PDA

View Full Version : Professional Names


TrueDeath
10 Feb 2006, 21:43
Professional Names

About this hack:
If your forum is aimed to look stylish or professional yet your staff or users insit to use their nicknames instead of their proper names then this hack is for you.

This is a simple hack which shows a users real name under their title in a professional style.

Features:
Show users/staff real names under posts.

Installation information on hack:
Files edited: 0
Templates edited: 2 (both postbit)
Files to upload: 0
Cronjobs to add: 0
Time to install: 2 minutes max

Instructions:
1) In admincp Add a New User Profile field
------------------------------------------
Type: Single-Line Text Box
Title: Real Name
Description: Please enter your real name to be displayed on the forum or leave blank.
Max length: 30
Field Required: No
Field Editable by user: Yes
*If you want it staff only set Editable by user no so it can only be changed in AdminCP*
Private Field: No
Display Page: Edit Profile
------------------------------------------
Now the Profile Field is made you need to remeber the field number, (i.e field5 = 5)

2) In template named: postbit
------------------------------------------
Find:
------------------------------------------
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
------------------------------------------
Below Add:
------------------------------------------
<if condition="$post[fieldX] != ''"><div class="smallfont"><i>$post[fieldX]</i></div></if>
------------------------------------------
Be sure to change the two X to your field number!

Click Save

3) In template named: postbit_legacy
------------------------------------------
Find:
------------------------------------------
<if condition="$post['rank']"><div class="smallfont">$post[rank]</div></if>
------------------------------------------
Below Add:
------------------------------------------
<if condition="$post[fieldX] != ''"><div class="smallfont"><i>$post[fieldX]</i></div></if>
------------------------------------------
Be sure to change the two X to your field number!

Click Save

4) Press Install on vBulletin.org

MAKE SURE YOU CLICK INSTALL! (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=103259)

TrueDeath
10 Feb 2006, 21:44
Question: What if i already had my members sign up entering their first and last name in two different fields?
Answer: Add this instead:
<if condition="$post[fieldX] != ''"><div class="smallfont"><i>$post[fieldX]$post[fieldY]</i></div></if>
Change the X to the field with the first name, and Y to the field with the second name.

Nutz
10 Feb 2006, 23:47
Great hack, good work :)

Thanks,
Mat

tehste
11 Feb 2006, 00:17
It looks strange to have a 'professional' name underneath a screen name like TrueDeath.

Tony G
11 Feb 2006, 01:25
Thanks for sharing your mod, could you place your instructions in a .txt file and attach it please? Makes it easier for members to re-install your mod.

BCC
11 Feb 2006, 02:09
This Looks So Much The Same As:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=93783

dirtycrow
11 Feb 2006, 04:16
what is i already had my members sign up entering their first and last name in two different fields?

hiiped
11 Feb 2006, 05:48
This Looks So Much The Same As:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=93783



nonsense

20 users can be "TITLED" DEVELOPER, or HACKER, or CHIEFS

but with this its a million to 1 shot if theres two Harry J Porter ( Professional Names ) is on the same forum

TrueDeath
11 Feb 2006, 15:41
Thanks for sharing your mod, could you place your instructions in a .txt file and attach it please? Makes it easier for members to re-install your mod.

Are you unable to see the ReadMe.txt? :ermm:

TrueDeath
11 Feb 2006, 15:45
what is i already had my members sign up entering their first and last name in two different fields?

Then add this instead:

<if condition="$post[fieldX] != ''"><div class="smallfont"><i>$post[fieldX]$post[fieldY]</i></div></if>

Change the X to the field with the first name, and Y to the field with the second name.

Ohiosweetheart
11 Feb 2006, 16:12
I LIKE this!

TrueDeath
11 Feb 2006, 17:02
FAQ updated

I LIKE this!
Glad you like, dont forget to press install if you install it :)

Tony G
12 Feb 2006, 02:23
Are you unable to see the ReadMe.txt? :ermm:

Maybe I missed it before. Sorry.

apfparadise
12 Feb 2006, 04:31
Great hack, now how do we do 2 things:

1. Put it into Registration form, mandatory
2. Make existing users have to fill it out on next sign on

TrueDeath
12 Feb 2006, 17:16
Great hack, now how do we do 2 things:

1. Put it into Registration form, mandatory

Make the profile Field Required = Yes

quanvo81
13 Feb 2006, 00:32
It's a good one, but I think running too many queries in a large thread is good.
Anyway, it's a great idea and nice hack.

hiiped
13 Feb 2006, 00:49
It's a good one, but I think running too many queries in a large thread is good.
Anyway, it's a great idea and nice hack.

???????????

TrueDeath
13 Feb 2006, 00:59
It's a good one, but I think running too many queries in a large thread is good.
Anyway, it's a great idea and nice hack.

Its just the same as postcount or any other postbit hack you install :P.

Renada
04 Mar 2006, 00:02
Hi,

Can this be used to replace the user name with the real name? If so, how could I do that?

Thanks,
Renada

Xplorer4x4
04 Mar 2006, 01:27
nonsense

20 users can be "TITLED" DEVELOPER, or HACKER, or CHIEFS

but with this its a million to 1 shot if theres two Harry J Porter ( Professional Names ) is on the same forum
How is it nonsense? You enter a custom staff title on that hack and turn it on and off by user. You can also add HTML mark up to it.

I apreciate the work but I will stick with Liveweires hack.

dcarr
04 Mar 2006, 03:04
Why, on every page of this thread, do I receive a password popup box asking me to connect to www.truedeath.co.uk? It's a regular user/pass box...and its only on the pages of this thread.

CAMS
04 Mar 2006, 15:30
Why, on every page of this thread, do I receive a password popup box asking me to connect to www.truedeath.co.uk? It's a regular user/pass box...and its only on the pages of this thread.


you mean this... yep its a weird one lol

Princeton
04 Mar 2006, 15:45
it appears that TrueDeath has "disabled" access to an image on his sig -- his sig needs to be edited

TrueDeath
04 Mar 2006, 16:48
Sorry guys sorted it lol (forgot about my site restriction i had temp placed)

Cagonni
22 May 2006, 14:51
installed.

Mobo
07 Jun 2009, 23:44
Does this work on vB 3.5.4? I've done the hacks and see no changes on my forums. I'd love to have this work.

HMBeaty
08 Jun 2009, 00:12
Does this work on vB 3.5.4? I've done the hacks and see no changes on my forums. I'd love to have this work.
I don't see why it wouldn't work. All it is is a couple of basic template conditionals

Mobo
08 Jun 2009, 02:00
That's what I thought too, but it's not working on my site (http://www.gamershavenco.com)

HMBeaty
08 Jun 2009, 02:20
Works perfectly fine on mine. Make sure you are using the correct postbit, style, and profile field

Mobo
08 Jun 2009, 14:49
Yep, it was only working in one style... the one I was not using. Thanks!!