Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Ban Spiders by User Agent Details »»
Ban Spiders by User Agent
Mod Version: 3.0.3, by Simon Lloyd (Coder) Simon Lloyd is offline
Developer Last Online: Oct 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 4.x.x Rating: (58 votes - 4.84 average) Installs: 404
Released: 09 Aug 2011 Last Update: 26 Nov 2011 Downloads: 1420
Supported Uses Plugins  

What this mod does
With this mod you can enter User Agents to watch or ban, you can also recieve emails or have an Output.txt created and updated with time and date of visits. It doesn't just have to be spiders, you can watch, log or ban any useragent!

How to install
Simply import the product ban_spider, the mod is active by default but none of the other options are turned on.

What is a UserAgent?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/User_agent

Understanding a UserAgent string
http://user-agent-string.info/parse

Genuine User Getting Blocked?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=105

Tools to help
http://whatsmyuseragent.com/SwitchingUserAgents.asp
http://www.botsvsbrowsers.com/SimulateUserAgent.asp

FAQ
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=137

How does it work?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=381

What's a bot?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Spambot

How do i ban a bot?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=318
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...7&postcount=51

Where's output.txt located?
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=216

Bad bot lists
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=259
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=224
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=281

Tested on vb3.7.x, vB3.8.x , vB4.x.x but should work on any version.

____________________________________________________________________
Special thanks to:
Lior
KH99
BoP5
for helping me sort out a few issues

...and beta testers

ForceHSS (Special thanks to Force for latest testing)
ozzy47
GreyHost

If you use this please mark as INSTALLED

History
9th June 2011 Orginal xml added
12th June 2011 Added both email notification and text file logging
22nd June 2011 Version 2.0.0, Added create thread on activity
  1. Added match facility you can now use something like Yandex and it will match MOZILLA/5.0 (COMPATIBLE; YANDEXBOT/3.0; +HTTP://YANDEX.COM/BOTS)
  2. Added clickable link to visited thread
22nd September 2011 added user redirect url selection
08th October Beta testing started for thread creation.
20th October Beta testing started for emailing.
21st October Beta testing complete Ver 3.0.0 uploaded
29th October minor fix added to cope with empty userid on thread creation
30th October Beta testing automatic redirection to spiders/bots IP
31st October New xml uploaded with automatic redirect to IP
25th November Minor fix for blank forumid fixed
26th November 2011 Fixed version check & create thread Off by default

The Bad Bots list is now included in the product
Please prune out all those that you wish to be able to see your site (i suggest you definately prune out "DA" and "Custo" :

Support will now only be given to those who have this mod marked as INSTALLED

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Ban Spiders by User Agent Simon Lloyd vBulletin 3.8 Add-ons 165 15 Sep 2014 19:14

  #241  
Old 25 Nov 2011, 06:35
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
It shouldn't create threads and it may have been that typo (thanks for spotting it) in the updated xml i have also added a fix so that if the forumid is blank the routine is exited
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #242  
Old 25 Nov 2011, 06:45
EuroBeat2's Avatar
EuroBeat2 EuroBeat2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by Alan_SP View Post
Threads are created, but I don't know where. Also I don't know where can I remove them and how? 6 Threads are created at the moment.
.
I had the same problem. However, being stupid I turned ON option to create threads, but have not specified the forum. Obviously threads should not be created if forum was not specified and I believe author is going to fix it.

Anyway, the best way to clear the threads (I got 20 of them) is to use your AdminCP -> Threads And Post -> Prune and purge them. I basically removed them using "Other Option'" and put the string: "Activity From Bot" in the TITLE field and it took care of it. I checked DB and they were removed. After this operation Advanced Statistics Plugin no longer reports them.

Hope it helps.

EB

Last edited by EuroBeat2 : 25 Nov 2011 at 07:19.
Reply With Quote
  #243  
Old 25 Nov 2011, 07:07
Amadeusmq Amadeusmq is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Does anyone have a pruned list of just the really BAD spiders? Honestly, my only problem has been with Baidu (80 spiders at one point) ....and I'm not really knowledgeable enough to know which of that LONG list are: "really bad", "kindof bad", "annoying", etc.

Thanks!
Reply With Quote
  #244  
Old 25 Nov 2011, 07:19
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
It really depends on your target audience, if you were catering for China then you'd allow Baidu, if you were catering for Russia then you'd allow Yandex (Russian Yahoo), most of the bots in that short list (trust me it is short as there are many more that add no value to your site or stats) are known scrapers, bad bots or foriegn spiders that you just don't need.

Check other sites and see which bots they are allowing, see if they are in your country, research the ones they show to see if they're good or bad for your site.
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #245  
Old 25 Nov 2011, 09:28
Amadeusmq Amadeusmq is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Just as a FYI, the "Check Version" option in the admincp->Plugins&Products->Installed Products listing doesn't work.

The error message is:

Version check failed. No version number was found at this location. The URL for the version check may be incorrect, or the server may be experiencing problems. Please try again later.
The hard link in the listing does correctly point to this thread; however, the version check doesn't work properly.
Reply With Quote
  #246  
Old 25 Nov 2011, 15:14
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Thanks i'll sort that out
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #247  
Old 26 Nov 2011, 01:40
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by EuroBeat2 View Post
Anyway, the best way to clear the threads (I got 20 of them) is to use your AdminCP -> Threads And Post -> Prune and purge them. I basically removed them using "Other Option'" and put the string: "Activity From Bot" in the TITLE field and it took care of it. I checked DB and they were removed. After this operation Advanced Statistics Plugin no longer reports them.
Thanks.

I found other method. Go to ACP->Maintenance->Update Counters->Remove Orphan Threads (at the end of list)

This sorted it out quickly and I too didn't see threads anymore.
Reply With Quote
  #248  
Old 26 Nov 2011, 01:44
Alan_SP's Avatar
Alan_SP Alan_SP is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Originally Posted by Simon Lloyd View Post
It shouldn't create threads and it may have been that typo (thanks for spotting it) in the updated xml i have also added a fix so that if the forumid is blank the routine is exited
Yes, I know. It's very strange that it created this six threads.

Probably you should also put 0 instead 1 in options for thread creating by default? Maybe that could help?
Reply With Quote
  #249  
Old 26 Nov 2011, 01:46
EuroBeat2's Avatar
EuroBeat2 EuroBeat2 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Originally Posted by Alan_SP View Post
Thanks.

I found other method. Go to ACP->Maintenance->Update Counters->Remove Orphan Threads (at the end of list)

This sorted it out quickly and I too didn't see threads anymore.
Good thinking. I missed that one.

EB
Reply With Quote
  #250  
Old 26 Nov 2011, 05:26
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Originally Posted by EuroBeat2 View Post
...... Obviously threads should not be created if forum was not specified and I believe author is going to fix it.
Fixed

Originally Posted by Amadeusmq View Post
Just as a FYI, the "Check Version" option in the admincp->Plugins&Products->Installed Products listing doesn't work.

The error message is:

The hard link in the listing does correctly point to this thread; however, the version check doesn't work properly.
Fixed

Originally Posted by Alan_SP View Post
Yes, I know. It's very strange that it created this six threads.

Probably you should also put 0 instead 1 in options for thread creating by default? Maybe that could help?
Fixed
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #251  
Old 16 Dec 2011, 14:53
ofir24 ofir24 is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
is it work on vb 4.1.7?
__________________
sorry about my english
Reply With Quote
  #252  
Old 16 Dec 2011, 14:54
Stefan118 Stefan118 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Originally Posted by ofir24 View Post
is it work on vb 4.1.7?
Yes, and also on 4.1.8
Reply With Quote
  #253  
Old 16 Dec 2011, 15:35
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
if you check out the version above it works on 4.x.x that means any version from 4.0.0 and onwards
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
  #254  
Old 22 Dec 2011, 13:14
gosiah23's Avatar
gosiah23 gosiah23 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Real name: Margaret
Works like a charm!!! Thank you so much
__________________
Conservative Women Forum www.ConservativeWomenForum.com
Saltwater Fishing Forums www.SaltwaterCatch.com
North Carolina Real Estate www.HitchcockRealty.net
Reply With Quote
  #255  
Old 22 Dec 2011, 20:29
Simon Lloyd's Avatar
Simon Lloyd Simon Lloyd is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Real name: Simon
Glad you like it, check your resource usage after a month and you'll see a dramatic drop in your bandwidth usage and cpu time
__________________
Kind regards,
Simon Microsoft Office Help
My Mods: Find my modifications here
Please do not pm me for support unless i have invited you to!
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:44.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: