Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Rainbow Username Details »»
Rainbow Username
Mod Version: 1.00, by Black Snow (Contributor) Black Snow is offline
Developer Last Online: Apr 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.2.0 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 7
Released: 17 Mar 2013 Last Update: Never Downloads: 0
Supported Uses Plugins  

Here is how to create a rainbow username.


First: Create a usergroup on the Admin Panel, if you don't already have one ready. You can set the Usergroup to have any perms they want. This will not effect the effect in any way.

When you have created the usergroup, use this HTML Markup for the username (FIRST BOX);


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

And in the second box:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

What this does is just creates some normal HTML markup which will make the username this colour (you can change the colour if you wish) before the plugin is installed, and adds in a dummy rainbow: true;.

That was the easy part. The next part is slightly more complicated, but not much. So pay attention;

Plugin

Add a new plugin in vBulletin, with the following information;


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Use this for the Plugin Code;



Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This checks if the musername (markup username) of the user contains the dummy rainbow: true; that we set earlier (this means you can apply it to more than one group if you want to) and if it does, we will create the username.

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This sets up three pieces of code - the variables $i and $b run with the username, with $i being the current character the script is working on and $b being the colour number the character is being set to. The $username string is just an empty string that the username will be constructed into and the $colours array is an array of hex codes for the rainbow username. You can add/remove colours and it will still loop through them all!


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

This ends off the code, setting the musername to our generated username, and making it bold at the same time.

The full code:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Enjoy!

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	rainbowName.png
Views:	293
Size:	8.5 KB
ID:	144205

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Rainbow (Multicolour) Username for Usergroups n.sinha.p vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 84 12 Dec 2013 12:36

Comments
  #2  
Old 18 Mar 2013, 01:54
sodasusu sodasusu is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
no preview ?
__________________
kikil.net Forum Bokep Indonesia
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 18 Mar 2013, 04:05
smirkley smirkley is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Playing with it now, added seperate routines in the plugin to work on different usergroups with different color schemes.

Is there a way to make the colors scroll marqee style on the usernames?

Last edited by smirkley : 18 Mar 2013 at 04:14.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 20 Mar 2013, 20:14
Black Snow Black Snow is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Originally Posted by sodasusu View Post
no preview ?
Screenshot added in first post.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 21 Mar 2013, 22:20
marccap's Avatar
marccap marccap is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Nice - All works except the colour doesn't change for the "Thread Starter" when you look at the forum but does for "last post by"
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 21 Mar 2013, 22:50
smirkley smirkley is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
I dont know that the thread starter username links use usergroup markups. I could be wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 21 Mar 2013, 23:37
marccap's Avatar
marccap marccap is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
I added loads of mods I forget what is normal lol - my site is www.platboyonline.com and I got the username as mark ups everywhere near enough so wondered how this can work on mine fully
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 19 May 2013, 01:33
rgreene1971 rgreene1971 is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
These would be great if you could assign them to an individual user and not an entire usergroup
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 22 May 2013, 11:51
Black Snow Black Snow is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
I will look into this for the next update. If anyone has any ideas what else I could include let me know.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 25 May 2013, 13:03
avitor avitor is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
love this mod bat i can't maked work
i get this error
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/content/37/7648437/html/-------/includes/functions.php(1620) : eval()'d code on line 1

this is the cod i insert to plagin

if( strpos( $user['musername'], 'rainbow: true;' ) !== false )
{
$i = $b = 0;

$username = '';

$colours = array('d31539', 'ff7e00', 'ffc20e', '90d125', '187acb', '6f3198', 'ab1d8e');

while( $i < strlen( $user['username'] ) )
{
if( $b > ( count( $colours ) - 1 ) ) $b = 0;

$username .= '<span style="color: #' . $colours[ $b ] . '">' . $user['username'][$i] . '</span>';

++$b;
++$i;
}

$user['musername'] = '<strong>' . $username . '</strong>';
}

thanks



any solution?
__________________
Nature Live
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 14 Apr 2014, 19:08
Black Snow Black Snow is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Originally Posted by avitor View Post
love this mod bat i can't maked work
i get this error
Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in /home/content/37/7648437/html/-------/includes/functions.php(1620) : eval()'d code on line 1

this is the cod i insert to plagin

if( strpos( $user['musername'], 'rainbow: true;' ) !== false )
{
$i = $b = 0;

$username = '';

$colours = array('d31539', 'ff7e00', 'ffc20e', '90d125', '187acb', '6f3198', 'ab1d8e');

while( $i < strlen( $user['username'] ) )
{
if( $b > ( count( $colours ) - 1 ) ) $b = 0;

$username .= '<span style="color: #' . $colours[ $b ] . '">' . $user['username'][$i] . '</span>';

++$b;
++$i;
}

$user['musername'] = '<strong>' . $username . '</strong>';
}

thanks



any solution?
Sorry for the VERY late reply. Do you still need help?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 16 Apr 2014, 01:23
Knight0319 Knight0319 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Maybe this is a by-product of having the username html markup mod, but it seems to be doing this in regards to testing it on myself. Otherwise, it works fine everywhere else on the forum except the thread list/forum list as evidenced in the picture below.



edit: Scratch what I said above, updated the markup plugin I had except now it only displays the first color (Which I guess is red) for my name on the thread list/forum home (Last post by: ) although it displays fine in my shoutbox and when I'm actually inside of a thread.

edit 2: You know what, don't worry about it. Just a conflict with the plugins, no biggy.

Last edited by Knight0319 : 16 Apr 2014 at 02:36.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old Yesterday, 09:16
Black Snow Black Snow is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Lol. I guess you played around with it for a while before realising it was a conflict with another mod?
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:04.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: