Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Message auto-save/drafts Details »»
Message auto-save/drafts
Mod Version: 0.5, by MoMan (Coder) MoMan is offline
Developer Last Online: Aug 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

vB Version: 3.8.x Rating: (7 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 48
Released: 14 Sep 2011 Last Update: 17 Sep 2011 Downloads: 171
Not Supported Template Edits Additional Files Re-usable Code Is in Beta Stage  

An auto-save feature was recently added to vB4, so I figured it would be nice if we vB3 users could also get something similar

While this this isn't a server-side solution, I think that it's still pretty solid, as it relies on the localStorage system in your browser, which is supported by Safari, FF 3.5+, Opera, Chrome, and IE8+.

I have tested this on FF6, the latest Safari and Chrome, and IE9. I wrote it with IE8 in mind, but haven't tested IE8 as my forum skin doesn't support it (yup, it's a terrible browser).

For now, I am marking this as a beta release until we're sure it works in all browsers that support localStorage and there aren't any outstanding bugs.

Where does this work?
  • Quick reply
  • New reply/New thread
  • PM quick reply
  • New PM
  • PM regular reply
  • Anywhere else you want, given that the page contains a form named "vbform" and a textarea named "message" (or the vbulletin wysiwyg editor)

How does this work?
You can start typing a post, close your browser, open the same page, and the post will still be there. Note that this mod keys data by URL in order to avoid collisions.

The mod automatically and silently restores posts when possible. However, if the editor already contains something when you load the page (i.e. PM quick reply), then you will receive a prompt asking you whether or not you want to work with the recovered text.

This mod works even if you disable the WYSIWYG editor and it will quite likely work with older versions of vB all the way down to 3.5.

Installation
Installation is simple.
  1. [1]Download the attached file (or download the file directly and skip step 2)
    [2]Change the extension to .js from .js.txt
    [3]Upload it to your forum's clientscript directory
    [4]Add the following code to the bottom of your forum templates* wherever you want this mod to work:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

If you don't care about http overhead, you can put this code in your footer template as it will die gracefully on pages without an editor. However, I recommend only putting it in templates that use it. On my forum, I've added it to the following templates: SHOWTHREAD, newreply, newthread, pm_showpm, pm_newpm On top of that, if you don't allow guests to post, wrap the code in a member-only conditional: <if condition="$show['member']">...</if>

*the script tags must be placed after the editor text area element; this doesn't necessarily have to be the very end of the template, although it's good practice to do so

License:
You are free to use, modify, re-post and re-distribute the code as long as you credit me in the script comments. Improvements and derivatives are welcome!

Note: This is a CLIENT-SIDE mod. Please be sure that any issues you may report aren't related to the fact that a. your browser is misconfigured or b. you are using an old/unsupported browser.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Save Drafts (Remember Everything) Updated! why-not vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 91 12 Feb 2009 13:56
Save Drafts (New Topics, New Reply, PM(s)) Updated March 04, 2005 why-not vBulletin 3.0 Beta Releases 23 06 Mar 2005 19:54

  #16  
Old 21 Sep 2011, 01:47
MoMan MoMan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by viper357 View Post
Awesome, will install this on 3.8.5, quick question first, will this cause any significant increase in server load on a biggish forum (over 500 000 posts)?
It's a client-side script, doesn't involve the server at all
__________________
Adam

Admin of PentaxForums.com - Big-Board
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 25 Sep 2011, 03:15
chiplove.9xpro's Avatar
chiplove.9xpro chiplove.9xpro is offline
 
Join Date: May 2010
Real name: Phan Thanh Cong
thank ,
good mod
__________________
All my hacks: Click here
Contact me for new mod with your ideas
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 28 Sep 2011, 08:03
NAZIA's Avatar
NAZIA NAZIA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: NJ
Lightbulb

hi
this mod is really helpful
but unfortunatly it has 1 disadvantage that , it disabled Links in vb Ajax dropdown menu..

you can understand by image below...
removing vb ajax feature.jpg

it ads #.. instead of the original url...
and after clicking on this button happens nothing...

even users can not click on the notifications...
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 28 Sep 2011, 15:12
NAZIA's Avatar
NAZIA NAZIA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: NJ
anyone else has this thing happen on their board?

Last edited by NAZIA : 28 Sep 2011 at 16:34.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 28 Sep 2011, 15:33
viper357's Avatar
viper357 viper357 is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
I also get the # but the link still works fine.
__________________
Marine Aquariums
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 28 Sep 2011, 16:29
jrap jrap is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Thanks!
__________________
Called.in - Automated User Phone Verification for vB. Check if out if you run a Buy/Sell/Trade forum!
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 28 Sep 2011, 16:35
NAZIA's Avatar
NAZIA NAZIA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: NJ
but for me, sometime links work, mostly does not work..

in Firefox 6.0.2
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 28 Sep 2011, 18:58
MoMan MoMan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Make sure you're including the JS file on all the pages you want it to work on.

If it's still not working, you can uncomment the console.log statements in the code and trace the execution in firebug. If you find any issues then, let me know how to reproduce them and I'll look in to fixing them!
__________________
Adam

Admin of PentaxForums.com - Big-Board
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 28 Sep 2011, 23:11
NAZIA's Avatar
NAZIA NAZIA is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Real name: NJ
Yes.. i fix it.. that was due to conflicting some ads code .. i have remove the ads now it is working fine.. sorry :S
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 03 Oct 2011, 17:29
drsli's Avatar
drsli drsli is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Real name: Dietmar
Thank you for this very useful addon!
The need for it was proved, when I worked on this reply for the first time. Meanwhile I was kicked out by vbulletin.org with my idle-time and after hitting submit the text was gone.

The mod works like a charm with my live-forum. Thus far I could test Firefox and Chrome on MacOSX.
Perhaps I didnīt catch the description above accurately, but I donīt get any prompt to consent to the saved text or not.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 03 Oct 2011, 17:44
MoMan MoMan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Glad to hear you like it and that it works! The prompt only shows up in the PM quick reply interface, as there, a quote of the PM is inserted into the editor by default, and you might not notice that the saved text had been inserted otherwise
__________________
Adam

Admin of PentaxForums.com - Big-Board
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 18 Oct 2011, 17:35
RTMdotORG RTMdotORG is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Is there a way to show text when it happens like vB4?
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 19 Oct 2011, 15:50
MentaL's Avatar
MentaL MentaL is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Works good.
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 26 Oct 2011, 23:48
MoMan MoMan is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Originally Posted by RTMdotORG View Post
Is there a way to show text when it happens like vB4?
Since this fires as soon as you start typing and for every character you enter, it would have to work differently. For a future release I'm planning to have it work differently
__________________
Adam

Admin of PentaxForums.com - Big-Board
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 02 Jan 2012, 22:30
bitwise2000 bitwise2000 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Anyone have this running successfully on 3.7?

This is a better mousetrap than the one I know runs ok on 3.7.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 15:54.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: