Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
RSS autodiscovery Details »»
RSS autodiscovery
Mod Version: 1.00, by 58sniper (Member) 58sniper is offline
Developer Last Online: Jan 2006 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.3 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 16
Released: 27 Aug 2004 Last Update: Never Downloads: 2
Not Supported  

This mod will trigger autodiscovery in news aggregators that support autodiscovery (most do).

In AdminCP, in the headinclude, find (usually about 3-4 lines from the top):

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

add the following below:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

That's it. Simple.

Let me know if you have any questions.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
RSS autodiscovery 58sniper vBulletin 3.0 Template Modifications 25 13 Nov 2006 05:45

Comments
  #2  
Old 27 Aug 2004, 22:35
pjdaley's Avatar
pjdaley pjdaley is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
i may sound rude to some, or wierd to others... but what exactly does this do?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 27 Aug 2004, 22:47
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Most news aggregators like FeedDemon have a feature that allows you to just insert the url to the website and the software detects the url to the xml file on it self and you don't need to find out where exactly the newsfeed is.

This little code snippet (its a template mod for vbulletintemplates.com) tells the software where the newsfeed is. It's really handy.

Here's a practical demonstration:

Imagin vbulletin.com has this 'hack' installed. Now you install FeedDemon and you only need to enter www.vbulletin.com/forum and FeedDemon automatically finds out where the newsfeed is.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 27 Aug 2004, 22:52
SnowBot's Avatar
SnowBot SnowBot is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Real name: Snowy
This isnt a hack, its a template Mod. A nice one but still a template mod.
__________________
A Disability Chat Community
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 27 Aug 2004, 22:56
58sniper 58sniper is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by MrNase
Most news aggregators like FeedDemon have a feature that allows you to just insert the url to the website and the software detects the url to the xml file on it self and you don't need to find out where exactly the newsfeed is.

This little code snippet (its a template mod for vbulletintemplates.com) tells the software where the newsfeed is. It's really handy.

Here's a practical demonstration:

Imagin vbulletin.com has this 'hack' installed. Now you install FeedDemon and you only need to enter www.vbulletin.com/forum and FeedDemon automatically finds out where the newsfeed is.
Also, some news aggregators, like News Crawler, watch IE. If you open a site with this hack installed in IE, News Crawler automatically discovers the RSS feed.

I agree, I probably should post this at vbulletintemplates.com....

Demo - turn on your news reader before visiting http://www.efhs84.com/

Last edited by 58sniper : 27 Aug 2004 at 23:10.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 28 Aug 2004, 01:29
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
I think it should be standard in 3.0.4
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29 Aug 2004, 05:31
ChessMess ChessMess is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Originally Posted by MrNase
I think it should be standard in 3.0.4
Feedster doesn't seem to recognize the demo you gave:

http://feedster.com/feedfinder.php?a....efhs84.com%2F
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29 Aug 2004, 06:29
ChessMess ChessMess is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Originally Posted by ChessMess
Feedster doesn't seem to recognize the demo you gave:

http://feedster.com/feedfinder.php?a....efhs84.com%2F
Also, how well does this work in conjunction with this mod:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showt...2&page=1&pp=15

[vB 3.0.1] - RSS Output Mod & Icon
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 29 Aug 2004, 06:33
58sniper 58sniper is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Originally Posted by ChessMess
Feedster doesn't seem to recognize the demo you gave:

http://feedster.com/feedfinder.php?a....efhs84.com%2F
That's because Feedster is looking for /rss.xml, which doesn't exist. I have no idea how it's coming up with THAT file name. The source code of my demo is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 29 Aug 2004, 07:58
ChessMess ChessMess is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
How does it integrate with the mod I mentioned above? Since each page has its own discovery now, can your mod be modified to work with that mod?
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 29 Aug 2004, 14:55
58sniper 58sniper is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Hmmmm..... let me look into that. My mod just gives the generic external.php link. I'm sure it can be modified. Gimme some time...

Also - please click INSTALL if you guys use this.

Last edited by 58sniper : 29 Aug 2004 at 14:59.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 30 Aug 2004, 03:47
58sniper 58sniper is offline
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
I'm going to continue this mod in the thread over at vbulletintemplates.com. Check it out at http://www.vbulletintemplates.com/mo...ead.php?t=6996

The mod now includes a conditional, as well as some other info.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15 Sep 2004, 14:41
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
For the record, I use a very similar technique to activate Firefox Live Bookmarks

I'm only posting this so that anyone who wants a hack to enable Live Bookmarks will realise that this achieves that too
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 20 Sep 2004, 14:13
michaelab michaelab is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Originally Posted by buro9
For the record, I use a very similar technique to activate Firefox Live Bookmarks
I've been trying to do that and can't get it to work. The RSS icon appears on the status bar and clicking it adds the live bookmark (with the correct URL) but all I get in FireFox under the bookmark is "Live bookmark feed failed to load."

I'm on vB 3.0.1 - do I need to upgrade to 3.0.3 for this to work?

btw, I have live bookmark feeds working on other sites (eg BBC News).

Any ideas??

Michael.
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 20 Sep 2004, 14:54
buro9 buro9 is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Originally Posted by michaelab
I've been trying to do that and can't get it to work. The RSS icon appears on the status bar and clicking it adds the live bookmark (with the correct URL) but all I get in FireFox under the bookmark is "Live bookmark feed failed to load."

I'm on vB 3.0.1 - do I need to upgrade to 3.0.3 for this to work?

btw, I have live bookmark feeds working on other sites (eg BBC News).

Any ideas??

Michael.
In the headinclude template put the following, obviously modifying the URL for your forum, and the name of the forum too:


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

You need full URLs, not relative.

RSS2 is prefered.

I have made it so that two feeds are available, a global one... and a per-forum one. Global feed of all latest posts is on every page, and the forum specific feed is on any page that can provide forum info (such as forumdiaply.php or showthread.php ).

That should work, does on mine
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:10.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: