PDA

View Full Version : Forum Quick Jump menu


tidy_boy
08 Jan 2006, 18:49
Hey guys this is my first hack I have made so be gentle.

What does it do?

This creates a drop down menu with a list of your forums so where ever you are on your site you can use the quick jump to go direct to the forum your want.

Template Edits: 2


/--------------\
|How to Install|
\--------------/

You need to go to your admincp > styles and templates > style manager > select your style > Edit templates > Header

Find:

<if condition="$show['popups']">
<if condition="$show['searchbuttons']">
<if condition="$show['member']">
<td class="element_control_nav"><a href="search.php?$session[sessionurl]do=getnew" accesskey="2">$vbphrase[new_posts_nav]</a></td>


Above Add:

<!--- tidy_boys Forum Dropdown --->

<td id="forum_options" class="vbmenu_control">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]">Forum Quick Jump</a>
<script type="text/javascript">
vbmenu_register("forum_options");
</script>
</td>

<!---End tidy_boys Forum Dropdown --->


Then go to admincp > styles and templates > style manager > select your style > Edit templates > navbar


Find:

<!-- NAVBAR POPUP MENUS -->


Add after:

<!--- tidy_boys Forum Dropdown --->

<div class="vbmenu_popup" id="forum_options_menu" style="display:none">
<table cellpadding="3" cellspacing="1" border="0">
<tr align="center">
<td class="thead" colspan="2" >Drop Down title</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]">Forum Index</a>
</td></tr>

<tr align="center">
<td class="thead" colspan="2" >Forum Title</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr align="center">
<td class="thead" colspan="2" >Forum title</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr align="center">
<td class="thead" colspan="2" >Forum title</td>
</tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

<tr>
<td class="vbmenu_option" title="Forum Name">
<a href="$vboptions[bburl]/forumdisplay.php?f=x">Forum Name</a>
</td></tr>

</table>
</div>


<!---End tidy_boys Forum Dropdown --->

Where you see the x you replace it with the forum id. You will need to play around with the code if you need more forums in the drop down its really easy.


Dont forget to click install


Enjoy...

Brent H
08 Jan 2006, 19:54
Good work :)

tidy_boy
08 Jan 2006, 19:55
Thankyou I am very new to making hacks hope people enjoy it

bashy
08 Jan 2006, 20:01
Hi

I dont need this but i will say well done, i really must read up on this coding lark as what you have done looks so simple (no offence meant) to do..

Well done m8 :)

Regards

Bashy

Red Blaze
08 Jan 2006, 20:02
Hey, looks alot better than the original jump menu. Too bad you gotta go back n' forth in the navbar template. ^^;

tidy_boy
08 Jan 2006, 20:06
I will be coding the new verison so when you add a forum in the admincp it adds it into the menu.

I have got a lot on at the mo so it will be done when i get chance :D


Thanks for the positive comments :D

Snake
08 Jan 2006, 20:09
Interesting!

/me installs

tidy_boy
08 Jan 2006, 20:43
Remember to click install :D

michaelbenson
08 Jan 2006, 21:28
I use something similar on my forums, but mine seperate the categories horizontally to save some space for users running a loser resolution, or more forums. Although this idea looks good too ;)

Reef
08 Jan 2006, 22:48
I will be coding the new verison so when you add a forum in the admincp it adds it into the menu.

I'll keep a lookout for this version. Nice work so far

tidy_boy
09 Jan 2006, 09:07
I have now moved a few things around to make time to improve this :D

Zia
09 Jan 2006, 13:12
Its Nice Really..

After installing this -Boards Forum Jump Menu Can Be Disable ??

As we have a bit long Forum List & sub-forum...
will it be okay ??

tidy_boy
09 Jan 2006, 13:30
Its Nice Really..

After installing this -Boards Forum Jump Menu Can Be Disable ??

As we have a bit long Forum List & sub-forum...
will it be okay ??

I dont understand this After installing this -Boards Forum Jump Menu Can Be Disable ??

Strat
14 Feb 2006, 21:37
I understand what he's trying to say, albeit with broken English. It's OK. :)

Yes, Zia. The regular Forum Jump menu can be disabled via the Admin CP.

vBulletin Options -> General Settings -> Use Forum Jump Menu. Set to "no."

Strat
14 Feb 2006, 21:53
BTW, I would really enjoy this hack, but in HEADER, I can't find the required text. Here's my entire (small) HEADER template.

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td align="center"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- /logo -->

<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output
<form name="spell_form" id="spell_form" method="POST" target="spellWindow" action="vbspell.php">
<input type="hidden" name="spell_formname" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="spell_fieldname" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="spellstring" value="">
</form>

Ideas?

michaelbenson
26 Feb 2006, 19:36
BTW, I would really enjoy this hack, but in HEADER, I can't find the required text. Here's my entire (small) HEADER template.

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td align="center"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
</tr>
</table>
<!-- /logo -->

<!-- content table -->
$spacer_open

$_phpinclude_output
<form name="spell_form" id="spell_form" method="POST" target="spellWindow" action="vbspell.php">
<input type="hidden" name="spell_formname" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="spell_fieldname" value="">
<input type="hidden" name="spellstring" value="">
</form>

Ideas?
You might have to make the appropriate changes in this case to your navbar template.