PDA

View Full Version : Usergroup Color Legend on Index 1.03


GTAce
06 Feb 2006, 22:01
Usergroup Color Legend on Forum Index

This mod will add a legend to your forum index which will list the usergroups you choose in any order you specify. What I have done is taken this mod (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=104785) and rearranged things with a different look. Since I am not exactly one to package and release plugin's, this mod is more or less "hard-coded". I wasn't planning on releasing it but have had a few people suggest that I do so.

Live, working demo here (http://www.adminfusion.com/forums).

There are three versions.

legend_images.txt - Those with images in the column of the What's Going On box who also want a Legend image.
legend_noimages1.txt - Those with images in the column of the What's Going On box but do not want a Legend image.
legend_noimages2.txt - Those without images in the column of the What's Going on box. If you do not have column images (2 columns), you must use this version.


I've attached an example of each in order of listing above. The light skin is an example of the version with images. The red skin is an example of a forum with images but no Legend image. The darker skin is an example of the version without images.

I would rather not commit myself to official support of this mod, but will of course provide help when able to. It is a very simple edit, but I make no promises or guarantees that it will work with your particular skin.

As always, dont forget to click Install (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=107326) if you choose to use this!

Thanks!

P.S.
This is the first time I have ever packaged and released a mod, so I'm sorry if something is not quite right :speechless:

Version History:
1.01
- Changed wording in installation
- Changed formatting of html code
1.02
- Fixed collapse issue - the collapse icon now collapses the legend, not active users

GTAce
06 Feb 2006, 22:10
Also, the working demo shows an alternate image used to the left of the Legend. I chose to use a circle instead of a rectangle for my Legend image. You may do the same by editing the text below following img src="


<td class="alt2">
<center> <img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/online.gif" border="0" /> </center>
</td>

hiiped
06 Feb 2006, 23:56
nice work ...

markblair
07 Feb 2006, 01:28
Yes, this is indeed a great mod. Glad to see it here at vb.org as well. :) Good job Ryan.

projectego
07 Feb 2006, 05:41
Nice work GTAce, but I find amykhar's Usergroup Legend for ForumHome page (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?s=&threadid=92149) hack to be a little more organised as it doesn't require you to manually input the HTML hex color value.

Not trying to rain on your parade by the way, just making sure you're aware of some of the "competition". ;)

GTAce
07 Feb 2006, 06:23
I'm completely aware...I have actually installed and used her hack before ;)

At the time it was buggy...I think I was having groups displaying twice, I dont remember exactly...and I'm not sure that her hack is completely bug-free now. It could be, as it's been a while since I installed it.

Competition? I'm not trying to compete with anybody here :p

Whether 1 person installs or 100 people install, it doesn't really matter to me :p

projectego
07 Feb 2006, 12:34
At the time it was buggy...I think I was having groups displaying twice, I dont remember exactly...and I'm not sure that her hack is completely bug-free now. It could be, as it's been a while since I installed it.

Strange, I never had that problem with groups displaying twice before, oh well, no matter. And as I said before - please don't think I was attempting to rain on your parade, I'm always grateful when a new modification is released even if it's not the first of it's kind. No misunderstanding I hope. ;)

Snake
07 Feb 2006, 15:35
Nice work man! :)

Lineman28645
09 Feb 2006, 18:43
First one to install on my forums! (Note: I'm the one in the 2nd screen.) :) Great mod man.

http://www.postingworld.net/

GTAce
12 Feb 2006, 03:01
Thanks guys, glad you like it :)

terry123
18 Feb 2006, 19:11
looks great thanks. gonna install it.

Chris583
18 Feb 2006, 20:08
Im gonna install this on my board, any chance it could be turned into a plugin so that it automatically grabs the group info for color, etc. plugin perhaps, there was one for earlier version of vB but not the newest 3.5.3 i dont think,

great work though, im trying to figure out how to set it up all right, in the instructions...
<font color=#"6 character color code for Group 1 here">
<b>Group 1 name here</b></font> <font color=#"6 character color code for Group 1 here"><b>Group 2 name here</b></font> - Members

just wondering...the bold part of the above quote, should that be group 2? Or are you really supposed to imput group 1 color twice?? And than i assume for having more groups you just copy that copy and change the names/color :)

EDIT: I have it now setup at www.xbf2.com/forums
One more small question, is I am using the image version and how do you get the image workign to the left of the legend, the online.gif, which folder is that located in to upload one or so on...as it is not showing up.

Thanks alot, this mod rocks!
Chris

GTAce
19 Feb 2006, 21:07
Thanks Chris, you're right about the Group 1/Group 2 thing...I've updated the installation files with the correct numbers. As far as making this a plugin is concerned...I would love to do that, but frankly have never done it before. If somebody else would like to do this, feel free.

Regarding the online.gif image. Your style does not include this image, so you will need to use your own. Refer to this first post in this thread on how to do that. You could use this image if you would like - $stylevar[imgdir_button]/whos_online.gif

That is the same image that is used for the Currently Active User's box right above the legend.

Vitz
24 Feb 2006, 12:37
Thanks for this mod. I'm I'll be using it.

However, I found a little bug you might want to fix up in an update.

In vB 3.5.4, the button to collapse the legend shows up. I noticed it doesn't do that in 3.5.3. Now when you click the collapse/expand button, instead of collapsing the User Legend, it collapses the Currently Active userlist and leaves the User Legend untouched. This will look pretty weird once I've put my Currrently Active User list on the top of the page.

Just pointing that out for you. You can see what I mean here: Elusive Works (www.elusive-works.co.uk/forums/index.php)

Also, is there a possibility to make the legend inputs link to a list of the members currently in that usergroup? That would be a good addition in my opinion.


All in all, a great hack. Thanks :)

GTAce
25 Feb 2006, 08:16
Good eye...I've updated the files to reflect that fix. If you'd rather not download them again, make the following change

Change:
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_activeusers')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> Legend
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>

<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_activeusers" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_activeusers]">

To:
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_legend')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> Legend
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>

<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_legend" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_activeusers]">

As far as actually linking the group names to a list of the members - it might can be done, but not something I want to look at right now at 3:15am :p

Vitz
26 Feb 2006, 18:37
Thanks for the fix :)

Ev!L ErN!E
27 Feb 2006, 04:36
ok I've had a problem installing this... when I tried it, it made the whos online part stretch, and the first color wouldn't change.

GTAce
27 Feb 2006, 19:49
That's because the bottom of your index is not laid out like most others...you have two separate columns in each of those "What's Going On" boxes...

Post the code of your what's going on box here...I'll take a look at it...Might can do something about it, but no promises.

Ev!L ErN!E
28 Feb 2006, 01:27
no I have a standard vB 3.5.4 installed, the bottom of the index looks odd because thats what your mod did to it after I installed it, I took it off until there is a fix. Thats what I'm asking, how can I fix it from doing that to bottom?

thx

GTAce
28 Feb 2006, 02:50
You don't have a "standard vB 3.5.4" installed ...otherwise that would be the default skin ;)

Like I said, post your code, and I might can help you...otherwise, I can't do anything. This has been tested and works with vB 3.5.4

Hornstar
01 Mar 2006, 06:56
legend noimages made everything get stretched weird, but the one with images worked nice even tho im not using an image.

you can see it in action here http://www.gamerzneeds.net/forums

Plus I did an extra thing to it so when they click on it, it will take them to the forum leaders page.

GTAce
01 Mar 2006, 21:42
The reason it "stretched weird" is because your skin has images in that box...I should clarify the instructions at the top to specify that the noimages code will not work if your What's Going On box already has images.

Ev!L ErN!E
01 Mar 2006, 22:05
You don't have a "standard vB 3.5.4" installed ...otherwise that would be the default skin ;)

Like I said, post your code, and I might can help you...otherwise, I can't do anything. This has been tested and works with vB 3.5.4

that IS a standard vB 3.5.4, the only thing thats changed is the colors, its still the default style. No changes have been made to any of the code other then custom BBcode added. Which has nuthing to do with the Whats going on section.

Do you need the code for the WHOSONLINE part? What code do you need?

Ev!L ErN!E
01 Mar 2006, 22:07
The reason it "stretched weird" is because your skin has images in that box...I should clarify the instructions at the top to specify that the noimages code will not work if your What's Going On box already has images.

isn't that the same problem I had?

EDIT*
yes it was... problem solved.

GTAce
02 Mar 2006, 04:54
Right the standard/default vB skin has images in the What's Going On boxes - your skin does not. That's why legend_images will not work...you need to use legend_noimages, which I'm going to assume you've already done by your edit :p

Ev!L ErN!E
02 Mar 2006, 23:18
ummm no actually I used the legend_noimages fisrt time, thats why I had the stretched forum look, but then I used legend_images and it worked perfectly, you must be mixing the two around. lol

Anyway, it works great, thank you!

Mobilestan
03 Mar 2006, 19:03
help me !!
how i can use color for usergroup like this website :

http://www.rpgfreeze.com/forums/index.php?

GTAce
03 Mar 2006, 19:04
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=108910

Mobilestan
03 Mar 2006, 19:29
thanks dear

GTAce
03 Mar 2006, 21:27
Sure, although being called "dear" is a bit awkward :confused:

Kacela
06 Mar 2006, 13:42
Sure, although being called "dear" is a bit awkward :confused:Would you prefer "antelope"? :p

/me Clicks Install!

GTAce
07 Mar 2006, 03:32
How about.....Stag? :classic:

Nathan2006
07 Mar 2006, 14:40
Thank you installed and everything is working :)

GTAce
07 Mar 2006, 22:58
Cheers :)

BabyNameAddict
09 Mar 2006, 01:15
Thanks for this mod. I'm I'll be using it.

However, I found a little bug you might want to fix up in an update.

In vB 3.5.4, the button to collapse the legend shows up. I noticed it doesn't do that in 3.5.3. Now when you click the collapse/expand button, instead of collapsing the User Legend, it collapses the Currently Active userlist and leaves the User Legend untouched. This will look pretty weird once I've put my Currrently Active User list on the top of the page.

Just pointing that out for you. You can see what I mean here: Elusive Works (www.elusive-works.co.uk/forums/index.php)

Also, is there a possibility to make the legend inputs link to a list of the members currently in that usergroup? That would be a good addition in my opinion.


All in all, a great hack. Thanks :)

I am having the same problem. I can't get an image to show.

My forum: http://forums.babynameaddicts.com/forums/

My code:

<!-- Usergroup Legend by GTAce -->

<tbody>
<tr>
<td class="thead" colspan="2">
<a style="float:$stylevar[right]" href="#top" onclick="return toggle_collapse('forumhome_legend')"><img id="collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers" src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/collapse_thead$vbcollapse[collapseimg_forumhome_activeusers].gif" alt="" border="0" /></a> Legend
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>

<tbody id="collapseobj_forumhome_legend" style="$vbcollapse[collapseobj_forumhome_activeusers]">
<tr>
<td class="alt2">
<center> <img src="$stylevar[imgdir_button]/whos_online.gif" border="0" /> </center>
</td>
<td class="alt1" width="100%">
<div class="smallfont">
<div>
<font color=#FF33FF><b>Admin</b></font> <font color=#892EE4><b>Member+</b></font> <font color=#333399><b>Member</b></font>
</div>
</div>
</td>
</tr>
</tbody>

<!-- / Usergroup Legend by GTAce -->

GTAce
09 Mar 2006, 07:58
Change:
$stylevar[imgdir_button]/whos_online.gif

To:
$stylevar[imgdir_misc]/whos_online.gif

BabyNameAddict
09 Mar 2006, 15:09
Super-duper! Thanks so much!

GuaRRand
10 Mar 2006, 10:00
And what about subgroups?

When someone is in a sub usergroup they dont get colors.

For instance, i have all people in the main group "registered users" with subgroups giving them perms for other fora.
So all people will only get colors according to their main group...so all colors stay the same :(

GTAce
10 Mar 2006, 15:55
The purpose of this is just to explain why usernames are a certain color...If you have members in additional groups that do not change their username color, how are they distinguished anyways?

dcpaq2xx
25 Mar 2006, 02:11
ok I've had a problem installing this... when I tried it, it made the whos online part stretch, and the first color wouldn't change.

Group,

Im having this same issue and it has nothing to do with extra lines and images. Why is it shifting stuff to the right side and how do i fix this?

Doug

Update... Group I never did figure out how to fix this issue using the "no images" version, but I tried the "images" version like Ev!L ErN!E did and everyting works with no issues. But I dont want to have an image on the side of the legend, how can I get this to work without shifting the text to the right and still not have to have an image or icon to the left of the legend?

jeryp
27 Mar 2006, 13:28
I have it installed and its working fine for me.

Some users say they cant see colours in Firefox any idea? I use IE and i can see them.

Cheers
Jery

GTAce
27 Mar 2006, 19:43
dcpaq2 and jeryp, can I see a link to your forums?

dcpaq2xx
28 Mar 2006, 06:21
It wouldnt work for me using the "No Images" version, but when I used the "With Images" version it worked just fine.

I was just hoping to be able to use the one with no image, but I guess that it just dont work with it. Oh well, I dont mind the one with an image actually it looks ok.

Thanks for an excellent hack GTAce.

I would have been using Amy kahr's because her's is a partial plugin and it does things automatically instead of manually entering in the information, but I like yours better because it doesn't pull the info from the user group titles causing duplicate names to appear if you have more than one of the same user group name.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=92149&highlight=user+group+legend

If we could get your hack to be a plugin and do everything automatically as well as have some control over which user groups you want to show through the admin cp, this would be one heck of an awesome hack.

:)

Doug

jeryp
28 Mar 2006, 12:39
sure

http://www.battlefield-command.com/forums/index.php?

and here is a screenshot sent to me by one of the firefox usres.

http://www.battlefield-command.com/forums/images%5Cuser_images/314427ac8ed2991.bmp

GTAce
28 Mar 2006, 23:06
Doug: Unfortunately the code that I have will only work with the current set up of your What's Going On box. If you have images in that box, you must use the image version. If you don't have images in the box, you must use the noimages version. If the image is all that is bothering you (not the box), you could just remove the image code from it and have an empty box there... *shrugs*

I also understand your thoughts on the plugin aspect...I'd love to do that, but don't want to commit myself to anything. I didn't release this under the thought of it becoming anything but simple, more or less just a tip for everybody out there. If anybody would like, they are more than welcome to take it and make it plugin form :)


Jery: Not sure what to tell you, however I can say that this is not an issue with the Legend Code...as I cant see Usergroup colors anywhere throughout your forums. Whether on the index (Who's Online) or in the posts themselves.

dcpaq2xx
29 Mar 2006, 08:05
If the image is all that is bothering you (not the box), you could just remove the image code from it and have an empty box there... *shrugs*

Actually Im quite happy with the looks of it with the image.

I also understand your thoughts on the plugin aspect

If you should ever change your mind please do consider doing that. :)

Amy has a great hack, it's just that with it pulling the information from the user group titles and not letting me select what gets displayed, I just dont have alot of control over things. Those of you who have tried it probably know what im talking about.

Doug

GTAce
30 Mar 2006, 05:48
Well, the good news, Doug, is that I have added a new version for you :)

If you'd like to have it set up like you originall wanted, look at the second screenshot...legend_noimages1.txt will do this for you.

dcpaq2xx
30 Mar 2006, 09:16
Well, the good news, Doug, is that I have added a new version for you :)

If you'd like to have it set up like you originall wanted, look at the second screenshot...legend_noimages1.txt will do this for you.

GTAce I do appreciate your efforts but I think I like what I have now.

Unless you can take and combine your mod's features with amy's mods features, that is what I would use and that would be excellent!

There is nothing you need to do with her mod, its a plugin and you install it and add your color code right through the admin cp. But like I have been saying though is that you dont have enough control over things.

Example is this...

If I have paid subscriptions, and I have three subscription plans that are all named the same but different pricing and I want all these members to be recognized as the same thing (ie Supporting Member) obviously I only want "Supporting Member" to only show up once, not three times. This is the problem with her mod.

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=92149&highlight=user+group+legend

Doug

Bubble #5
25 May 2006, 02:19
There is a typo in the file. Change;

color=#"

To;
color="#

:bunny:

masterross
06 Jan 2008, 13:53
good mod.
but i see in your demo site that there is hyperlink that lead to usergroups members?
how u do that?

thx

gbox master
24 Jan 2008, 21:58
hi
i installed the mod and it shows on the templates
now my question is how can i add the team so they get the colors i selected for them

i hope some can post here a detailed explanation for this

thnx in advance

gbox master
26 Jan 2008, 18:12
mmm nobody who has team members on theire forum in colors
strange
but it seems that i am the only one who is making his team in colors

again a mod with no support anymore :mad: