Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 07:54
GoTTi GoTTi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
this style hacked...

it was posted on yaxay.com..which had thier style hacked or stolen by some1 named Tommy..

http://www.tommytommy.com/forum/home.php

^^^vb.org

http://www.23to6.com/bbs/

^^Yaxay
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 08:04
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Yea, that prick stole 3 of my styles. I emailed him. He is a member of my forums, or was. I asked him to remove them from his board. We exchanged a few emails, and I basically told he was a ripper, with no morals. His hobby is to rip every vb style he can find. And he's damn proud of it.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 12:04
ArunanS ArunanS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Look at the bottom it says ripped from yaxay...what idiots.
I really hate this
I am sure that idiot who ripped all your styles can be prosecuted in court by the designer of the styles, and the proper owner of the styles.

But will anyone, or is it work it is another question

Last edited by ArunanS : 29 Nov 2002 at 12:09.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 12:18
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
He's in a country that doesn't care about US copyright.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 18:45
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
Wow those are pretty good rips..

Doesn't give them any right to do it though

I always wonder whats the point of ripping ... especially when its such well known designs..

You'll always get found out..

- miSt
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 20:01
ArunanS ArunanS is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Smoothie, then were gonna have to fly over to where ever he lives and beat the crap out of him now wouldn't we?
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 20:23
filburt1 filburt1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
I really don't think these links should be posted publicly or at least not discussed publicly. I for one just reported them to Jelsoft because it's likely that they're pirated or have license violations anyway.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Nov 2002, 22:17
Chris M's Avatar
Chris M Chris M is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Real name: Chris Murphy, BSc
Its despicable

Satan
__________________
Chris Murphy, BSc .:. vBulletin.org Moderator
street-legal.biz - Best UK Car Club 2006!!

Please do not Private Message, Email or Instant Message me for Support with vBulletin or help with any Modifications to vBulletin - Doing so may result in angering my own personal Dragon bodyguard, Smokey...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30 Nov 2002, 01:12
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Originally posted by filburt1
I really don't think these links should be posted publicly or at least not discussed publicly. I for one just reported them to Jelsoft because it's likely that they're pirated or have license violations anyway.
I disagree 1000%. These bastards should be exposed for all to see. filburt1, I know you put a lot of work and time and effort into your skin. How would feel if it were your stuff they were rippin?

ArunanS- I got my credit card ready, lets catch the next fight over and pay jerky a visit.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30 Nov 2002, 01:13
filburt1 filburt1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
I'd be pissed but I wouldn't post it publicly. I'd consider a lawsuit if I really felt like it and I'd find some obscure violation of the license agreement to get Jelsoft to take away their license.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 30 Nov 2002, 01:22
Smoothie Smoothie is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Tell ya right now, you ain't doin jack to people that live outside of the US. There is no copyright law. Next solution?
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Nov 2002, 01:35
filburt1 filburt1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
All I'm doing is echoing what the mods at vB.com do: say that these URLs shouldn't be discussed publicly.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 30 Nov 2002, 01:41
okrogius okrogius is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally posted by Smoothie
He's in a country that doesn't care about US copyright.
Well, then why not give his visitors a good impression by informing them of this?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 30 Nov 2002, 03:37
GoTTi GoTTi is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
speaking of lawsuit, there is noway, even in US, that any1 can be sued, unless providing a Copyright or Contract of Legality and Ownership of any kind of design.

And to get a "copyright" on a forum template design, would be like buying a mark mcgwire rookie card, graded 10, for $1.00.

I haven't seen any proof of someone owning anything. If another person takes the ideas of some1 else, that might be ++++ed up, but it isn't illegal unless its owned by the creator. All I see is text saying things are "copyright". If asked, can these companies provide us with business licenses or proof of ownership? If so, then yes you might have a lawsuit, if not, all it is is just text and ALT+NUMBER commands making the © and ™ signs.

Keep this info incase one of you have a business plan or some sort of idea for something. Make sure you protect yourself @ all angles.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 30 Nov 2002, 03:40
filburt1 filburt1 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
As soon as you create something it has an implied copyright. Not always easy to uphold in court but that's at least one US law to be thankful for.

You can register a copyright and patent but both take a long time and can be expensive for normal end users.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 23:26.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: