Register Members List Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Reply
 
Mod Options
AJAX: check if username exists on registration in realtime Details »»
AJAX: check if username exists on registration in realtime
Mod Version: 1.00, by MrNase (Coder/Designer) MrNase is offline
Developer Last Online: Sep 2010 I like it Show Printable Version Email this Page

This modification is in the archives.
vB Version: 3.0.7 Rating: (0 vote - 0 average) Installs: 34
Released: 15 May 2005 Last Update: 15 May 2005 Downloads: 49
Not Supported  

It will be ported to vB 3.5

The instructions are up-to-date (see post #8 for more information).


Hello there!

vB 3.5 is using AJAX for inline moderation and stuff like that. Pretty neat and why should we wait for something like this? :devious:

What does this hack do?

In the registration page it checks if the username the user has entered already exists. If this is true he will get a message instantly telling me to change the desired name. The submit button will also be disabled so that he can't finish the registration unless he has chosen another username which is not yet taken.


Features:
* can be turned off or on via the AdminCP
* uses the vB phrases and can easily be translated
* the user gets the error message without reloading the page
* he/she can't complete the registration if the username is taken


Do I need to be an expert to install this hack?
No, not really.. You have to upload two files, edit one file, edit one template and add some custom CSS. Besides this there are 4 queries you need to run (see the point 'Warning:' for more information). Should be pretty easy and I'll support you as good as I can.


Demo:
You may take this for a test drive at my forums but please don't complete the registration unless you want to join my german community
http://www.pagodentreff.de/diskussio...m/register.php
Just use 'dominik.h' as a username and see what happens.


Problems?
Is the new phrase not showing up? Read this: http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showp...5&postcount=19



Warning:
This hack doesn't have an automatic installer. However you need to run 4 different queries for this hack to work. Those queries are for the settings in your AdminCP and for the phrases only. This hack won't affect your performance
If you feel uncomfortable with running queries you may drop me a private message and I'll see what I can do for you.


I will support this hack as good as I can but please keep your questions within this thread.

Please don't forget to click install because you get an update notification and other nice things

The screenshot is taken from my translated version.

This hack wouldn't be possible without the following article and the code: http://www.xml.com/pub/a/2005/02/09/...p-request.html

Download Now

Only licensed members can download files, Click Here for more information.

Screenshots

Click image for larger version

Name:	screenshot.jpg
Views:	933
Size:	33.3 KB
ID:	26341

Show Your Support

  • To receive notifications regarding updates -> Click to Mark as Installed.
  • If you like this modification support the author by donating.
  • This modification may not be copied, reproduced or published elsewhere without author's permission.
Similar Mod
Mod Developer Type Replies Last Post
Ajax Check Username MrNase vBulletin 3.6 Add-ons 74 10 Sep 2008 10:13
[Product] AJAX: Username check on registration MrNase vBulletin 3.5 Add-ons 43 20 Apr 2008 12:50

Comments
  #2  
Old 15 May 2005, 19:32
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
it looks great! I'm gonna try this out.
__________________
Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15 May 2005, 19:47
nexialys
Guest
 
/me was looking to code this same kind of ajax... great MRNase
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15 May 2005, 19:53
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
hehe

Please test it before you make it HOTM It worked for me and hopefully it'll work for you.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:06
Dean C's Avatar
Dean C Dean C is offline
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Real name: Dean Clatworthy
You might want to credit xml.com for the AJAX JS code
__________________
Dean Clatworthy - Web Developer/Designer
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:07
nexialys
Guest
 

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

have an error, have to drop the '5000', in it...

EDIT: btw, would be good to duplicate this process for the change username in profile...

Last edited by nexialys : 15 May 2005 at 20:13.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:13
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Originally Posted by nexialys
Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

have an error, have to drop the '5000', in it...
I changed it to:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.



Dean C: Ok, I did that. This was my first static try http://validhtml.com/xmlhttprequest/. I just took the code from it without thinking much about it's source :nervous:

nexialys: That's a good idea.. Iam going to sleep now but I'll keep that in mind for tomorrow
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:20
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
MrNase,
I believe it should be:

Block Disabled:      (Update License Status)  
Suspended or Unlicensed Members Cannot View Code.

__________________
Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:22
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
oh, by the way -- great hack/find.

There's a lot we can do with this. ;D
__________________
Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:25
MrNase's Avatar
MrNase MrNase is offline
 
Join Date: May 2003
Real name: Dominik
Have you installed it and does it work for you?

I fixed the small error in the downloadable file.. It happened because I added the , '39' without thinking about the number of the affected rows (I tried to modify 6 where there are only 5 ).

I added all phrases and settings manually so I couldn't test them. I hope they are working for you :rambo:

Last edited by MrNase : 15 May 2005 at 20:29.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:29
Princeton's Avatar
Princeton Princeton is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Real name: Joe Velez
yes, I installed it and it works as advertised.
I did run into the error but that was an easy fix.
__________________
Latest Articles:
Liquid Layout = Less Ad Revenue?
How to Monetize Your Site
Improve Web Page Performance
How To Write For The Web


If it needs instructions, there's room for improvement.
Give users what they actually want, not what they say they want. And whatever you do, don't give them new features just because your competitors have them!
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:30
Link14716's Avatar
Link14716 Link14716 is offline
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Real name: Matthew Gordon
I have no use for this without a community of my own, but I'll click install anyways since it looks like a nice hack. Good job.
__________________
Along with Zachery, I make releases as GeekyDesigns. Please do not PM or IM me for support.
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:37
Danny.VBT's Avatar
Danny.VBT Danny.VBT is offline
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Oh very nice! I will test this out for you.
__________________
while($coffeeMachine->supply($Danny)) { $Danny->run(); }

Twitter Blog
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:40
CompuJonathan CompuJonathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Jonathan
Ok, I'm pretty sure I followed the instructions 100%...but for some reason it will not display the text in the pink warning box.

Any clue what would cause this?

Thanks!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg error.JPG (12.4 KB, 111 views)
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 15 May 2005, 20:54
CompuJonathan CompuJonathan is offline
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Real name: Jonathan
Ok, I'm pretty sure it has something to do with the SQL query. I ran both the one in the .txt file and the one princeton posted. Not sure why it isn't working. :ermm:
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
Mod Options

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts
Forum Jump


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:24.

Layout Options | Width: Wide Color: