Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Dynamic Announcements: Programmable Forum Home Announcement/Message with conditionals Details »»
Dynamic Announcements: Programmable Forum Home Announcement/Message with conditionals
Mod Version: 1.00, by Logician (Coder) Logician is offline
Developer Last Online: Dec 2014 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.9 Rating: (6 votes - 5.00 average) Installs: 318
Released: 21 Apr 2004 Last Update: 19 May 2004 Downloads: 71
Not Supported Template Edits Code Changes  

This hack allows you to post powerful dynamic announcements (changing according to different conditions) on forum home page. It differs from vbulletin's default announcements in 2 ways:
  • The announcement is displayed in forum home page, not inside thread view. So visitors will read them on home page without clicking any links.
  • The Hack's announcements are not static: ie. they can be powerfully programmed to display themselves according to many conditions.

This hack is the VB3 version of my Dynamic Forum Home Announcement Hack and it is a bit more improved in that it is now able to display your announcement as it was before AND also in DHTML popup box as well which ever you prefer better or even both. (DHTML poupup announcement is not technically a popup so popup killers can not kill it either.)

Basic Usage : You can set a text in your Admin CP and it's displayed in forum home to all users.

Advanced Usage : With conditionals you can set different texts/notifications/messages/announcements and they will be displayed if your pre-configured condition applies. This allows you to create powerful announcements/private messages/texts which address their receipt only if a certain condition is met. Some examples:

You can set to show an announcement in forum home IF:
  1. user is X
  2. user's usergroup is Y
  3. his profile field Z is X
  4. user has X posts or has more than Y posts but less than Z posts
  5. his last visit time was X days ago
  6. today is X, hour is between Y and Z, day is wednesday, month is Y, week is month's 2nd week, today is user's birthday
  7. User is invisible/visible
  8. his timeset is set to A
  9. etc.

It's tested in vb versions from v.3.0.0 to 3.0.9 and works fine with all of them. It will work for all future 3.0.x versions too. For vb2 version click here.

Here is a Screenshot from a general table announcement.
Here is a Screenshot from a popup announcement.

Some Features:
  • It's Admin CP integrated (Screenshot)
  • Smiley, BBCode, HTML, IMG tags are supported in announcements.
  • You can address your users with their usernames inside announcements (Use $bbuserinfo[username] variable)
  • Announcements are displayed directly in Forum Home so users are forced to read them.
  • The Conditionals help you to design powerful and ever changing announcements/private messages/forum home notifications.
  • Poupup announcement can not be killed by popup killer software

If you install the hack, click INSTALL, thank you..

Hacks of the hack:
* Hack 1: Puts the announcement into header instead of forum home page so that announcement appears in all forum pages.
* Hack 2: Integrates announcement with vBA_CMPS portal hack.
* Hack 3: Popup announcement will popup once in every XX hours.


Logician \\=^))

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	table.jpg
Views:	4028
Size:	112.3 KB
ID:	18272Click image for larger version

Name:	popup.jpg
Views:	3836
Size:	224.5 KB
ID:	18273Click image for larger version

Name:	admincp.jpg
Views:	2608
Size:	93.5 KB
ID:	18274

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Dynamic Announcements: Programmable Forum Home Announcement/Message with conditionals Logician vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 411 27 Sep 2012 07:17
Dynamic Announcements: Programmable Forum Home Announcement/Message with conditionals Logician vBulletin 2.x Full Releases 210 16 Sep 2004 19:27
Dynamic Forum Home Announcement - vBaCMPS Integration kall vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 2 06 Sep 2004 23:46

  #31  
Old 22 Apr 2004, 17:18
ixian's Avatar
ixian ixian is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by Sketch
The default vbAdv install as $index_header not $header -- I believe. But I got it. Nice hacks all around.
Oops. Sorry bout that

Shouldn't matter anyway, since by that step you can stick the bits wherever you want them to appear, you don't need to follow the instructions to the letter
__________________
Ixian
Maximum Gamer
Reply With Quote
  #32  
Old 22 Apr 2004, 21:15
Pitman's Avatar
Pitman Pitman is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Originally Posted by Logician
Make sure you applied STEP 1 correctly.
Lol, I did, there is only 2 instances of what to search for and replace, I did it exactly as the instructions say
Reply With Quote
  #33  
Old 22 Apr 2004, 23:26
ixian's Avatar
ixian ixian is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by Pitman
Lol, I did, there is only 2 instances of what to search for and replace, I did it exactly as the instructions say

"Lol", you obviously didn't, because this hack is working for the rest of us. You must have missed something. Go over it again, line by line.
__________________
Ixian
Maximum Gamer
Reply With Quote
  #34  
Old 23 Apr 2004, 00:29
dsotmoon dsotmoon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
login Admin CP, choose VB settings, click Forum Home Page Options and find "Dynamic Forum Home Announcements" box.

The dynamic forum announcement box isnt showing up in my adminCP although the welcome box is showing fine on forum home, what did i do wrong? or what part of the hack do i need to redo?
Reply With Quote
  #35  
Old 23 Apr 2004, 00:34
dsotmoon dsotmoon is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
duh! nevermind, it works great, i was confused.
Reply With Quote
  #36  
Old 23 Apr 2004, 07:51
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by Pitman
Lol, I did, there is only 2 instances of what to search for and replace, I did it exactly as the instructions say
If you are sure you did it correctly, then your problem is more likely related to your text editor. Always use notepad or a similiar text editor to apply hacks, not HTML software like Dreamweaver or Frontpage. They tend to change certain lines in PHP scripts without letting you know and this can cause parse errors.
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
I do NOT do custom work, so please do not PM/email me for such projects. Thanks for understanding..
Reply With Quote
  #37  
Old 23 Apr 2004, 09:42
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
weirdest thing mine dont appear under one another likes yours do.When i went to do the code for one of them (the green popup) it said it was a duplicate entry and would`nt allow it so in my options i have 2 seperate otions - one for the box and one for the popup.

Is this cause i had the old hack of yours on vb2 and just upgraded the board to vb3
Reply With Quote
  #38  
Old 23 Apr 2004, 10:33
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by lasto
weirdest thing mine dont appear under one another likes yours do.When i went to do the code for one of them (the green popup) it said it was a duplicate entry and would`nt allow it so in my options i have 2 seperate otions - one for the box and one for the popup.

Is this cause i had the old hack of yours on vb2 and just upgraded the board to vb3
yes. you need to delete the old record before installing this one. To do it add:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

to your config.php file right before ?> and upload the file. Now login to your admin cp, choose settings and then the settings of my hack. You'll see the link to remove it. After you removed it, you can also remove the debug line from your config.php, upload it back and then install the hack.
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
I do NOT do custom work, so please do not PM/email me for such projects. Thanks for understanding..
Reply With Quote
  #39  
Old 23 Apr 2004, 15:49
lasto lasto is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
cheers for help once again - worked fine
Reply With Quote
  #40  
Old 24 Apr 2004, 07:04
Highlander Highlander is offline
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
i cant wait for VB Templates ,, i did the change last week to vb3.0 .. and must leave the exisitng webtepmaplte section alone

.. my dreams come trough .. if you manage to port webtemplates

you are my hero

..EDIT:
uhh sorry..thought i was posting in your annhouncment Thread .. delete this post..

Last edited by Highlander : 24 Apr 2004 at 07:06.
Reply With Quote
  #41  
Old 25 Apr 2004, 23:49
Gio Takahashi's Avatar
Gio Takahashi Gio Takahashi is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Cape Coral
Real name: Don K
Seems that I get a blank page on index.php (forum not admincp) everytime I make an announcement.

Last edited by Gio Takahashi : 26 Apr 2004 at 00:02.
Reply With Quote
  #42  
Old 26 Apr 2004, 03:48
ixian's Avatar
ixian ixian is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by Gio Takahashi
Seems that I get a blank page on index.php (forum not admincp) everytime I make an announcement.
I know you're going to get tired of hearing this, but I'm gonna say it anyway - you missed something important/messed up a step.

Go back to the original versions of the files and do it again line by line. You missed something - a quote, a comma, a ;, something, I guarentee it. Either that or you did the edits with a crappy editor like Notepad which inserted invisible line breaks for you.
__________________
Ixian
Maximum Gamer
Reply With Quote
  #43  
Old 26 Apr 2004, 08:55
Logician's Avatar
Logician Logician is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Originally Posted by ixian
I know you're going to get tired of hearing this, but I'm gonna say it anyway - you missed something important/messed up a step.

Go back to the original versions of the files and do it again line by line. You missed something - a quote, a comma, a ;, something, I guarentee it. Either that or you did the edits with a crappy editor like Notepad which inserted invisible line breaks for you.
yes either as ixian said or it is your vb version. As far as I can see you are using "RC" and I haven't tested this hack with vb versions prior to 3.0.0 as I mentioned in the instructions.
__________________
Logician's Blog | WebTemplates for vb 4.x : VB Integrated Content Management System
I do NOT do custom work, so please do not PM/email me for such projects. Thanks for understanding..
Reply With Quote
  #44  
Old 28 Apr 2004, 15:38
ranger2kxlt ranger2kxlt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Real name: Justin
Never mind.....

AWESOME HACK! Thanks!!

Last edited by ranger2kxlt : 28 Apr 2004 at 15:50.
Reply With Quote
  #45  
Old 28 Apr 2004, 16:25
ranger2kxlt ranger2kxlt is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Real name: Justin
How do we use the field id part? I've tried numeours codes and can't get this to work.....??

Thanks
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:04.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: