PDA

View Full Version : Side Menu


Developer
13 Feb 2006, 15:39
Side Menu
[Original Code By DynamicDrive.com (www.DynamicDrive.com) i've only edit colors and links]
Description::.
This Modifications shows a floating side menu in the left of your forum
this is famous but i didn't find it here.
[Features::.
1-easy yo install
[See Screen Shots]
Admin Controllable
edit ssmItems.js for editng colors and links for you menu]
Installation::.
1-upload ssmItems.js and ssm.js to your forum directory.
2-Edit Template header
at the top of the template add
<style type="text/css">
<!--
A.ssmItems:link {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
A.ssmItems:hover {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
A.ssmItems:active {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
A.ssmItems:visited {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
//-->
</style>

<SCRIPT SRC="ssm.js" language="JavaScript1.2">
//Dynamic-FX slide in menu v6.5 (By maXimus, http://maximus.ravecore.com/)
//Updated July 8th, 03' for doctype bug
//For full source, and 100's more DHTML scripts, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com
//Puplished For VB By Developer
</SCRIPT>

<SCRIPT SRC="ssmItems.js" language="JavaScript1.2"></SCRIPT>
History::.
1.0 On 13. Feb 2006 Initial Version.
Donation::.
Feel Free To https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2010/09/1.gif (https://www.paypal.com/cgi-bin/webscr?cmd=_xclick&business=filmahosting%40gmail%2ecom&item_name=DEVELOPER&item_number=1&no_shipping=0&no_note=1&tax=0&currency_code=USD&bn=PP%2dDonationsBF&charset=UTF%2d8)
aT lAsT::.
IF YOu lIkE iT cLIcK INSTALL
vbulletin.orghttps://www.vbulletin.org/forum/ (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=107875)

Lineman28645
13 Feb 2006, 15:41
First to install. Nice

Developer
13 Feb 2006, 15:41
you're so quick:)

Allan
13 Feb 2006, 16:38
Work perfectly, thanks Developper, good job ;)

Click Install :)

sensimilla
13 Feb 2006, 17:12
Nice hack :) how do I edit that java menu ?

bashy
13 Feb 2006, 17:46
Dont appear to be working in IE but is ok in Firefox??
Any ideas?

Snake
13 Feb 2006, 18:16
Thanks!

Developer
13 Feb 2006, 18:35
Nice hack :) how do I edit that java menu ?
as i said
edit ssmItems.js for editng colors and links for you menu

Developer
13 Feb 2006, 18:38
Dont appear to be working in IE but is ok in Firefox??
Any ideas?
Works fine with me :) IN IE, FF And NS

XanTrax
13 Feb 2006, 19:10
Yes now I can do the expandable/collapsable java IRC implementation. Thank you so much.

AraServ
13 Feb 2006, 20:33
ohhh .. cooooL

AshokForums.com
14 Feb 2006, 00:03
Thanks for this.. Its seems cool.. lemme try it out.. Installed

exilera
14 Feb 2006, 00:10
Quick question. How do you set the menu so links 'do not' open in a new browser window?

Rich
14 Feb 2006, 00:59
Hello,

Remove the target field.

In the menu items java script, it is the last line. Make it look like this:


ssmItems[5]=["Sponsorships", "http://www.herpcenter.com/index.php?page=Sponsorship", ""]


I have been using this EXACT menu on my site now for roughly 5 months. lol If i wasn't already using it, I would click install. lol

TTG
14 Feb 2006, 01:49
would be good to have an option to allow members to turn it on / off

Hornstar
14 Feb 2006, 08:12
Very impressive ^^ I like this, will use this

thanks

sensimilla
14 Feb 2006, 08:41
would be good to have an option to allow members to turn it on / off


Just add child style to your forum style and let the members choose it.. :smoke:

Phlex
14 Feb 2006, 12:15
would be good to have an option to allow members to turn it on / off
or add something like this
<if condition="$vbulletin->userinfo['field13'] == 'enabeld'">

Allan
14 Feb 2006, 23:45
or add something like this
<if condition="$vbulletin->userinfo['field13'] == 'enabeld'">
developped please ^^

Allan
14 Feb 2006, 23:49
<IMG> tag supported. Put exact html for an image to show.


An example please :)

Cyricx
26 Feb 2006, 00:36
Is there a way to use this with dropdown menus? :)

exilera
02 Mar 2006, 20:33
An example please :)

Yes, an example would be good. I can't figure out how to add the images :)

Allan
02 Mar 2006, 20:50
yep :D:D

ronoxQ
15 Mar 2006, 02:33
Any way to have another one like this on the right side of the screen?

Catsgot9
15 Mar 2006, 06:26
how do u edit the menu? there is nothing in the admin cp...
do we have to go in the file on the server and edit it in notepad?

Catsgot9

exilera
15 Mar 2006, 23:24
how do u edit the menu? there is nothing in the admin cp...
do we have to go in the file on the server and edit it in notepad?

Catsgot9

Yes...

exilera
15 Mar 2006, 23:25
Is there any way to add submenu flyouts?

lovevn
08 Apr 2006, 09:26
Hi,
How do I change it to right side of my website?
Thanks

tei727
22 Apr 2006, 16:41
Is there a way to make the links open in the same window? Thanks.

Tyegurl
30 Apr 2006, 05:17
http://astro.phpwebhosting.com/~a206/dynamicdrive/ssmr.js
http://astro.phpwebhosting.com/~a206/dynamicdrive/ssmItems.js

is on the right side...but i tried like crazy to get both left and right to no avail :(

Tyegurl
30 Apr 2006, 05:21
Is there a way to make the links open in the same window? Thanks.

in your ssmItems.js

ssmItems[#]=["LinkName", "http://www.site.com/page.php", ""]

melefire
09 May 2006, 21:13
would be good to have an option to allow members to turn it on / off
i agree

Tyegurl
06 Jul 2006, 20:04
doesn't work on test forum 3.6.0 beta 4

at least i couldn't get it...

lanc3lot
07 Jul 2006, 10:48
Developer can u please add the option to allow members to turn it on / off ? With this, is perfect :)

Draygonia
02 Aug 2006, 04:34
Ill install anyways, but it would be nice to have an on/off feature

radarhunter
26 Oct 2006, 17:44
will this mod work on 3.6.2 ?????

Barakat
29 Oct 2006, 02:16
installed also from some where else yesterday ......

thanks for release it here .

i want it to work on a rigth to left forum coz it makes some problems with my style by the way ....:up:

majoreyeswater
01 Nov 2006, 21:34
Is there anyway to have the menu only show if a user is logged in? Currently it is viewable by guests as well on my site...

shunx91
10 Nov 2006, 03:08
Hi,

I'm also curious as to whether or not this will work for vb 3.6.2 or 3.6.3. It looks like an awesome hack and it'll definintely improve the user interface of the forum.

radarhunter
10 Nov 2006, 11:22
it will work perfectly re don`t worry

my forum is on 3.6.3 and it works there nicely.


As far as i see this script has nothing to do with the new or the old version it has it`s own working.

4Prometheus
22 Nov 2006, 01:32
WoW.. Thanks but...NO!
Atleast you gave them credit..lol...I guess.....lol...

Veer
08 Dec 2006, 17:52
Clicks *Install*

doesn't work on vb 3.6.0 :(

Please update it as soon as possible, thanks

taydu
16 Dec 2006, 18:36
nice installed, how could i add sub menu this this great mod ?

thanks

kylek
07 Jan 2007, 07:11
Anyone know how to get this to work on vbadvanced portal and photopost gallery? Otherwise works great on 3.6.4.

Veer
10 Mar 2007, 12:35
doesn't work on vb 3.6.5 :(

Stop
12 Mar 2007, 20:26
It does work with me on 3.6.5

King Sawaryn
13 Jul 2007, 02:54
ssmItems.js doesn't seem to open for me. Is there a problem or what's the deal here?

ptmuldoon
15 Oct 2008, 19:48
Digging up an old post here.

Does anyone know if this mod/hack works with the latest 3.7 version? I may be brushing off my license for a new site.

TheLastSuperman
19 Oct 2008, 22:38
Yes it should (3.7)! Surprisingly I implemented on a forum I work on earlier this year(3.6.8), I had no knowledge of this being made into a mod until just now which was kind of neat to see ;)

Basically you can find it and the same instructions via the Dynamic Drive link above. It is just a simple template edit, all the customization of links is made in the ssitems.js. So basically he used their exact files and told you all how to do it, which is what he meant by all the original code is from DD ;) when all you had to do was visit DD and do a few simple edits yourself to test and implement all kinds of neat stuff!

S-MAN

ptmuldoon
21 Oct 2008, 18:34
Thanks

Also, if it helps, I found what I think may be a better menu to use here:

http://www.andrewsellick.com/53/sliding-menu-revisited

It seems easier to manipulate, where you can setup dynamic links much easier, such as user profile links, etc.

Sgt Pepper
28 Oct 2008, 08:09
When i put the code in header, it makes my forum all weird. Everything on it goes except for the background colour. Im using 3.6.8 btw. Help would be greatly appreciated.

Sgt Pepper
30 Oct 2008, 05:39
Plz i really need help. i want to install this so much

TheLastSuperman
31 Oct 2008, 21:17
Plz i really need help. i want to install this so much

I'll have an answer for you this Saturday Sgt Pepper, in fact I'll just make a tutorial for this mod and post ;)

S-MAN

TheLastSuperman
31 Oct 2008, 21:37
Actually I have a few minutes now :D

Download the current version of the menu here --> http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex1/davidmenu.htm

1. Download the file "Menu.zip" via the blue download link.
2. Upload the two files "ssm.js" and "ssmItems.js" to your forum directory.
3. Add the code snippet on that page into your "Header" template i.e.

Find:

<!-- Header -->

OR @ the top of your header before anything else...

ADD:

<style type="text/css">
<!--
A.ssmItems:link {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
A.ssmItems:hover {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
A.ssmItems:active {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
A.ssmItems:visited {color:black;text-decoration:none;}
//-->
</style>

<SCRIPT SRC="ssm.js" language="JavaScript1.2">

//Dynamic-FX slide in menu v6.5 (By maXimus, http://maximus.ravecore.com/)
//Updated July 8th, 03' for doctype bug
//For full source, and 100's more DHTML scripts, visit http://www.dynamicdrive.com

</SCRIPT>

<SCRIPT SRC="ssmItems.js" language="JavaScript1.2"></SCRIPT>


Now, all the customization is done via editing "ssmItems.js" And simply follow the instructions Dynamic Drive has provided! After your done just re-upload the file and presto-chango.... Side Menu ;)
- Links, view the current ones... copy & paste to achieve more etc.
- Check the attributes out and modify as you see fit to get different colors etc... the X/Y Offset plays a role in positioning etc.
- I have NEVER gotten the image <img> thing-a-ma-bob to work... if you do PM ASAP ;)

I just threw up the original files here for a Demo to show it works -->
DEMO: http://www.tournamentgamingworld.com/online/view.php?pg=vborgsidemenudemo

I will leave that up for reference ;) however it was not made by editing the Header Template so you can literally place it in any template to display where you want it!

Additionally you can tinker w/ the other file to achieve different effects but read DD's info and all should be good!

Hope that helps!

Please use the links I have provided, the author uploaded the menu.zip but it is against DD's Terms of Service / Use so therefor this should actually be a closed or deleted thread however I have put the CREDIT where it is due more so than the original author and followed all DD's guidelines for use SO we should technically be fine now IF you use the links I provided which has extra instructions to boot ;).

S-MAN

Sgt Pepper
01 Nov 2008, 07:20
Btw im trying to use it on 3.6.8 Another Guy i know got it to work on his......unless u know another link for one for 3.6.8?

TheLastSuperman
01 Nov 2008, 15:31
The two .js files are in the actual folder for your forum correct? MAKE sure they are in the same folder as your index.php !

AND you placed the code in the header template?

Besides that I just don't understand why it's not working, unless you want to give me access to your FTP and admincp to confirm but over a simple code like this I would not advise ;) (Although I trust myself lol you know what I mean) but PM me.

S-MAN

TheLastSuperman
02 Nov 2008, 01:21
I also made another menu from DD work, preview here --> http://www.tournamentgamingworld.com/online/forumdisplay.php?f=21

Very top ;)

Still needs work though :D

jadooger
13 Aug 2010, 04:43
Bro I Want Music In Side menu Like THis
So How To Put Check Images
1:http://lets-rock.org/pic/11111.gif
2:http://lets-rock.org/pic/1111.gif


I Want Mp3 Music IN Manu:D