PDA

View Full Version : Approx style


mikaelweb
14 Jan 2006, 22:13
Here is the first style i made to vBulletin it is called Approx

Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
W3C Valid CSS

mikaelweb
14 Jan 2006, 22:15
First post is to me :)

mikaelweb
14 Jan 2006, 22:21
"Reply" buttons are spelt as "Replay". Which is incorrect. Here's the fixed versions.

Southpaw
14 Jan 2006, 23:31
Wow this is a really nice skin!! Good job!

evenmonkeys
15 Jan 2006, 00:48
Got a fan here.

bold
15 Jan 2006, 01:18
Beautiful! :D

BrandiDup
15 Jan 2006, 03:30
Good job!

mikaelweb
15 Jan 2006, 09:38
thanks you all

CommanderDEUX
15 Jan 2006, 16:32
Very nice style! You were missing a few images in the .zip folder, but it was a fixable problem *clicks install* my forum looks great now ;)

scabbed
15 Jan 2006, 16:59
beautiful !!

can you tell me where i can find the donna 2.02 font to translate the button

thanks

mikaelweb
15 Jan 2006, 18:31
here it is

scabbed
15 Jan 2006, 19:33
thx you dude !!

keep in touch ;)

mikaelweb
15 Jan 2006, 19:45
no problem

scabbed
15 Jan 2006, 20:08
just another question, how to use the template partners who is included in the skin

;)

?

mikaelweb
15 Jan 2006, 21:15
you can remove it

Snake
16 Jan 2006, 11:26
Sweeeeeeeeeeeet!

McJ
19 Jan 2006, 15:07
Sweeeeeeeeeeeet!

Greetings.

Awesome theme. Thank you! One question. How do I make the font in the actual posts bigger? Thank you again. :)

Ohiosweetheart
19 Jan 2006, 23:18
Greetings.

Awesome theme. Thank you! One question. How do I make the font in the actual posts bigger? Thank you again. :)

You have to go into your acp, bring up the CSS of the style and edit the font size there.

Ohiosweetheart
19 Jan 2006, 23:18
Mikael this is an excellent style... very nice job ;)

Neurotoxin
20 Jan 2006, 05:56
Noob here :nervous:

I've downloaded a few Styles here in the past day and I came up with this notification on my CP:

http://67.18.45.2/~stang/images/templates.gif
http://67.18.45.2/~stang/images/templates2.gif

I assume I need to do something here....can one you fine people help me out?

Thanks!

BTW This style is awesome!

mikaelweb
20 Jan 2006, 08:57
that is 3.0.10 style please use the style in this 3.5.3 and you donīt need to make any edits

McJ
20 Jan 2006, 19:08
that is 3.0.10 style please use the style in this 3.5.3 and you donīt need to make any edits

Minor prob.

When using expanded version (liquid) some pages have this right at the bottom of the page:

'// ++=========================================================================++',

Any ideas how I can remedy this? Thanks.

Snake
20 Jan 2006, 19:27
mikaelweb, I was wondering if you could create the default vB buttons to match this skin. I can't really say the current buttons are nice but I would like to have those default vB ones, if possible. :)

mikaelweb
20 Jan 2006, 20:08
Minor prob.

When using expanded version (liquid) some pages have this right at the bottom of the page:

'// ++=========================================================================++',

Any ideas how I can remedy this? Thanks.

in Admincp / Style Manager / edit templates / footer
Replace whit:
<br /><br />
<div align="center">
<div class="smallfont" align="center">
<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
$vbphrase[powered_by_vbulletin]<br />
Style Design By: <a href="http://www.resourcelabz.se ">Resourcelabz.se </a><br />
<div align="center" class="smallfont"><phrase 1="$vba_options[portal_version]">$vbphrase[powered_by_vbadvanced_cmps]</phrase>
<div class="amnesty_spacer"></div>
<if condition="in_array(THIS_SCRIPT, array(index))"><a href="http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=referer"><img
src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/w3cxhtml.gif"
alt="Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional" height="13" width="73" border="0" /></a> <a href="http://jigsaw.w3.org/css-validator/check/referer ">
<img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/w3ccss.gif" alt="Valid CSS!" height="13" width="73" border="0" />
</a></if>
<!-- Do not remove this copyright notice -->
</div>

<div class="smallfont" align="center">
<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->
$cronimage
<!-- Do not remove $cronimage or your scheduled tasks will cease to function -->

$vboptions[copyrighttext]</div>
</div>
<br />

$spacer_close
<!-- /content area table -->

<form action="$vboptions[forumhome].php" method="get">

<table cellpadding="$stylevar[cellpadding]" cellspacing="0" border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" class="page" align="center">
<tr>
<if condition="$show['quickchooser']">
<td bgcolor="C2CBD3" style="background-image: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/approx_bottom_bg.gif)">
<select name="styleid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'style')">
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_style_chooser]">
$quickchooserbits
</optgroup>
</select>
</td>
</if>
<if condition="$show['languagechooser']">
<td bgcolor="C2CBD3" style="background-image: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/approx_bottom_bg.gif)">
<select name="langid" onchange="switch_id(this, 'lang')">
<optgroup label="$vbphrase[quick_language_chooser]">
$languagechooserbits
</optgroup>
</select>
</td>
</if>
<td width="100%" align="$stylevar[right]" bgcolor="C2CBD3" style="background-image: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/approx_bottom_bg.gif)">
<div class="smallfont">
<strong>
<if condition="$show['contactus']"><a href="$vboptions[contactuslink]" rel="nofollow">$vbphrase[contact_us]</a> -</if>
<a href="$vboptions[homeurl]">$vboptions[hometitle]</a> -
<if condition="$show['admincplink']"><a href="$admincpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[admin]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$show['modcplink']"><a href="$modcpdir/index.php$session[sessionurl_q]">$vbphrase[mod]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$vboptions['archiveenabled']"><a href="archive/index.php">$vbphrase[archive]</a> -</if>
<if condition="$vboptions[privacyurl]"><a href="$vboptions[privacyurl]">$vbphrase[privacy_statement]</a> -</if>
<a href="#top" onclick="self.scrollTo(0, 0); return false;">$vbphrase[top]</a>
</strong>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</table>

<div align="center">
<div class="smallfont" align="center"></div>

</div>

</form>

<if condition="$show['dst_correction']">
<!-- auto DST correction code -->
<form action="profile.php" method="post" name="dstform">
<input type="hidden" name="s" value="$session[sessionhash]" />
<input type="hidden" name="do" value="dst" />
</form>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var tzOffset = $bbuserinfo[timezoneoffset] + $bbuserinfo[dstonoff];
var utcOffset = new Date().getTimezoneOffset() / 60;
if (Math.abs(tzOffset + utcOffset) == 1)
{ // Dst offset is 1 so its changed
document.forms.dstform.submit();
}
//-->
</script>
<!-- / auto DST correction code -->

</if>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
// Main vBulletin Javascript Initialization
vBulletin_init();
//-->
</script></td>
<td width="15" style="background-image: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/right.gif)"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/right.gif" width="15" border="0" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>

mikaelweb
20 Jan 2006, 20:09
mikaelweb, I was wondering if you could create the default vB buttons to match this skin. I can't really say the current buttons are nice but I would like to have those default vB ones, if possible. :)
i can look at this

McJ
20 Jan 2006, 20:36
mikaelweb.

That worked a treat. Thank you!

b/w this is an awesome theme!! one of the best I've seen!

McJ
20 Jan 2006, 21:19
mikaelweb.

A final quick question. I've installed this on vB 3.5.2, even tho this is designed for 3.5.3. Do you think that could cause problems with my database or anything?

Thanks again.

mikaelweb
20 Jan 2006, 21:45
i have tested this in 3.5.2 and did not found any problems whit it

Neurotoxin
20 Jan 2006, 22:53
that is 3.0.10 style please use the style in this 3.5.3 and you donīt need to make any edits


I right clicked and saved the "Approx.zip" file from the right side of the screen. Is that the 3.5.3 version? Or do I have to select something different?

Thanks!

mikaelweb
20 Jan 2006, 22:59
I right clicked and saved the "Approx.zip" file from the right side of the screen. Is that the 3.5.3 version? Or do I have to select something different?

Thanks!
that is 3.5.3 version

Neurotoxin
20 Jan 2006, 23:03
So I don't need to make any edits then. How do I get rid of those announcements then? Click "Revert"?

Thank you

Neurotoxin
20 Jan 2006, 23:06
I was just going throught the zip file again and noticed that there is a "XML" folder and a "XML 3.5.3" folder. I may have accidentily uploaded the wrong xml file. I'll check it out....

Thanks

mikaelweb
20 Jan 2006, 23:07
I was just going throught the zip file again and noticed that there is a "XML" folder and a "XML 3.5.3" folder. I may have accidentily uploaded the wrong xml file. I'll check it out....

Thanks
XML 3.5.3

Neurotoxin
20 Jan 2006, 23:10
Thanks......just one more quick question....what is the Approx +.xml file for?

mikaelweb
21 Jan 2006, 09:03
100%

Neurotoxin
21 Jan 2006, 15:42
Thank you

Snake
21 Jan 2006, 19:08
i can look at this

Wohoo! Alright I'll be waiting... :)

McJ
21 Jan 2006, 19:22
Wohoo! Alright I'll be waiting... :)

HI again mikaelweb.

I seem to be getting W3C errors. Could you take a quick look:

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tombraiderforums.com%2Findex.php

Thank you again for all your help, and your wonderful theme.

PyrOxide
22 Jan 2006, 17:10
Thanks I like this skin - using it until we get a custom made one done anyway :)

mikaelweb
22 Jan 2006, 19:16
HI again mikaelweb.

I seem to be getting W3C errors. Could you take a quick look:

http://validator.w3.org/check?uri=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.tombraiderforums.com%2Findex.php

Thank you again for all your help, and your wonderful theme.

In your foter template
Find:
<br /><br />
<div align="center">
<div class="smallfont" align="center">
Remove:
<div align="center">
Find:
</script></td>
<td width="15" style="background-image: url(images/approx/misc/right.gif)"><img src="images/approx/misc/right.gif" width="15" border="0" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>
replace whit:
</script></td>
<td width="15" style="background-image: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/right.gif)"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/right.gif" width="15" border="0" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>

McJ
24 Jan 2006, 00:09
In your foter template
Find:
<br /><br />
<div align="center">
<div class="smallfont" align="center">
Remove:
<div align="center">
Find:
</script></td>
<td width="15" style="background-image: url(images/approx/misc/right.gif)"><img src="images/approx/misc/right.gif" width="15" border="0" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
</body>
</html>
replace whit:
</script></td>
<td width="15" style="background-image: url($stylevar[imgdir_misc]/right.gif)"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/right.gif" width="15" border="0" alt="" /></td>
</tr>
</table>

Perfect. Worked a treat! Thank you again!

Hugh_P
25 Jan 2006, 15:06
Just to say that I and my users are loving this style. There were a lot of complaints when I moved from the Threads software to VB3 but since installing this style everyone seems to be enjoying it again!

DavidMendek
09 Feb 2006, 17:40
I got a little problem.
The size of some boxes are not similar.
As you can see in the picture. Can you help me pls? :(

Ninth Dimension
12 Feb 2006, 13:36
Fantastic skin, thank you :D

CrazyShooter
15 Feb 2006, 16:36
awsome and stylish

mikaelweb
15 Feb 2006, 18:23
I got a little problem.
The size of some boxes are not similar.
As you can see in the picture. Can you help me pls? :(
use the text files to update your templates

mikaelweb
15 Feb 2006, 18:23
awsome and stylish
thanks

mikaelweb
15 Feb 2006, 18:24
Fantastic skin, thank you :Dno problem :nervous:

Kanustep
26 Feb 2006, 12:24
Hi,

I love your skin and I installed in my forum, however it appears me and error when I add new categories and foruns.
I have transfer a phpBB board to vB with your skin and works great and seems great, but when I try to add a new forums and categories layout deforms.

I'm using version 3.5.4 with no installed plug-ins or code changes at all.

This is the layout error:

http://img125.imageshack.us/img125/6709/error11tu.th.gif (http://img125.imageshack.us/my.php?image=error11tu.gif)

mikaelweb
26 Feb 2006, 12:43
if you are testing new categories you need to do this

acts as forum NO

Kanustep
26 Feb 2006, 13:46
It worked, thank you! Sorry to bother you!

mikaelweb
26 Feb 2006, 14:45
It worked, thank you! Sorry to bother you!no problem :)

misticjeff
01 Mar 2006, 22:36
Great skin... Installed...

A problem though...

I have my forums installed in a different directory than vbadvanced

VBA 2.1
vBulletin 3.5.4

Last night I was able to get everything working perfectly but then needed to start over with a new install. Today the Approx style doesn't work correctly. The header does not show up on the VBA Portal Page but does in the forums.
Can you help me.

mikaelweb
02 Mar 2006, 00:15
you need to update you images path http://yoursite.com/forum/images

misticjeff
02 Mar 2006, 00:40
you need to update you images path http://yoursite.com/forum/images
WHere do i do that?

misticjeff
02 Mar 2006, 00:53
New issue...

Got the image thing resolved...

Now my forum home is messed up.. boxes are different sizes and the whole thing is over to the right with no blue showing.

I used the text files and replaced all the templates but still no good.

mikaelweb
22 Mar 2006, 18:36
what version are you using of this

nate247
22 Mar 2006, 21:44
Hi, sorry if this is a silly question but I am new to the vBulletin software.

Really love this theme and downloaded the approx35.zip, followed the directions in terms of going into admin then uploading it but unfortunately when I then change to that theme I have no images.....

Can anyone help please?

Remembering that I am new so make any instructions simple :) lol

Im using version 3.5.4.

Many Thanks

Nathan

mikaelweb
22 Mar 2006, 22:33
Hi, sorry if this is a silly question but I am new to the vBulletin software.

Really love this theme and downloaded the approx35.zip, followed the directions in terms of going into admin then uploading it but unfortunately when I then change to that theme I have no images.....

Can anyone help please?

Remembering that I am new so make any instructions simple :) lol

Im using version 3.5.4.

Many Thanks

Nathan

you need to update you images paths in your admincp what is you site URL

nate247
23 Mar 2006, 09:48
Hi, thanks for the reply, thought it may be simple (although I don't have much experience of the admin page as yet sorry) but the site url is www.dontfearIT.com.

I pretty much liked all the buttons etc, the only thing that I would like to change is the top left banner as I want to put my own dontfearIT.com image there.

Also is there anyway to make the forum a little thinner i.e not spanning the whole page?).

Sorry for all the questions but good work on the theme / style, prob the best I have seen yet!

mikaelweb
23 Mar 2006, 10:43
Hi, thanks for the reply, thought it may be simple (although I don't have much experience of the admin page as yet sorry) but the site url is www.dontfearIT.com.

I pretty much liked all the buttons etc, the only thing that I would like to change is the top left banner as I want to put my own dontfearIT.com image there.

Also is there anyway to make the forum a little thinner i.e not spanning the whole page?).

Sorry for all the questions but good work on the theme / style, prob the best I have seen yet!

Also is there anyway to make the forum a little thinner i.e not spanning the whole page?).

chance from 100% to what Ever you want 790 maybe

I pretty much liked all the buttons etc, the only thing that I would like to change is the top left banner as I want to put my own dontfearIT.com image there.
use the ps files to edit the logo

Nathan2006
13 Apr 2006, 03:59
Thank you mikaelweb

This is really nice :)

Install

Blue-Inc
13 Apr 2006, 19:17
This is the best skin I have seen in my life.. :cool:

NoMercy
12 Jun 2006, 16:05
great style thx

unknowngiver
19 Apr 2007, 23:52
Upgrade it for 3.6 please :)

cheori
20 Apr 2007, 14:12
I have no idea why, but my navbar disappears when I use this skin. Any ideas? I have no idea where to look to fix the problem..