Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome Details »»
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome
Mod Version: 1.00, by amykhar (Coder) amykhar is offline
Developer Last Online: Nov 2013 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.6 Rating: (1 vote - 5.00 average) Installs: 119
Released: 08 Feb 2005 Last Update: 20 Mar 2005 Downloads: 124
Not Supported  

This one is a pretty easy hack to install. It shows any spiders that are indexing your site in the what's going on box on the forum home page. Please note. It will only show spiders as spiders and not as guests if it also shows them as spiders and not as guests on online.php.

This hack has been tested on 3.0.6 and 3.0.7.

It's not hard to install, but it does have one drawback. If you have a portal page that shows online users, you will have to edit it yourself to incorporate the changes. Consider yourself warned.

At this point, any problems reported are installation errors. If things don't work for you, make sure you have completed all the steps as written.

As I have upgraded to 3.5, I am withdrawing support for this older version. All the bugs are gone and any issues are now installation errors.

FAQ
1. I get this: [ARG:3 UNDEFINED] spiders on my portal page.
As noted above, because of the large number of portals, you're on your own for integrating them into thie hack.

2. I get this: [ARG:3 UNDEFINED] spiders on other pages.
1. Make sure you have done all of the code changes correctly.
2. Make sure you have updated your style to use the modified templates. If not, that error will occor.

German Translation provided by General. It can be found here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...&postcount=230

Here is the Advanced CMPS module that y'all have been clamoring for:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=82339


Amy

-------------
This hack will always be free, however your donations are kindly accepted and will help towards further development. If you donate, please leave me some info (either your forum site or username at vB.org) so that I can thank you.

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	spiders.gif
Views:	2139
Size:	5.1 KB
ID:	23961

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Show Spiders on ForumHome amykhar vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 206 17 Oct 2009 09:44
Show Spiders Online on ForumHome amykhar vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 197 27 May 2007 23:36
Show who is online in Teamspeak on forumhome jluerken vBulletin 3.0 Full Releases 56 27 May 2005 01:41

  #46  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 01:46
eva01_'s Avatar
eva01_ eva01_ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Justin
bah thanks anyways. didn't know if you would know or not. wasn't going to post a new thread if it could be answered here

thank-you ^^
Reply With Quote
  #47  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 03:07
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
OK. The online.php bug is fixed and I have updated the install instructions to include the requested features. I have also uploaded a new screen shot that reflects how the hack works now.

Finally, I am moving this out of beta. I believe it's done and all is well.
Reply With Quote
  #48  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 04:09
eva01_'s Avatar
eva01_ eva01_ is offline
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Real name: Justin
hmm i am still getting that
"2 members and 0 guests and [ARG:3 UNDEFINED] spiders"

don't know if you meant by fixing the online.php bug this or not....

everything else works great for it
Reply With Quote
  #49  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 09:11
lifesourcerec's Avatar
lifesourcerec lifesourcerec is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
I still get this
"[ARG:3 UNDEFINED]"

But I edited the phrase.
Reply With Quote
  #50  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 09:52
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
I ran into a unique problem. If there are no spiders online it doesn't show a 0 for the spiders. It just says "and spiders".

I also added some code to not show a (1) if there is only one instance of a given spider. If there is more than one it will show (2) or however many there are.
Reply With Quote
  #51  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 11:13
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
Eva and Lifesource, I forgot to put the online template edit in the instructions. I'll post it in a sec. I'll also get the variable initialized to zero so that it shows "and 0 spiders" when they aren't around.
Reply With Quote
  #52  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 13:39
lifesourcerec's Avatar
lifesourcerec lifesourcerec is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Ok. I'll keep checking back.
Reply With Quote
  #53  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 14:12
Mone' Mone' is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Miko
Originally Posted by amykhar
Eva and Lifesource, I forgot to put the online template edit in the instructions. I'll post it in a sec. I'll also get the variable initialized to zero so that it shows "and 0 spiders" when they aren't around.
nice hack

however there is something wrong with the txt file


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Cheers

Mone'
Reply With Quote
  #54  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 14:16
Boofo's Avatar
Boofo Boofo is offline
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Real name: Rob
Originally Posted by Mone'
nice hack

however there is something wrong with the txt file


Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Cheers

Mone'
She did it in wordpad.
Reply With Quote
  #55  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 14:31
Mone' Mone' is offline
 
Join Date: May 2002
Real name: Miko
Originally Posted by Boofo
She did it in wordpad.
heheh
how are you boofo? long time no see you
Reply With Quote
  #56  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 15:23
Salient Salient is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
anyone want to share the solution for "[ARG:3 UNDEFINED]?"

Thank you bunches.

EDIT: Just read the posts again. Didnt realize they were from today, Ill go back to my hole.

Also: Does vB already come with a spiderlist? How and from where is it queried? Im not very knowledgable about these things, so please be kind.

Last edited by Salient : 15 Feb 2005 at 15:43.
Reply With Quote
  #57  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 18:04
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
For the online.php glitch, in the template WHOSONLINE find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add After:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Make sure you get the space in there. I'll update the text file as soon as I get the 0 spiders problem fixed.
Reply With Quote
  #58  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 18:13
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
For Boofo's change that only shows the numbers if more than one spider is around (and shame on him for telling you that he did it without telling you how to do it if you want as well )

In index.php Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Replace with:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.


Last edited by amykhar : 15 Feb 2005 at 18:29.
Reply With Quote
  #59  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 18:17
amykhar's Avatar
amykhar amykhar is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Real name: Amy
I have the problem with 0 spiders fixed I think. But, I can't test it until the spiders leave my site. Anyhow, this code should be in the file anyway for good form.

So, in index.php Find:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

Add After:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

I'll update the text file now (and get it into notepad instead of wordpad.)
Reply With Quote
  #60  
Old 15 Feb 2005, 18:55
lifesourcerec's Avatar
lifesourcerec lifesourcerec is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Still getting this after those updates.

[ARG:3 UNDEFINED]
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:48.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: