PDA

View Full Version : Midnight Blue


Jeramy
14 Dec 2005, 18:15
This is my first style ever. I designed it for one of my sites and decided to release it for everyone. If there are any errors, let me know, and I will try to fix them as fast as I can.

I took a few screenshots of my test forum using the skin to give you all a preview. I included the PSDs in the zip so you can change the header and whatnot.

Please click Install (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=102957) if you use this style

History:
1.05
Added flat buttons through CSS (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=98141)

1.04
Fixed error with code display in lower resolutions with legacy postbit.
Edit inline moderation CSS to make it more readable.
Edited PM images to display without rough edges on the light background.

1.03
Added a few new CSS lines to make links on forms and in the body easier to read against the background.

1.02
Small CSS fix
Fixed hardcoded image paths (due to vBadvanced)

1.00
Initial release

eViL_sTiGmA
14 Dec 2005, 19:27
FIrst post yay!!!

Very nice dude, i like it

Injektilo
14 Dec 2005, 19:32
great skin :) good work!

Jeramy
14 Dec 2005, 19:34
Thank you both. I just updated the zip. I accidentally had the image paths hardcoded because of vBadvanced.

harpez
14 Dec 2005, 19:59
Very nice style! Will be a possibility when I eventually launch my new site :D

Lamby1973
14 Dec 2005, 20:58
Very nice!

Retell
14 Dec 2005, 21:07
very nice, good job :)

Sooner95
14 Dec 2005, 22:58
Very nice man. I have 5 styles installed, and i wil be adding this.. might even mak it the default.

Nice job.

nexialys
14 Dec 2005, 23:00
strange, we're two here to think that this "blue" is more a "gray"... am i right or my monitor have a problem ?!

Jeramy
15 Dec 2005, 00:35
strange, we're two here to think that this "blue" is more a "gray"... am i right or my monitor have a problem ?!

Well, it is a blue but I did use a very grey shade. If you open the PSD, you will see the palette is a blue color.

Yorixz
15 Dec 2005, 05:18
Very good job, thanks a lot!

Snake
15 Dec 2005, 18:18
Looking good. :)

Supes
19 Dec 2005, 10:50
This really is a top quaility skin :D

/me installs

MSheraz86
19 Dec 2005, 13:13
Awesome Skin, Well done!!

Though there is a problem in having the other view (avatar etc displayed to the left) whenever a code tag is being used there seems to be a distance from the first user's post to the others. Hard to explain it as I don't have the right words but please take a look at the following screenshot and you'll understand exactly what I am trying to say :p.
I'm not sure how to rectify this problem so could you please help me on how to fix it? :D

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/ (http://img338.imageshack.us/my.php?image=midnight9kr.jpg)

Thanks

Jeramy
19 Dec 2005, 14:51
Awesome Skin, Well done!!

Though there is a problem in having the other view (avatar etc displayed to the left) whenever a code tag is being used there seems to be a distance from the first user's post to the others. Hard to explain it as I don't have the right words but please take a look at the following screenshot and you'll understand exactly what I am trying to say :p.
I'm not sure how to rectify this problem so could you please help me on how to fix it? :D

https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/ (http://img338.imageshack.us/my.php?image=midnight9kr.jpg)

Thanks

The error is actually caused by the user's screen size, but I fixed it for you thinking most people run at around 1024x768.

MSheraz86
19 Dec 2005, 15:22
Could you tell me how to update the skin without re-installing it all over again please :D.

Btw, I checked by resizing my screen to 800 x 600 and it had no effect on the distance. I'm quite sure it has to do with the skin itself cause it comes out PERFECT on VB Default skin. Each time a code tag is used it always has that distance.

Jeramy
19 Dec 2005, 15:39
Could you tell me how to update the skin without re-installing it all over again please :D.

Btw, I checked by resizing my screen to 800 x 600 and it had no effect on the distance. I'm quite sure it has to do with the skin itself cause it comes out PERFECT on VB Default skin. Each time a code tag is used it always has that distance.

Well, it worked for me perfectly when I increased my display to 1280x1024.

Either way, to change it manually, go to Style Manager -> Midnight Blue -> StyleVars and then change the code block width to whatever number you want. (I changed it to 580px)

I don't know why it didn't work anyways. I didn't edit any default templates besides the header and footer, which should have nothing to do with the postbit.

MSheraz86
19 Dec 2005, 16:13
THANKS! :D That did the job!! I set it to 580px now it's all perfect :D

djnth
19 Dec 2005, 20:04
This skin is great, I was wondering about when I go to post a reply there is that same spacing problem in the Reply box, I haven't tried changing anything yet though as indicated above. Also I would like to have the width of the forum use up 100% of the width like the default skin does. I use 1280 x 1024 as my resolution if this makes a difference.

Jeramy
19 Dec 2005, 21:33
This skin is great, I was wondering about when I go to post a reply there is that same spacing problem in the Reply box, I haven't tried changing anything yet though as indicated above. Also I would like to have the width of the forum use up 100% of the width like the default skin does. I use 1280 x 1024 as my resolution if this makes a difference.
Is this happening in IE? If so, I know the problem you are talking about, and I have no clue how to fix it. Like I said, to make this style, I mostly edited the images and some CSS. I only actually changed two templates, so I have no idea why some of these errors are popping up. If a more advanced skinner were to want to try to help me figure out why there is that random space, I would be grateful. Strangely, not all instances of IE have this error because I have tried it on multiple computers. If this is not the same error you are talking about, it is new to me, and if so, take a screenshot and let me know.

To make it use 100% of the width, just to go to Style Manager -> Midnight Blue -> Main CSS. Then in the Body CSS (the first box) replace the "Extra CSS Attributes" with this:
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
padding: 0px;

I actually like the look of this, so whenever I update the skin again, I'll be sure to include an XML file for this version of the style.

Jorrit787
20 Dec 2005, 01:28
I don't get it... I followed the instructions in the readme file, but it didn't change anything besides the logo and the buttons :ermm:

djnth
20 Dec 2005, 01:47
When I changed those CSS attributes the spacing problem went away!! I actually like them set something closer to the default skin settings so I went with:
margin: 5px 15px 15px 15px;

I've also changed some of the buttons and gradients. I like a more subdued gradient and I'm not really into the standard drop shadow on text so I made the buttons smaller and flatter looking. I'm not done with the tweaks yet but I really appreciate the work you put into this skin, it is my favorite out of all those available for v3.5!!

Is this happening in IE? If so, I know the problem you are talking about, and I have no clue how to fix it. Like I said, to make this style, I mostly edited the images and some CSS. I only actually changed two templates, so I have no idea why some of these errors are popping up. If a more advanced skinner were to want to try to help me figure out why there is that random space, I would be grateful. Strangely, not all instances of IE have this error because I have tried it on multiple computers. If this is not the same error you are talking about, it is new to me, and if so, take a screenshot and let me know.

To make it use 100% of the width, just to go to Style Manager -> Midnight Blue -> Main CSS. Then in the Body CSS (the first box) replace the "Extra CSS Attributes" with this:
margin: 0px 0px 0px 0px;
padding: 0px;

I actually like the look of this, so whenever I update the skin again, I'll be sure to include an XML file for this version of the style.

Ben5150
20 Dec 2005, 01:49
I have a problem with this in the posting area the cursor is moved to the right of the panel any news on how to fix this ? Great skin by the way outside of this problem...
See attachment, you see what I mean :::

djnth
20 Dec 2005, 01:50
See the post just above yours, I had the same problem and got it fixed.



I have a problem with this in the posting area the cursor is moved to the right of the panel any news on how to fix this ? Great skin by the way outside of this problem...
See attachment, you see what I mean :::

Ben5150
20 Dec 2005, 02:00
Thanks got it See the post just above yours, I had the same problem and got it fixed.

Jeramy
20 Dec 2005, 03:04
When I changed those CSS attributes the spacing problem went away!! I actually like them set something closer to the default skin settings so I went with:


I've also changed some of the buttons and gradients. I like a more subdued gradient and I'm not really into the standard drop shadow on text so I made the buttons smaller and flatter looking. I'm not done with the tweaks yet but I really appreciate the work you put into this skin, it is my favorite out of all those available for v3.5!!

Okay thanks.

On another note, I don't mind if you completely take out all references to me in the footer, but I do not appreciate you rebranding it as your own custom design. I put a lot of work into it myself and don't see why you should receive all the credit.

I'll be releasing an update tomorrow with these new CSS attributes once I get on a decent computer.

Jeramy
20 Dec 2005, 03:09
I don't get it... I followed the instructions in the readme file, but it didn't change anything besides the logo and the buttons :ermm:

It looks like you merged it with the default style or uploaded the images into the wrong directory.

Jorrit787
20 Dec 2005, 03:54
It looks like you merged it with the default style or uploaded the images into the wrong directory.
I deleted all previous efforts and tried again, this time uploading the file to my server first, and it seems to work, thanks.

apollooooooo
20 Dec 2005, 11:11
Hey wondering if this is a problem with the style or something else.

Anytime anyone that uses Internet Explorer logs on to the site when the change page it logs them out again.

any ideas

Jeramy
20 Dec 2005, 14:23
Hey wondering if this is a problem with the style or something else.

Anytime anyone that uses Internet Explorer logs on to the site when the change page it logs them out again.

any ideas

That sounds like a problem with your cookie settings. I just browsed around my site in IE with no problems.

Lena Starling
24 Dec 2005, 19:08
This could be a newb question, but...

Whenever I try to upload the .xml file it gives me the "Invalid File Specified" error. What could be causing that problem and how can I fix it?

MSheraz86
25 Dec 2005, 15:39
Lena are you sure this is how u're importing it

Admin CP > Styles & Templates > Download / Upload Styles > Import Style XML File > browse (select file, Open) and then click Import

If that's not how you're importing it then perhaps you need to do it like that :). Otherwise there is nothing wrong with the xml file unless u're really importing the wrong xml file?
Hope this helps :p if not then do post back and we'll see what could be the problem :).

djnth
03 Jan 2006, 08:26
Sorry about that. If I end up using the style on my real site, I'll be sure to put your link back.

Okay thanks.

On another note, I don't mind if you completely take out all references to me in the footer, but I do not appreciate you rebranding it as your own custom design. I put a lot of work into it myself and don't see why you should receive all the credit.

I'll be releasing an update tomorrow with these new CSS attributes once I get on a decent computer.

Bellina
03 Jan 2006, 23:08
pardon my stupidity if that is the case...I am getting tons of red x's

Reven
07 Jan 2006, 13:19
Heh, you seem to have named your style the exact same as my own, here:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=98052

No matter though.

Marky
07 Jan 2006, 14:54
Nice skin :D
Fantastic First style ;)
Good job ^_^

Dr.Viggy
15 May 2006, 02:41
*installed

catastrope
29 Dec 2006, 18:01
I am really sorry if i sound stupid here!
but how do I edit PSD files?What do I do with it?
I am a first-timer, please help me...

Also let me know how can i change the Midnight Blue text at the top of the forum?

I really love this style...and I want to keep this...pls guide me

catastrope
30 Dec 2006, 08:13
please somebody help me out with my queries in above post...
awaiting a response...
also...i run the latest 3.6.4 version of VBulletin...
will this template run smoothly on that?

squalo
31 Dec 2006, 13:25
they lack the img

Pete C
09 Jan 2007, 13:03
This is a really nice skin, I wish I'd found it much sooner! In response to the above posts by catastrophe and squalo: PSD files are editable using Adobe Photoshop. Open the PSD with Photoshop, right click on the layer you want to edit (usually the text) and change it to what you wish. That's the best way to change the Midnight Blue text.

I made a few changes myself using Photoshop and some code I cannibalised from an earlier version of vB . . see the attached pics.

2nd, It works fine on 3.5x. I'm hoping it will work on 3.6 since I'm planning to make the upgrade pretty soon (assuming vB4 doesn't arrive in the meantime) lol.

squalo, the images are not missing. The midnightblue folder should be uploaded to your images folder so it looks like this: yoursite/forums/images/midnightblue. That way the images will appear :)

Many thanks to Jeramy, a great skin and not too hard to work with . . . hope it's available on the later versions.