PDA

View Full Version : Enhanced Reputation Given Checks


Paul M
29 Nov 2005, 05:54
This modification is no longer available or supported.

This adds a set of extra checks for whenever members try and give reputation to posts.


Reputation Power Cap
Sets the maximum reputation giving power for any member.

Higher Reputation Forum List
Any reputation given in the forums listed will be multiplied by the "Higher Reputation Multiply Factor".

Higher Reputation Multiply Factor
See above : Forums in the "Higher Reputation Forum List" will have any reputation given multiplied by this factor.

No Reputaion Forum List
List of Forums in which members cannot give reputation to posts.

Open Threads Limit
Posts in open threads, that are older than this limit, cannot be given reputation.

Closed Threads Limit
Posts in closed threads, that are older than this limit, cannot be given reputation.

Negative Reputation Multiply Factor
All negative reputation is multiplied by this factor (by default vb sets negative reputation to half of positive reputation).

Require Reputation Comment
Members must leave a comment in order to give a post reputation.


Points to note ;

If a member does not have permission to give negative reputation then any negative reputation they give will be set to zero - in default vb they ended up giving positive reputation.

The vb fixed admin reputation setting is multiplied by the negative reputation factor - in default vb it was the same value for both positive & negative, while everyone elses negative was half the positive value.

If the negative reputation factor is 0.5 (to replicate default vb) then there will be one minor difference, a member whose positive reputation power is 1 will have a negative reputation power of 0, in default vb this would be -1.

The reputation cap is checked before any multiplication factors are applied - also the Forum Multiply and Negative Multiply are cumulative (e.g. if the cap is 40, and you have a forum multiply of 3, and a negative multiply of 2, a member could give a rep of -40 * 3 * 2 = -240).




History:

v1.04 : Initial Public Release.
v1.05 : Fixed zero reputation bug reported by sinaluna in Post #51 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=900411&postcount=51).
v1.06 : Minor changes, no update necessary.

AshokForums.com
29 Nov 2005, 06:14
First install!!! Thanks.. Brilliant idea!!

_Corvin_
29 Nov 2005, 12:04
Thanks a lot!!! This was exactly the Plugin I searched for :)

Snake
29 Nov 2005, 13:33
Installed! :)

Paul M
29 Nov 2005, 13:35
Installed! :)Click install then please. :)

nexialys
29 Nov 2005, 13:53
interesting, i like the reputation points, will be used a lot on some of my communities... this system is a good enhancement!

MThornback
29 Nov 2005, 13:57
Brilliant, this is HOTM material

*installs (and I DID click it this time Paul :p)

AshokForums.com
29 Nov 2005, 15:49
even i clicked install.. Paul can u see the users who have installed ur plugin?

Paul M
29 Nov 2005, 16:02
even i clicked install.. Paul can u see the users who have installed ur plugin?Yes, if they post in the hack, you can see if they have (or haven't, like nexialys & aftermath ;))

nexialys
29 Nov 2005, 16:06
Yes, if they post in the hack, you can see if they have (or haven't, like nexialys & aftermath ;))yeah, as usual, i comment the hacks, but never click... so i receive no support, and i can't help on the stats...

i did not even click install on my own hacks, imagine, what a shame.. lol

if i find a bug i will tell!!

Paul M
29 Nov 2005, 16:13
Brilliant, this is HOTM material I wish .....

Sadly I appear destined never to win a HOTM - and given that even if this qualified it would be up against two arcade hacks, I think it's rather unlikely to change that situation :)

Hexemer
29 Nov 2005, 18:26
Very nice and useful :)

Lea Verou
29 Nov 2005, 19:55
Useful hack Paul, although I think that a reputation that is member-based instead of post based would be better and members prefer it...
Why nobody has made something like that I can't understand :( :( :(

AshokForums.com
29 Nov 2005, 21:47
I wish .....

Sadly I appear destined never to win a HOTM - and given that even if this qualified it would be up against two arcade hacks, I think it's rather unlikely to change that situation :)

Dont worry paul!! Your a master coder! Your hacks, mods whatever it is are brilliant!! I love u mate :)

Lea Verou
29 Nov 2005, 23:51
I wish .....

Sadly I appear destined never to win a HOTM - and given that even if this qualified it would be up against two arcade hacks, I think it's rather unlikely to change that situation :)

don't worry mate! We all know that you are a brilliant coder and we need no HOTM to prove that!!

MThornback
30 Nov 2005, 13:21
don't worry mate! We all know that you are a brilliant coder and we need no HOTM to prove that!!

I'm running into a little problem...the system seems to be working, but i'm getting a parse error when i actually give rep points:


Parse error: parse error, unexpected ';' in /../../forum/reputation.php(172) : eval()'d code on line 13

I looked at the plugin code and I didn't see it off the bat...any ideas?

Paul M
30 Nov 2005, 18:42
Line 172 of reputation.php is a call to the reputation_add_process hook - which is not made by this hack - so I think your problem is elsewhere.

The Geek
30 Nov 2005, 18:50
This looks sweet Paul. Think ill have to give this an install AND a thumbs up (now where did I put that thumb...)

rb290
01 Dec 2005, 06:38
where is the options or settings for this ?
cant find it
and whats the proper coding you input to give rep

Paul M
01 Dec 2005, 09:16
where is the options or settings for this ?
cant find itWith all the other reputation settings in the ACP.

and whats the proper coding you input to give repSorry, I don't understand the question.

rb290
01 Dec 2005, 09:25
Sorry, I don't understand the question.


like in the postbit, how you can click to give someone rep points, you know ?

lazytown
01 Dec 2005, 15:10
Very Nice & Needed Mod!

THanks! -vissa

lazytown
02 Dec 2005, 06:31
If we "rebuild" the user reps, will these new scoring actions take affect on the rebuilt score? For example, will it give them extra rep for forums I've specified even on old posts (if rebuilt)? What about forums that are not supposed to have rep -- will those still count if rebuilt?

Thanks -vissa

lazytown
02 Dec 2005, 06:50
It would be great if we could somehow have 3 or 4 different multiplier categories... (and have fractional multipliers -- maybe that's already possible).. So I can have some forums worth a lot more, some worth the normal amount, some worth less, and others 0.

-vissa

Paul M
02 Dec 2005, 06:58
If we "rebuild" the user reps, will these new scoring actions take affect on the rebuilt score? For example, will it give them extra rep for forums I've specified even on old posts (if rebuilt)? What about forums that are not supposed to have rep -- will those still count if rebuilt?

Thanks -vissaI've not looked at the rebuild code, but I assume it processes all the scores stored in the reputation table - so it will rebuild them as per the points stored at the time the reputation was given.

Paul M
02 Dec 2005, 06:59
and have fractional multipliers -- maybe that's already possibleYou can use any number, not just integers.

Hoffi
09 Dec 2005, 08:38
A multiplier per Forum would be great. If you build that, it would be easier to handle big Forums.
A Forum that should not count, can be have a multiplier of zero, and any other the special. So are also more multipliers possible what would be a great benefit.

I'll test it... and I think I will use it.

Edit: I just tested it, and with a recalculation of the Reputation, the Settings takes no effekt. Thats Bad.

Paul M
09 Dec 2005, 09:02
There are no plans to make this a per forum option, or infact, any other alterations to it.

Hoffi
09 Dec 2005, 12:36
What about the recalculation of Reputation?

Paul M
09 Dec 2005, 18:06
What about the recalculation of Reputation?Erm, I don't understand the question.

Borgs8472
14 Dec 2005, 00:00
Hey paul, I installed just because I wanted to stop giving reputation in closed threads.

But I had to set
Closed Threads Limit
Posts in closed threads, that are older than this limit, cannot be given reputation. The value is in days - zero means unlimited.

to 0.000000000000001 !

Because I don't want people giving any reputation in closed threads!

Any chance you could have a 'never' option of some kind if you update? :)

Very minor thing, you had it defaulting to require a comment, I had to immediately turn that off, I suggest you default it to off.

Paul M
14 Dec 2005, 00:45
But I had to set

to 0.000000000000001 !

Because I don't want people giving any reputation in closed threads!
Anything less than 0.00001 is a waste as that's about 1 second :)

Any chance you could have a 'never' option of some kind if you update? :)Nope, those that want to do this can do it as you have.

Very minor thing, you had it defaulting to require a comment, I had to immediately turn that off, I suggest you default it to off.Not a chance - I don't think anyone should give reputation to a post without a comment of some sort, even if it's just a smile or a thumbs up.

Borgs8472
14 Dec 2005, 02:18
Anything less than 0.00001 is a waste as that's about 1 second :)
A second's too long :/
Not a chance - I don't think anyone should give reputation to a post without a comment of some sort, even if it's just a smile or a thumbs up.
Well that's a personal POV.

I use public display of affection, popular posts rack up lots of 'agrees' or 'disagrees' so with, some without comments. Anyhow...

I ended up having to uninstall this because some setting or other was stopping negative reputation comments show up in posts. This was possibly a conflict with the public display of affection hack I'm running.

Paul M
14 Dec 2005, 04:08
I ended up having to uninstall this because some setting or other was stopping negative reputation comments show up in posts.If reputation has been given then this cannot stop that reputation showing up - it can only change the value (at the time the rep is given [or prevent it being given in the first place]).


Well that's a personal POV.

I use public display of affection, popular posts rack up lots of 'agrees' or 'disagrees' so with, some without comments. Anyhow...
That's fine, that's why there is the choice, and your choice is to turn it off, however - the default will remain as on. :)

AWI
15 Dec 2005, 10:03
Much appreciated, installed on 3.5.2 and all is well.

Smiry Kin's
17 Dec 2005, 19:32
Nice release

dutchbb
17 Dec 2005, 22:12
very very usefull plugin

thanks a lot

dutchbb
18 Dec 2005, 19:26
Paul I have a question about this:

Higher Reputation Forum List
Any reputation given in the forums listed will be multiplied by the "Higher Reputation Multiply Factor".

Higher Reputation Multiply Factor
See above : Forums in the "Higher Reputation Forum List" will have any reputation given multiplied by this factor.


I want certain forums to have lower reputation value. Say I want those to have half the value of other forums.

Can I just set "Higher Reputation Multiply Factor " to 0.5 ?

If not, how hard would it be to include a 'Lower Reputation Forum List' / 'Lower Reputation Multiply Factor' ?

Paul M
18 Dec 2005, 21:16
Can I just set "Higher Reputation Multiply Factor " to 0.5 ?
Yes, you can set any value.

HeRCuL70
20 Dec 2005, 16:31
What about the recalculation of Reputation?
Yes, I have the same problem. If we want it must recalculate old reputation it should recalculate it after the installation.

I think you add this feature too, doesnt it? ;)

Paul M
20 Dec 2005, 21:54
Nope.

Hastin
22 Dec 2005, 22:23
Hey Paul,

I've got a question: Is there anyway to add to the plugins to make my Super Moderators also get the 'Admin' rep. amount? I want all of my Mods/Admins to have the same amount of power, and our users to have less power.

Zenith
24 Jan 2006, 09:34
I just enabled rep on a forum I've had up for 4 or 5 years. Had a lot of clowns deliberately searching back through year old and older threads taking rep from people they don't like. This hack solved my problem. Thanks.

kuro
25 Jan 2006, 09:23
Hello

I downloaded it and installed it,
reppower that setting is bad becomes 0.

reppower is displayed commonly when I turn off plug in.

If there is a bad place, please teach it

ver3.5.3
Enable User Reputation system yes
Default Reputation 10
Number of Reputation Ratings to Display 50
Administrator's Reputation Power 10
Reputation Power Cap 5
Higher Reputation Forum List 2,3,4,5,6,8,9,10
Higher Reputation Multiply Factor 2
No Reputaion Forum List 12
Open Threads Limit 0
Closed Threads Limit 0
Negative Reputation Multiply Factor 0.5
Require Reputation Comment no
Register Date Factor 365
Post Count Factor 1
Reputation Point Factor 20
Minimum Post Count 1
Minimum Reputation Count 1
Daily Reputation Clicks Limit 10
Reputation User Spread 20


It is the first time that I use a plug in system.
Is other necessary besides this?

ps.
I am weak in English.
Please understand that it is hard to read.
sorry
:surprised:

Paul M
25 Jan 2006, 10:11
Sorry, I don't follow what your problem is. Those settings all look fine.

kuro
26 Jan 2006, 13:24
Thank you for a reply.
I try to do my best by oneself a little more.

amadergaan
01 Feb 2006, 03:15
This is an awesome plugin....Lately there have been too much abuse in my forum with URS...and i wanted to have some more options....this is just perfect...

thanks man!

sinaluna
08 Feb 2006, 06:09
Hello

I downloaded it and installed it,
reppower that setting is bad becomes 0.

reppower is displayed commonly when I turn off plug in.

If there is a bad place, please teach it

I have the same problem. I am working in version 3.5.3 and have two boards. It works perfectly in one board. In the other board, the reputation power goes to zero.

I can only assume it has something to do with a different hack as that is the only difference in the two boards. I've not been able to find the exact problem yet.

Paul M
08 Feb 2006, 06:14
Well if you want me to have a look, pm me a user with admin access.

sinaluna
14 Feb 2006, 20:17
Thanks Paul, but this is not for my private board but a commercial one I admin, so I can't allow anyone else in. :(

I did find what was causing the error, though not a fix.

If I say NO to "Can Leave Negative Reputation" in the Usergroups, then the rep points go to zero. Change that to YES and everything works again.

I'd rather my users not give negative rep.

Any ideas?

sinaluna
14 Feb 2006, 22:45
Paul,

I looked at the plugin code for "Reputation Checks (2)" and saw this line (line 12):

if (!($perms['genericpermissions'] & $vbulletin->bf_ugp_genericpermissions['cannegativerep'])) $reppower = 0;

This looks like it says that if you cant give negative rep, set your rep power to ZERO. Which is exactly my problem. My guess is that if you moved check down to the end of the plugin, it would work as you wanted it to.

Maybe something like this:
// Negative Reputation //
if ($reputation != 'pos')
{
if (!($perms['genericpermissions'] & $vbulletin->bf_ugp_genericpermissions['cannegativerep']))
{

$reppower = 0;
} else {
$reppower *= -1;
$reppower *= $vbulletin->options['negrepfactor'];
}

For now, commenting out the line I mentioned above fixes my problems. Thanks for the cool hack!

Paul M
15 Feb 2006, 00:30
sinaluna - yes, you are right, that's a bug which I have fixed.

MythoLogy
15 Feb 2006, 22:59
*clicks install - exactly what I needed for guild families.

BigTrucK72
28 Feb 2006, 20:15
Does this hack give a user the ability to choose the number of points or is it a fixed total as dictated by admincp setting?

Paul M
28 Feb 2006, 20:57
Sorry, I don't really understand what you are asking.

BigTrucK72
28 Feb 2006, 21:07
Nevermind... doesn't look like there is an option for what I was asking...

On some forums the user can select how many points to give from a drop down menu up to the total rep points the user has earned. This way post scores can better reflect the content rather than some pre-determined number.

Edmund Tan
02 Mar 2006, 12:01
Hi, where do I upload the XML doc to my admincp folder? Exactly which folder? I am using 3.5.3

Edmund Tan
02 Mar 2006, 12:08
I wonder... Is it ignorance or stupidity? https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2006/03/25.gif







(sorry mates, couldn't resist the temptation :p)

Sorry i really do not know. You want to laugh I cant stop you.

Lea Verou
02 Mar 2006, 12:13
You don't upload it. You go to the plugin section in your admin control panel and import it, either as a product or as a plugin (I don't know if this is a plugin or a product as I don't use the modification, try both it does no harm). NO ftp involved.
Have a nice day. :)

Edmund Tan
02 Mar 2006, 12:18
You don't upload it. You go to the plugin section in your admin control panel and import it, either as a product or as a plugin (I don't know if this is a plugin or a product as I don't use the modification, try both it does no harm). NO ftp involved.
Have a nice day. :)

thanks. btw, i can accept your comments for my pure ignorance for which i really am still learning. Plain stupidity? I do not need mockery comments from you.

Nathan2006
08 Mar 2006, 14:53
Thank you these will come in useful :)

Install*

m_k
15 Mar 2006, 08:00
<clicks install>

just what I needed :-)

thanks for the hack

slank
28 Mar 2006, 16:44
excellent idea...nice work

Dsyn11
31 Mar 2006, 01:48
Installed! I posted a request, but maybe you can work with it:

I'd like to be able to have reputation POWER expire after X amount of time upon receiving it. This way people don't hoard them.

rareclownfish
03 Apr 2006, 04:35
What if you are using one of the old hacks for this, will it have any effects on it?

rareclownfish
03 Apr 2006, 04:58
installed thanks

masterross
06 Apr 2006, 10:41
looks like very useful hack i'll try it right now!

zweefer
06 Apr 2006, 23:36
Thanks, once again... This is one of several of your masterpieces that fit just what i need on my forum.
Please keep up the great work!

GoTTi
26 Apr 2006, 05:36
i entered a forum id to disable the use of reps but i still see the rep icon in the post bit. any ideas?

GoTTi
26 Apr 2006, 05:37
nevermind, id prefer the rep icon not be shown in the forum that i specify also. the icon shows but gives a error saying rep cant be left

Paul M
26 Apr 2006, 06:22
nevermind, id prefer the rep icon not be shown in the forum that i specify also. the icon shows but gives a error saying rep cant be leftI'm afraid that's not the way this works - and will never happen with this hack. :)

PersianImmortal
06 Jun 2006, 14:40
Great mod, very helpful thanks :)

I wonder if there's any way you could add the ability to specify different Reputation Quotas for each usergroup - in particular Moderators and Super Moderators.

That is, would it be possible to specify the total amount of Reputation points per day that members of a particular usergroup can have? At the moment VB only allows Admins to have a different Rep quota. I find that my moderators/super moderators need more than the default quota that all other users get (3 points on my forum).

FLMom
06 Jun 2006, 15:25
Thank you so much for all of your hard work!

/me clicks install

Sculli
16 Jun 2006, 05:24
Nice mod, thank you very much.
What would I need to change to only require a comment for negative feedback?

Milez
18 Jul 2006, 10:58
I would love to install this but it is a bit limited in its current form for me. A quick suggestion:

Reputation Power Cap - Allow this to be different for different groups. This way an Admin or mod can have more Rep power than a normal user.

Also do you have plans to port this to vB3.6?

Paul M
18 Jul 2006, 18:59
Also do you have plans to port this to vB3.6?Yes, but no functionality will be added.

lazytown
09 Aug 2006, 08:49
Any idea on when we may see this for 3.6? This one is necessary for me to upgrade. Thanks for the great work!

-vissa

lazytown
15 Aug 2006, 03:55
Paul mentioned to me via PM that this should work on 3.6 without modification (hope it's ok to repeat that). Has anyone tested it? I won't be upgrading to 3.6 until I am sure this will work.

thanks,
-vissa

Paul M
15 Aug 2006, 03:57
/me has tested it (on his 3.6 test site) ......

Roxie
15 Aug 2006, 04:07
It works fine on my site running 3.6 Gold. :)

kafi
26 Sep 2006, 12:51
Very usefull hack!!! Good Job!


Feature REQUEST .-) : - can you adopt changes so that users will get per Forum (groups) rep. points?
Example:

WEBDESIGN SITE FORUM will have these forums>
Photoshop Forums, Corel Forums, CSS Forums, PHP Forums .... so that we can specify which topic is user's best field of interest and profesionalism...

Paul M
26 Sep 2006, 20:50
That sounds like a very specific change for you, not something the majority need.

Anyway, there are no changes planned to this (esp as it's a 3.5 mod). Atm there are not even any plans to upgrade it to 3.6 as this will work on 3.6 as is.

Antivirus
27 Sep 2006, 03:38
Nice job Paul, it's great to see some added features for Reputation! In my opinion (along with User Notes), it's one of the often overlooked and features of vb. Nice to see an add-on for it.

kafi
29 Sep 2006, 21:25
That sounds like a very specific change for you, not something the majority need.

Anyway, there are no changes planned to this (esp as it's a 3.5 mod). Atm there are not even any plans to upgrade it to 3.6 as this will work on 3.6 as is.

I think chart with reputation given per forum would be usefull also for others. Your hack is very close to this. If you search vb.org there are some requests for this...

My community beg for it, but I am not a coder :-(

zylstra
09 Oct 2006, 19:21
I want to show reputation links only for the forums in which reputation votes count, so I used the following code in the postbit template <if condition="$vboptions[noreplist]">
<else />
<if condition="$show['reputationlink']">
Rep Link
</if>
</if>
but it didn't work. Any ideas on how to implement this?

Paul M
09 Oct 2006, 21:19
It's not as easy as that - you would need to add another plugin to the hack to check if the forum you are in allows reputation.

zylstra
09 Oct 2006, 22:01
Thanks, Paul. I think I figured it out. I hooked// No Reputation Link //
$flist = explode(',',$vbulletin->options['noreplist']);
$show['ratablelink'] = (!in_array($threadinfo['forumid'],$flist)) ? true : false;into showthread_getinfo.

Then I put <if condition="$show['ratablelink']">
<if condition="$show['reputationlink']">
Rep Link
</if>
</if>
into the postbit template.

Paul M
09 Oct 2006, 22:48
Excellent :cool:

imranbaig
27 Oct 2006, 18:13
does this work with 3.62?

Paul M
27 Oct 2006, 20:43
Look up a few posts ;)

Eagle Creek
30 Oct 2006, 11:08
Is there a vB 3.6.x version for this one?

Paul M
30 Oct 2006, 13:03
No, this works fine as is on 3.6

h2ojunkie
05 Nov 2006, 05:18
If you want to continue to use the VB default of negative reputation counting only 1/2 as much as positive reputation, you need to change the Negative Reputation section of Reputation Checks (2) to the following:

// Negative Reputation //
if ($reputation != 'pos')
{
$reppower *= $vbulletin->options['negrepfactor'];
if ($reppower < 1 & $reppower > 0)
{
$reppower = 1;
}
$reppower *= -1;
if (!($perms['genericpermissions'] & $vbulletin->bf_ugp_genericpermissions['cannegativerep'])) $reppower = 0;
}

I've only tested this on vb 3.6.2, so I'm not sure if it still applies for older versions

Paul M
05 Nov 2006, 11:45
I see no reason to need to change it, please explain.

h2ojunkie
05 Nov 2006, 22:56
If you set the reputation modification factor to 0.5 (vb default) so negative reputation only counts 1/2 has much as positive reputation.

Let's say a users rep power is 1.

Using your mod as it is, the following happens.
1st: reppower converted to a negative number (1 X -1) = -1 reppower
2nd: the negrepfactor is applied (-1 X 0.5) = -0.5 reppower

So now the system tries to apply a -0.5 to the users reputation. Except for some reason, when applying -0.5 to a users reputation, VB rounds it to zero, so no negative reputation is actually given. I couldn't find any code that was causing it to round to zero, but for some reason that's what happens. It appears that when it actually assigns the points to the users total reputation, it only factors in whole numbers, and does not round them. So a reppower of 5.5 for example, only applies 5 points to the users total reputation. Therefore a reppower of 0.5 only applies 0 points to the users reputation. What is weird, if you view the reputation comments in admin, you'll see it rounds 4.5 to a whole number and displays it as 5. But if you look at the users profile, you'll see that it rounded it down and only applied 4 points to the reputation.

So I took at look at the default negative rep code in functions_reputation.php to see how VB dealt with it by default (I'm writing this off the top of my head but I believe it went something like this):

$reppower = $reppower/2
if ($reppower < 1)
{
$reppower = 1;
}
$reppower *= -1;

So I took that and applied the same idea to your code except I added "greater than 0" condition because without it a person with a reppower of 0 would still be able to give negative rep to other members.

Paul M
05 Nov 2006, 23:20
Thank you for the note, however, it works exactly as it was designed - there is/was no requirement for it to work exactly like default vbulletin - I won't be changing it. :cool:

If you set the factor to 0.5 then it will almost be the same, the two exceptions being (as you have found) if your positive rep power is 1, then your negative rep will be 0 (not -1). The other exception is already mentioned in the notes (fixed Admin rep power). I will add another note to point out this small difference. :)

Chris-777
07 Nov 2006, 12:41
That worked! Thank you very much as always bro. :) Much appreciated!

Phrost
03 Dec 2006, 22:13
<if condition="$show['ratablelink']">

[/CODE]into the postbit template.

And if you wrap that conditional around the one that displays rep, you can limit showing reputation scores only in the forums in which it can be earned.

Paul M
12 Dec 2006, 01:58
Is there a vB 3.6.x version for this one?There is now ;

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=133775