Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome Details »»
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome
Mod Version: 1.00, by amykhar (Coder) amykhar is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.6 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 119
Released: 08 Feb 2005 Last Update: 20 Mar 2005 Downloads: 124
Not Supported  

This one is a pretty easy hack to install. It shows any spiders that are indexing your site in the what's going on box on the forum home page. Please note. It will only show spiders as spiders and not as guests if it also shows them as spiders and not as guests on online.php.

This hack has been tested on 3.0.6 and 3.0.7.

It's not hard to install, but it does have one drawback. If you have a portal page that shows online users, you will have to edit it yourself to incorporate the changes. Consider yourself warned.

At this point, any problems reported are installation errors. If things don't work for you, make sure you have completed all the steps as written.

As I have upgraded to 3.5, I am withdrawing support for this older version. All the bugs are gone and any issues are now installation errors.

FAQ
1. I get this: [ARG:3 UNDEFINED] spiders on my portal page.
As noted above, because of the large number of portals, you're on your own for integrating them into thie hack.

2. I get this: [ARG:3 UNDEFINED] spiders on other pages.
1. Make sure you have done all of the code changes correctly.
2. Make sure you have updated your style to use the modified templates. If not, that error will occor.

German Translation provided by General. It can be found here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=230

Here is the Advanced CMPS module that y'all have been clamoring for:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=82339


Amy

-------------
This hack will always be free, however your donations are kindly accepted and will help towards further development. If you donate, please leave me some info (either your forum site or username at vB.org) so that I can thank you.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	spiders.gif
Views:	2139
Size:	5.1 KB
ID:	23961

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Spiders on ForumHome amykhar vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 206 17 Oct 2009 09:44
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome amykhar vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 197 27 May 2007 23:36
Show who is online in Teamspeak on forumhome jluerken vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 56 27 May 2005 01:41

  #16  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 16:13
rex_b rex_b is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
How would one turn this off of invisible mode?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 21:25
richiepearce richiepearce is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
How do I get other bots to be listed such as Yahoo and MSN. At present only Google shows up as a bot. Is there another MOD for this.
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 22:01
eva01_'s Avatar
eva01_ eva01_ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Justin
you have to add their strings into your admincp in the "whos online" thinger in vBulletin options
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 22:27
Durtay Durtay is offline
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Originally Posted by Boofo
Maybe have it do the amount behiond the spider name? Like this:

MSNBot (2)

I'd also like to have the amount in the line that says

(1 member and 3 guests)

Like this:

(1 member, 3 guests and 2 spiders)

if it is possible.
I'll be the third to concur, I'll install with the added features... Great Hack!
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 22:56
Soto Soto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Does this only work with 3.0.6? I'm running base 3.0.3 init.php patched to 0.5 as I've got a load of hacks installed and so am putting off upgrading. I've installed as per the instructions but no change, so have I answered my own question?
Reply With Quote
  #21  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:11
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Originally Posted by rex_b
How would one turn this off of invisible mode?
I'm not sure what you're asking?
Reply With Quote
  #22  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:12
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Originally Posted by Soto
Does this only work with 3.0.6? I'm running base 3.0.3 init.php patched to 0.5 as I've got a load of hacks installed and so am putting off upgrading. I've installed as per the instructions but no change, so have I answered my own question?
It works with 3.0.6, but I assume it would work with 3.0.3 as well. Try it and see. It's only one file to edit.
Reply With Quote
  #23  
Old 09 Feb 2005, 23:14
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Originally Posted by Durtay
I'll be the third to concur, I'll install with the added features... Great Hack!
OK. Now that we have three requests I'll try to do the variation. But, I'm not promising that I can do it so that it shows Google(3) for example. I know I can get the total number of spiders, but I am trying to think of a clean efficient way to sum up the different ones online rather than just showing them as being there like the online.php page does.
Reply With Quote
  #24  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 00:00
eva01_'s Avatar
eva01_ eva01_ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Justin
thank-you amykhar ^^ i love it

and i would like to see more features as well
Reply With Quote
  #25  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 07:41
Soto Soto is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
I've got it installed - it shows in the Who's Online section that it's a bot, but on the Currently active users on the front page shows x users and x guests with only the member names. Must be a 3.0.3 thing.
Reply With Quote
  #26  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 12:26
richiepearce richiepearce is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Originally Posted by eva01_
you have to add their strings into your admincp in the "whos online" thinger in vBulletin options
Thanks
Reply With Quote
  #27  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 12:47
shadiguy1 shadiguy1 is offline
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
this is what i get when i install it.

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.3:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT DISTINCT user.username, session.useragent,user.userid,
IF(displaygroupid=0, user.usergroupid, displaygroupid) AS displaygroupid
FROM session AS session
LEFT JOIN user AS user USING (userid)
WHERE session.lastactivity >

ORDER BY session.userid

mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'ORDER BY session.userid' at line 7

mysql error number: 1064

Date: Thursday 10th of February 2005 08:46:21 AM
Script: http://nextelelite.com/forums/index.php?
Referer: http://nextelelite.com/
Username: Shadiguy1
IP Address: 205.188.116.7
Reply With Quote
  #28  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 12:59
yoyoyoyo's Avatar
yoyoyoyo yoyoyoyo is offline
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Originally Posted by richiepearce
How do I get other bots to be listed such as Yahoo and MSN. At present only Google shows up as a bot. Is there another MOD for this.
Originally Posted by eva01_
you have to add their strings into your admincp in the "whos online" thinger in vBulletin options
Attached is a list of all known 'Robot Agent' Strings, and the list is pretty current (only 2 days old at this point).
Attached Files
File Type: zip ROBOTAGENTS.zip (8.7 KB, 131 views)
Reply With Quote
  #29  
Old 10 Feb 2005, 14:03
babolo babolo is offline
 
Join Date: May 2004
Real name: Brandon
IT WORKS! thanks this hack is great especially since I submitted my site to a lot of search engines and want to make sure it works.
Attached Images
File Type: gif rlt.gif (6.0 KB, 171 views)
Reply With Quote
  #30  
Old 11 Feb 2005, 01:18
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Originally Posted by shadiguy1
this is what i get when i install it.

Database error in vBulletin 3.0.3:

Invalid SQL:
SELECT DISTINCT user.username, session.useragent,user.userid,
IF(displaygroupid=0, user.usergroupid, displaygroupid) AS displaygroupid
FROM session AS session
LEFT JOIN user AS user USING (userid)
WHERE session.lastactivity >

ORDER BY session.userid

mysql error: You have an error in your SQL syntax. Check the manual that corresponds to your MySQL server version for the right syntax to use near 'ORDER BY session.userid' at line 7

mysql error number: 1064

Date: Thursday 10th of February 2005 08:46:21 AM
Script: http://nextelelite.com/forums/index.php?
Referer: http://nextelelite.com/
Username: Shadiguy1
IP Address: 205.188.116.7
OK. Then it doesn't work under 3.0.3. Sorry.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:17.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: