. Awesome stuff.

Could this mod be used to fix my quoting issues too?
[quote author=Jer link=topic=1118.msg46798#msg46798 date=1284059913]
comes from the SMF import and maybe if I can change them all...?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:33
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Threepwud View Post
HA! I did indeed miss that counter update. You sir are a genius.

The only thing I've noticed is that the forum slows down after I've enabled the mod. I'll look into that.

Thanks very much!
You are welcome. Glad to see that you got it solved

After you use the mod you can disable it. And re-enable it again when you want to perform similiar tasks.
__________________
I am giving away some of my paid mods for free. Please pm me if you are interested.

My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:38
Threepwud Threepwud is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Originally Posted by Threepwud View Post

edit: after running your brilliant mod and then updating the counters, I simply disabled it and the place went faster again. Awesome stuff.

Could this mod be used to fix my quoting issues too?
[quote author=Jer link=topic=1118.msg46798#msg46798 date=1284059913]
comes from the SMF import and maybe if I can change them all...?
LOL, one step ahead of you. Did you note the quote issue?
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:43
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Threepwud View Post
LOL, one step ahead of you. Did you note the quote issue?
I had quoted your post before you added the part about the quote. Can you post a link to how it is displayed after the conversion? Or a screenshot.
__________________
I am giving away some of my paid mods for free. Please pm me if you are interested.

My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 12:47
Threepwud Threepwud is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
http://www.threepwud.com/vb/showthre...aky-speed-bump

There are plenty of quotes there. It slightly differs from VB quotes and I'll understand if it isn't as straight forward as the apostrophe matter!

Kind regards,
Threep
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 14:01
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Originally Posted by Threepwud View Post
http://www.threepwud.com/vb/showthre...aky-speed-bump

There are plenty of quotes there. It slightly differs from VB quotes and I'll understand if it isn't as straight forward as the apostrophe matter!

Kind regards,
Threep
I have converted seevral smf forums to vB and I never experienced that with the quotes. Anyway, that is outside of this mod funcionality. Try to ask it at the Impex forum over at vb.com.
__________________
I am giving away some of my paid mods for free. Please pm me if you are interested.

My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 14:12
Threepwud Threepwud is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thanks mate, I've asked and a couple have had the issue. Seems you need to tweak impex before the import. Ah wells.

I used your mod to change \[quote author= to \[quote= and whilst the links don't work the threads look amazingly better.

Thanks for your effort - I must point out for your next release that it is WEIRD and not WIERD!
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 11 Sep 2010, 14:23
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
[quote=Threepwud;2096675]Thanks mate, I've asked and a couple have had the issue. Seems you need to tweak impex before the import. Ah wells.

I used your mod to change \[quote author= to \[quote= and whilst the links don't work the threads look amazingly better.

Thanks for your effort - I must point out for your next release that it is WEIRD and not WIERD![/QUOTE]

Thank you for the correcting my typo English is not my first language so my grammer is not very good.

I can''t believe it that no one else caught on it before and it has been up for months now
__________________
I am giving away some of my paid mods for free. Please pm me if you are interested.

My mods.
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 13 Sep 2010, 01:35
CrystaStarLight CrystaStarLight is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
This mod made my showthread.php load very slowly. Perhaps this could use some optimization?

This is what my debug said when the mod was turned on:

# 18.41910 seconds
# Memory Usage 9,335KB
# Queries Executed 25 (?)

This is after I disabled the mod:

# 0.59638 seconds
# Memory Usage 9,335KB
# Queries Executed 14 (?)

It also depended on how many replies were in the thread. If the thread had around 2 replies the thread page loaded okay, but if it had 12 replies it would load like it is shown above. That debug was shown on a thread with 12 replies.

Last edited by CrystaStarLight : 13 Sep 2010 at 01:44.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 13 Sep 2010, 13:06
Threepwud Threepwud is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
I had the same; I changed what I needed then refreshed the post cache in the update counters section. Then I turned it off straight after - the changes had been made and the mod was switched off.

Good stuff.
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 13 Sep 2010, 14:28
borbole's Avatar
borbole borbole is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Indeed. After the mod does its thing then you can disable or even uninstall it.
__________________
I am giving away some of my paid mods for free. Please pm me if you are interested.

My mods.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:22.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: