PDA

View Full Version : Mini Mods - Smilie Category


beebi
05 Feb 2006, 13:44
Smilie Category

This is a port of this hack (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=65394), posted with the original author (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=8038) permission

Description
This small Hack helps you to organize your smilies in a better and easier way:
Hack Ported by: beebi

How does this work ?
You have to have to create multiple Smilie Categories with your ACP Smilie Manager. This hack will offer you a form select screen in your smilie popup window. So you can now easily choose from different categories.
The integration should take about 2 minutes and is very easy. But please remember that you need to have at least 2 categories created with your smiliemanager in your ACP.

Details
1 Plugin XML
1 Template Edit

Installation
1.Import The Plugin .
2- In Template smiliepopup

FIND
<form action="misc.php" method="get">
ABOVE that ADD
$new_smilies

Do you like it?
So click install (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=107196)

Ghanem
05 Feb 2006, 14:02
Thank you beebi, but I will wait untill the spaces issue solved :)

By the way.. does it support arabic characters..

Regards

beebi
05 Feb 2006, 14:17
yes just open vbulletin-plugins-smilie-category.xml
find
Choose a Category

replace it with what you want

Ghanem
05 Feb 2006, 14:33
Choose a CategoryI meant the categories them self..
like in your example:
MSN
Smilies
WelcomeSmilies

would it accept:
ضحك
بكاء
غضب

Regards

beebi
05 Feb 2006, 14:58
yes it's well be acceptable

projectego
05 Feb 2006, 15:07
Looks like a sweet hack. Nice work. :)
/me clicks install

sinoeu
05 Feb 2006, 15:14
Wonderful idea! But can we define seperately the number of displayed smilies in the popup window for each category? Because the smilies of different categories often have different sizes...

beebi
05 Feb 2006, 15:20
spaces issue solved

beebi
05 Feb 2006, 15:37
Wonderful idea! But can we define seperately the number of displayed smilies in the popup window for each category? Because the smilies of different categories often have different sizes...

I'll try to make it viewing 10 Smilie
with adding a button when you click on it you'll go to the next 10 Smilie
how is that

sinoeu
05 Feb 2006, 15:58
I'll try to make it viewing 10 Smilie
with adding a button when you click on it you'll go to the next 10 Smilie
how is that

The button idea is pretty good, but in my case the smilies of one caterogy are too large to list 10 while the smilies of another caterogy are so tiny that 10 is not enough...

And it will be perfect if you make the category chose into the default window not the popup, as today we are in a world of anti-popup envirenment :nervous:

Ziki
05 Feb 2006, 16:18
Awsome!This will make all easier
~Ziki clicks install~

Snake
05 Feb 2006, 17:02
Thank you!

Gizmo5h1t3
05 Feb 2006, 17:31
yep, nice addition here....good work!!

beebi
05 Feb 2006, 18:12
The button idea is pretty good, but in my case the smilies of one caterogy are too large to list 10 while the smilies of another caterogy are so tiny that 10 is not enough...

And it will be perfect if you make the category chose into the default window not the popup, as today we are in a world of anti-popup envirenment :nervous:

thats will be hard

and you can chose more than 10
it's just a number ;)

and The button idea

I don't think that I can do it without modifying the vb code

murrtex
05 Feb 2006, 20:39
installed thanks beebi.

Omranic
05 Feb 2006, 21:08
That Sounds Great
I used to port it to 3.5 but when I heared that you have it ported I stoped & have a wait till you get permision & release it

very thanks to you beebi & Pseudomizer

Gripemaster
05 Feb 2006, 21:40
Since I have over 500 smilies on my forum, I really really love this hack. Thank you! *Clicks Install* :)

Omranic
05 Feb 2006, 22:11
tested
installed
well done

beebi
05 Feb 2006, 23:57
thx to all of u

Alrasam
06 Feb 2006, 01:33
very nice my dear beebi

good luckhttps://www.vbulletin.org/forum/

Developer
06 Feb 2006, 02:34
thnx for this such a great hack
الف شكر يا ابو سعد هاك رائع بمعنى الكلمة

amizone143
06 Feb 2006, 04:25
clicked install works like cool thanks bro :ermm:

dano
06 Feb 2006, 19:04
Thank You!

islelove
06 Feb 2006, 19:29
Thanks beebi
Installed without any problem.

beebi
06 Feb 2006, 22:03
Do you have a donate link?
I really needed this badly and you got it out and sent it to me right away...therefore, I appreciate it bunches and wanted to send you a little something something.

do I
it's free for all

SaN-DeeP
27 Feb 2006, 16:55
works like a charm, thanks :)

CoreIssue
05 Mar 2006, 18:26
Sweet! Installed.

CoreIssue
09 Mar 2006, 19:53
Is there any way to adapt the category hack to the the shoutbox? The random smilie display is not popular.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?threadid=93097

Ziki
13 Mar 2006, 19:02
I have to uninstall it :(

rwoelich
13 Mar 2006, 21:16
Nice! I was about to make one of these but upon finding this one there's no need. ;)

This is just personal preference, but the dropdown looks a little neater if you place it into your table header. An image is attached so you can see what I mean. So instead of adding the $new_smilies before the <form action="misc.php" method="get"> when you do the template edit, try this instead...

Find:
<td class="tcat" colspan="4">
$vbphrase[smilie_list]
<div class="smallfont">$vbphrase[click_a_smilie_to_insert_it_into_your_message]</div>

And replace it with:
<td class="tcat" align="center" width="25%">$new_smilies</td>
<td class="tcat" colspan="3">
$vbphrase[smilie_list]
<div class="smallfont">$vbphrase[click_a_smilie_to_insert_it_into_your_message]</div>

Also, it appears that by default all the smilies show when you first load the smilie popup. The reason I was looking for this mod was so the smilies could be displayed by category and the popup wouldn't take forever to load because we have nearly 1000 smilies installed. If you want to set one single category to show when the smilie popup is first loaded (then the user can use the dropdown to pick another category), you can edit the plugin that was installed...

Find this bit of code in the plugin from your Plugin Manager:
if (!$_REQUEST['select_category'])
{
$select_category = $new_categories[0];
}

...and replace it with:
if (!$_REQUEST['select_category'])
{
$select_category = 'categoryname';
}
...where categoryname is the name of the category you want to load by default.

;)

Nathan2006
24 Mar 2006, 04:17
This is great!

Thank you beebi

This will make things a lot faster now:D loads of smiles - Lot less time to load :)

Install

ForeverForums
26 Mar 2006, 09:19
id love to have something like this for post icons.

sinaluna
08 Apr 2006, 23:13
Also, it appears that by default all the smilies show when you first load the smilie popup. The reason I was looking for this mod was so the smilies could be displayed by category and the popup wouldn't take forever to load because we have nearly 1000 smilies installed. If you want to set one single category to show when the smilie popup is first loaded (then the user can use the dropdown to pick another category), you can edit the plugin that was installed...

Find this bit of code in the plugin from your Plugin Manager:
if (!$_REQUEST['select_category'])
{
$select_category = $new_categories[0];
}

...and replace it with:
if (!$_REQUEST['select_category'])
{
$select_category = 'categoryname';
}
...where categoryname is the name of the category you want to load by default.

;)
Beautiful! This was my only problem with the hack. Thanks so much!

blacklancer
10 Apr 2006, 21:07
i am getting the following error:

Parse error: syntax error, unexpected '<' in ......\Forum\misc.php(488) : eval()'d code on line 1

any ideas??

akanevsky
10 Apr 2006, 23:08
I believe vBulletin 3.5.x has Smilie Categories by default?

Stoebi
13 Apr 2006, 00:06
I believe vBulletin 3.5.x has Smilie Categories by default?

Yes, but i like to select a certain smilie category via popup and select the smilie i need.
Hate to scroll down (2000 Smilies). ;-)

Can i select which smilie category should be visible for certain forums? I miss it so much.


Regards, Stoebi

Karri
11 May 2006, 20:53
This hack seems to have a small bug. It only shows even numbers of smilies per category. It looks like the bit else
{
//do nothing
}
}
if (sizeof($bits) == 1)
{
eval('$smiliecells = "' . fetch_template('smiliepopup_straggler') . '";');
eval('$smiliebits .= "' . fetch_template('smiliepopup_row') . '";');
}

from the original hack that this was ported from was left out. I replaced the last } in the plugin with that bit of code and now I have odd number of smiles showing again.

Stop
15 May 2006, 10:36
Installed and works fine.
Thanks beebi.

emtee
10 Jul 2006, 23:19
Thanks a lot beebi for this hack! :D

There are 2 minor bug in this hack though:

1) If the category name has apostrophy ('), the category won't be shown.
2) If the category has odd number of smilies, the last smilie won't be shown.

Karri,

Can you upload your plugin with the changes so odd number of smilies will be shown also? I tried to make the changes you mention but it won't work. I don't know why???

Karri
11 Jul 2006, 01:42
Try this, it has the odd numbers showing on my board.

emtee
11 Jul 2006, 03:02
Hmm I did the exact changes as your file and it doesn't work! I delete old plug in and upload yours and it works! Very strange!!!!

Anyways, thanks for uploading, Karri! :D

Karri
11 Jul 2006, 18:00
you are welcome :)

ashley53680
14 Jul 2006, 19:52
Thank you for that fix Karri...

I noticed a problem that any category with a "&" won't show. Is there anyway to get around this, I guess I could type out "and". LOL

dillon
20 Jul 2006, 20:27
Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I can't get this installed.

vb3.5.4
I try to import the .xml file as a product and it tells me to add it as a plugin.
When I click add new plugin there is no option to select this .xml file.

There is a text box for "Plugin PHP Code ". Do I copy all of the content of the .xml file and paste it here?

Thanks.

Mouse_cats
20 Jul 2006, 22:29
thanks alot installed and i want to tell you that i have tried this and it preview when u click on (more) but cant u let it be in the new thread template if yes please tell me how because this will be better.

peterska2
20 Jul 2006, 23:06
Maybe I'm doing something wrong, but I can't get this installed.

vb3.5.4
I try to import the .xml file as a product and it tells me to add it as a plugin.
When I click add new plugin there is no option to select this .xml file.

There is a text box for "Plugin PHP Code ". Do I copy all of the content of the .xml file and paste it here?

Thanks.You need to use the upload/download plugins option, not the add new plugin one. You can then import it exactly the same as you do a product (the import box is right at the very bottom of the page)

dillon
28 Jul 2006, 14:18
You need to use the upload/download plugins option, not the add new plugin one. You can then import it exactly the same as you do a product (the import box is right at the very bottom of the page)
Awesome, works perfect!

Thanks.

ComputerVitals
02 Aug 2006, 05:48
Installed on 3.5.4

Works perfect. Thanks a bunch!

Terminatoronly
02 Aug 2006, 17:12
uninstalled sorry not usefull

Karri
02 Aug 2006, 18:21
It is actually very useful if you have a large number of smilies. I have hundreds and it would take a few minutes to load them all each time the smilie window was opened if they weren't broken down into smaller categories and only one category displayed at a time.

Darat
08 Aug 2006, 11:36
I've installed this on a 3.6 forum and it works fine.

nix
09 Aug 2006, 03:10
I've installed this on a 3.6 forum and it works fine.
Great news. Going to try it on mine.

Ascor
23 Aug 2006, 08:30
installed on 3.6, works fine, thank you :)

outlaw621
24 Aug 2006, 03:55
Installed on 3.6 and working.

UncoderMom
24 Aug 2006, 14:55
I love this hack!! but I also have my smilies moved from the side to underneath. Is there any way to display this in the QR or where it says "more"?? My users cant find them. My some of my members have been thre for 2 months and are like.."where are the smilies?" lol.

This would be the GREATest in QR or "more"!!! Any ideas? I tryed toying with it but im not a coder and it wasnt enough to just place the
$new_smilies conditional [/noob]

Darat
24 Aug 2006, 15:14
I love this hack!! but I also have my smilies moved from the side to underneath. Is there any way to display this in the QR or where it says "more"?? My users cant find them. My some of my members have been thre for 2 months and are like.."where are the smilies?" lol.

This would be the GREATest in QR or "more"!!! Any ideas? I tryed toying with it but im not a coder and it wasnt enough to just place the
$new_smilies conditional [/noob]


I just added a button to the quickreply toolbar, I don't know if I found it on here or what but this is it:



Find:


<td><div class="imagebutton" id="{$editorid}_cmd_wrap0_quote"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_editor]/quote.gif" width="21" height="20" alt="$vbphrase[wrap_quote_tags]" /></div></td>
<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_editor]/separator.gif" width="6" height="20" alt="" /></td>

Add:
<if condition="$show['editor_toolbar']">
<td><a href="#" onclick="vB_Editor['$editorid'].open_smilie_window(smiliewindow_x, smiliewindow_y); return false"><img src="http://forums.randi.org/images/smilies/randi.gif" alt="Smilies" border="0" /></a></td>
</if>


Replace the "http://forums.randi.org/images/smilies/randi.gif" with the location of the button image you want to display.

UncoderMom
24 Aug 2006, 15:26
I just added a button to the quickreply toolbar, I don't know if I found it on here or what but this is it:



Find:


<td><div class="imagebutton" id="{$editorid}_cmd_wrap0_quote"><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_editor]/quote.gif" width="21" height="20" alt="$vbphrase[wrap_quote_tags]" /></div></td>
<td><img src="$stylevar[imgdir_editor]/separator.gif" width="6" height="20" alt="" /></td>

Add:
<if condition="$show['editor_toolbar']">
<td><a href="#" onclick="vB_Editor['$editorid'].open_smilie_window(smiliewindow_x, smiliewindow_y); return false"><img src="http://forums.randi.org/images/smilies/randi.gif" alt="Smilies" border="0" /></a></td>
</if>


Replace the "http://forums.randi.org/images/smilies/randi.gif" with the location of the button image you want to display.

Will this display the catagory bar for this hack...or just the default vb catagories?

Darat
24 Aug 2006, 15:34
It just pops up the smilie category window that clicking on "more" normally does.

UncoderMom
25 Aug 2006, 03:38
Thanks Darat! This is WAY better then nothing ;) I made my button red..they shouldnt miss it now hehe!

tobybird
05 Sep 2006, 13:29
This hack seems to have a small bug. It only shows even numbers of smilies per category. It looks like the bit else
{
//do nothing
}
}
if (sizeof($bits) == 1)
{
eval('$smiliecells = "' . fetch_template('smiliepopup_straggler') . '";');
eval('$smiliebits .= "' . fetch_template('smiliepopup_row') . '";');
}

from the original hack that this was ported from was left out. I replaced the last } in the plugin with that bit of code and now I have odd number of smiles showing again.


Karri, Thanks for that! I just noticed the error this morn and that fixed it! :up:

dknelson
05 Sep 2006, 20:50
Would somebody please explain this? Are we supposed to add the code to the product.xml file?

Karri
05 Sep 2006, 21:10
Try my version of the plug in from http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1026627&postcount=41 , it already has the change to get the odd numbers to show.

noonespecial
02 Oct 2006, 00:01
Does this work on 3.6?

DiverTree
03 Oct 2006, 00:53
Thank you!!! :) 1300+ smilies neatly organized. :cool:

FunaGuy
10 Oct 2006, 08:09
its working perfect with 3.6

Ev!L ErN!E
27 Oct 2006, 09:16
INSTALLED!

seems to be working well on 3.6.2

only problem I'm seeing is a delay if you move a smilie from one catigory to another.

snowlion
09 Dec 2006, 07:46
its working perfect with 3.6.4
thanks

CoreIssue
10 Dec 2006, 01:08
Never mind. :confused:

Cyricx
14 Feb 2007, 20:12
Nice! I was about to make one of these but upon finding this one there's no need. ;)

This is just personal preference, but the dropdown looks a little neater if you place it into your table header. An image is attached so you can see what I mean. So instead of adding the $new_smilies before the <form action="misc.php" method="get"> when you do the template edit, try this instead...

Find:
<td class="tcat" colspan="4">
$vbphrase[smilie_list]
<div class="smallfont">$vbphrase[click_a_smilie_to_insert_it_into_your_message]</div>

And replace it with:
<td class="tcat" align="center" width="25%">$new_smilies</td>
<td class="tcat" colspan="3">
$vbphrase[smilie_list]
<div class="smallfont">$vbphrase[click_a_smilie_to_insert_it_into_your_message]</div>

Also, it appears that by default all the smilies show when you first load the smilie popup. The reason I was looking for this mod was so the smilies could be displayed by category and the popup wouldn't take forever to load because we have nearly 1000 smilies installed. If you want to set one single category to show when the smilie popup is first loaded (then the user can use the dropdown to pick another category), you can edit the plugin that was installed...

Find this bit of code in the plugin from your Plugin Manager:
if (!$_REQUEST['select_category'])
{
$select_category = $new_categories[0];
}

...and replace it with:
if (!$_REQUEST['select_category'])
{
$select_category = 'categoryname';
}
...where categoryname is the name of the category you want to load by default.

;)

This hack seems to have a small bug. It only shows even numbers of smilies per category. It looks like the bit else
{
//do nothing
}
}
if (sizeof($bits) == 1)
{
eval('$smiliecells = "' . fetch_template('smiliepopup_straggler') . '";');
eval('$smiliebits .= "' . fetch_template('smiliepopup_row') . '";');
}

from the original hack that this was ported from was left out. I replaced the last } in the plugin with that bit of code and now I have odd number of smiles showing again.


With these two changes, this works great!! :)

Wolfegar
19 Feb 2007, 13:38
I have this installed and it's working great. There's just a few questions I have, which may or may not actually be related to this mod, but I'd like to know anyway. :rolleyes:

1. The smilies page that opens up after clicking on "more" is very small. What do I have to edit to make that window wider? Let's say, two or three times as wide.

2. Is there a way to get one or two of the categories to only display one column of smilies intead of the double columns?

3. Will there be a supported version of this modification for 3.6.4 that is supported?

Bree
13 Mar 2007, 03:31
*Installed* Works great, Thankyou!! vB 3.6.5... Always, Bree

Mrs.Winters
01 May 2007, 19:22
OMG! Thank you SO much for this! I only have 3 members as I'm just getting started, but two of them had been complaining of the the window flickering and crashing when they'd click for "MORE" smilies. I am so grateful that I searched and found this mod before I get a bunch opf members having the same problem. Thanks to Karri for the update for odd numbers of smilies. Everything is working GREAT! :D

Aimee1969
24 May 2007, 01:39
Question is there a limit to the number of categories that this will take??

ferocity302
29 Jun 2007, 17:58
for some reason this hack stopped working.

It shows as insalled and everything looks like it should be working, but the categories are not showing up anymore like they used to.

It worked great for a while but I'm not sure what happened now.

Any help?

ferocity302
30 Jun 2007, 19:26
Well, that will teach me!!

I will not be installing anything that is not supported any longer.

Uninstalled.

da420
30 Jun 2007, 19:32
for some reason this hack stopped working.

It shows as insalled and everything looks like it should be working, but the categories are not showing up anymore like they used to.

It worked great for a while but I'm not sure what happened now.

Any help?

If you upgraded, and had to revert your templates you will have to edit your template once again.

kb_mr
05 Jul 2007, 14:59
thx

Invalid ID
07 Aug 2007, 22:54
It's really great. But can you make it index the categories automatically?

Scandal
08 Aug 2007, 13:05
instaaaaaaalled! ;)

Invalid ID
13 Aug 2007, 18:14
Is this mod still supported?

Invalid ID
15 Aug 2007, 05:43
Some categories work, some don't

trulylowcarb
30 Aug 2007, 06:50
Went right into 3.6.8, THANK YOU!!!!!!!
**I also have moved the smiliebox to below as on here and it caused no conflicts, in case anyone wondered.

Tom_S
01 Sep 2007, 05:58
you have that working with 3.6.8 and no issues?

Tom_S
01 Sep 2007, 08:22
Yep..with some careful attention to detail and a few adjustments...sure does.

yoyoyoyo
11 Sep 2007, 15:03
Yep..with some careful attention to detail and a few adjustments...sure does.care to elaborate?

Tom_S
11 Sep 2007, 17:09
Nothing to elaborate on. Just read the thread and see what others did and pay close attention to what you are doing and make any minor modifications to where you put the code in your setup to suit you to work. Piece of cake ;)

yoyoyoyo
12 Sep 2007, 02:35
Nothing to elaborate on. Just read the thread and see what others did and pay close attention to what you are doing and make any minor modifications to where you put the code in your setup to suit you to work. Piece of cake ;)Oh, OK, I thought you had something new and innovative to add - I read through the thread and installed it yesterday and it seems to be working fine.

DiverTree
21 Sep 2007, 22:52
1420 Smilies on vB 3.6.8 ... whoohoo!!!!

princeedward
06 Dec 2007, 00:49
thanks for this...just found it...and it works without problem to my vB 3.6.8 PL2

;)

Here's What I Did:

Upload Plugin Via:

ACP > Plugins & Products > Download / Upload Plugins > Down Below > Browse > Import

Edit In Template: smiliepopup

Find:
$smiliebits
Below Add:
$new_smilies

Optional To Add Below Smilie Popup:

Find:
<td class="tfoot" colspan="4" align="center"><input type="button" class="button" value="$vbphrase[close_this_window]" onclick="self.close()" /></td>
</tr>
</table>
Below Add:
$new_smilies



73024

atlambros83
09 Dec 2007, 22:52
*clicks install*

so far so good on my boards...looks like it's running fine on 3.6.8 PL2 for me as well.

boatswife
12 Jan 2008, 20:13
*clicks install*

It's unbelievable that vb has not fixed the box staying open and it's not like it hasn't been brought to their attention either.

Thank you so much for making this hack! It's so easy and works wonderful in my 3.6.8 PL2 as well.

theparentpack
27 Mar 2008, 08:47
This hack was working previously and is not currently working on my forums. It is still in my plugin manager list. What am I doing wrong?

http://sonoma.ca.theparentpack.org

DiverTree
11 May 2008, 16:59
This hack was working previously and is not currently working on my forums. It is still in my plugin manager list. What am I doing wrong?

http://sonoma.ca.theparentpack.orgnot sure what you did ... make sure the edit in the smiliepopup template is there and upload it as a plugin, as opposed to a product. :)

this is working on my 3.7.0