Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 06:19
Mahoni999 Mahoni999 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Search Function & Highscore Combo Problem

hello,

wonder if i can get Help with that Issue....

The integreated Search Function in the Arcade doesn`t work anymore well. It used to be fine, but for some Reason it won`t list all Games anymore.

For Instance:

I do search with the Word "World" or "Factory" but nothing gets listed. There are severall Games that start with this words, but the Arcade can`t find them. If you browse through the Categories, then the Games are listed and can be played. Also i found out that this Games, that the Search Function can`t find, do not save anymore Highscores (they used to do that in the Past). Instead of saving the Highscore, i do get the Window telling me that the Highscore of this Game could not be saved because of maybe a second opend Window. But not all of the Games get this Message. Just so far a view Games havin this Problem.

If i search with the Word "Fac" then the Game called Factory Balls gets listed. If i search "Factory" then it won`t get listed and No Matches show up.

If i search with the Word "Wor" then the Game called World Cup Mahjong gets listed. If i search "World" then it won`t get listed and No Matches show up.

If i search with the Word "Gor" then the Game called Gorillaz Tiles gets listed. If i search "Gorillaz" then it won`t get listed and No Matches show up.

So it seems to me that something went wrong with the Database?

By the Way:

I did the latest Security Update by changing the Files recommended here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=279245 a while ago.

And one Day ago i have reset all Highscores in the Arcade. Did that every 3 Months in the Past and never had Problems after htat. So i guess this is not the Reason. Anyway i wanted to mention that too.

Might this be a Reason for the Problems?

Summary:

Not all Games get listed by Search Function and a Bunch of Games that used to save Highscores don`t save anymore.

Kind Regards,
Mahoni999
__________________
Arcade-Palast - More than 6000 High Quality Games for your Arcade

Last edited by Mahoni999 : 01 Apr 2012 at 12:33.
Reply With Quote
Comments
  #2  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 14:48
Hippy's Avatar
Hippy Hippy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by Mahoni999 View Post
hello,

wonder if i can get Help with that Issue....

The integreated Search Function in the Arcade doesn`t work anymore well. It used to be fine, but for some Reason it won`t list all Games anymore.

For Instance:

I do search with the Word "World" or "Factory" but nothing gets listed. There are severall Games that start with this words, but the Arcade can`t find them. If you browse through the Categories, then the Games are listed and can be played. Also i found out that this Games, that the Search Function can`t find, do not save anymore Highscores (they used to do that in the Past). Instead of saving the Highscore, i do get the Window telling me that the Highscore of this Game could not be saved because of maybe a second opend Window. But not all of the Games get this Message. Just so far a view Games havin this Problem.

If i search with the Word "Fac" then the Game called Factory Balls gets listed. If i search "Factory" then it won`t get listed and No Matches show up.

If i search with the Word "Wor" then the Game called World Cup Mahjong gets listed. If i search "World" then it won`t get listed and No Matches show up.

If i search with the Word "Gor" then the Game called Gorillaz Tiles gets listed. If i search "Gorillaz" then it won`t get listed and No Matches show up.

So it seems to me that something went wrong with the Database?

By the Way:

I did the latest Security Update by changing the Files recommended here: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=279245 a while ago.

And one Day ago i have reset all Highscores in the Arcade. Did that every 3 Months in the Past and never had Problems after htat. So i guess this is not the Reason. Anyway i wanted to mention that too.

Might this be a Reason for the Problems?

Summary:

Not all Games get listed by Search Function and a Bunch of Games that used to save Highscores don`t save anymore.

Kind Regards,
Mahoni999
I am not sure about the pruning of scores will or will not do this with the new version ..
seems the fix added removes good and bad data..
I am using the one stangger5 did, not the one that was added to the new version..

the games that are not saving the score are missing the gamedata folder..
check your apache error logs in cpanel..
it will list the folders in the gamedata folder that it cant find (related to these games).
unpack the arcive to your desktop and pload the gamdata file for the games that are missing them..

did you make sure you uploaded all files for the update ?



PM me your site and temp access and I wil look at it ..
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 17:02
Mahoni999 Mahoni999 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by Hippy View Post

the games that are not saving the score are missing the gamedata folder..
i am unsure about that, as i know not every Game does have or need a included Gamedata-Folder. For Instance the Game Factory Balls 2 (v2) doesn`t have one. And it gets the Error. So can`t be the Reason of a missing Gamedata Folder.
__________________
Arcade-Palast - More than 6000 High Quality Games for your Arcade

Last edited by Mahoni999 : 06 Apr 2012 at 08:28.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 17:22
Hippy's Avatar
Hippy Hippy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I am 100% correct about the gamedata folders going missing...anyway
but your right some don''t have them

and I have had games that didn't work and made my own gamedate folder..
do you have the orginal tar file for that game ?
did you open it up ?
if not send it to me ..I will test it or try and make it work.. details in my profile..
here is a screen shot of I guess version one of that game..
see whats in the tar file..
Attached Images
File Type: jpg game_balls.jpg (48.8 KB, 16 views)
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 17:27
Mahoni999 Mahoni999 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Yes, i have unpacked the Game and there is no Gamedata Folder. And it is not just this Game. Dozens of others appear with same Fault. But in the Past they worked.

And even if it would be a missing Gamefolder - why can`t the Search Function find the Game anymore?

I have no idea what went wrong with the arcade - worked fine for Years...

Regards,
Mahoni
__________________
Arcade-Palast - More than 6000 High Quality Games for your Arcade
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 17:28
stangger5's Avatar
stangger5 stangger5 is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
v2 games dont need the gamedata folder..
__________________
vb ibProArcade: Download Game, Game Challenge, Report Game Systems.
14,000+ Games,, and more can be found at: next-level-arcade.com

Last edited by stangger5 : 23 Jan 2013 at 07:58.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 17:43
Mahoni999 Mahoni999 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Originally Posted by stangger5 View Post
v2 games dont need the gamedata floder..
yes you are right stangger.

I really wonder why the Search Function of the Arcade doesn`t work anymore propper. Games that used to work are not saving anymore.

Seems to me that System don`t know where to put the Score into. Maybe Database-Failure?
__________________
Arcade-Palast - More than 6000 High Quality Games for your Arcade
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 01 Apr 2012, 18:01
Hippy's Avatar
Hippy Hippy is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
I didn't know it was a v2 game or your running vb3 not that that matters I am guessing
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 02 Apr 2012, 10:41
Mahoni999 Mahoni999 is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
No more Action needed - got it fixed!

All is back to Normal now....

Reason for the Bug and Failures has been the Security Update (mentioned in the Beginning of this Tread) that Zeropage offerd a while ago.

Regards,
Mahoni999
__________________
Arcade-Palast - More than 6000 High Quality Games for your Arcade
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:15.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: