PDA

View Full Version : 3.6 Heavy Metal


Roms
14 Jun 2006, 02:24
:cool: Heavy Metal Style

Includes JPeg's, Font, PSD's for the header, footer, and custom buttons. Includes new buttons.

This style is free as long as it retains the "Copyright/Designed by" notice at the bottom, contact me for removal (a very small donation).

Upload the folder named heavy_metal to your vb/images directory.
Go to your Admin CP, Styles and Templates, Download/Upload Styles. Then browse to the folder you extracted the zip to and select the heavy_metal6_style.xml file.
Add a title and choose "no Parent Style" (unless you want to add it as a child style), Hit Import.
Enjoy!Please post questions to this style in this thread (and make sure you've clicked INSTALL). Please DO NOT contact me via PM or E-MAIL for support, all support will be given in this thread.

Donations (Paypal):
donations@militaryltd.com

*If you find any problems or errors please post them and I wil get them fixed..

*Again, If you feel you MUST remove my "Copyright/Designed by" notice in the footer the least you can do is Paypal a small donation. I perfer it is totally removed and not changed to say that you designed it, if you use it respect that a lot of work went into it. Thanks

Please remember to click Mark as Installed if you use this style. (See Mod Options )

Please make sure you click INSTALL, I appreciate it! ;)

Brandon Sheley
14 Jun 2006, 03:43
very nice, I"ll check it out after the upgrades

projectego
14 Jun 2006, 08:13
Very cool style. ;)

Roms
14 Jun 2006, 11:48
very nice, I"ll check it out after the upgrades

Great thanks! :)

Very cool style.

Glad you like it. :)

Snake
14 Jun 2006, 18:14
That's a great looking dark skin. Well done! :D

Roms
14 Jun 2006, 22:38
That's a great looking dark skin. Well done! :D

Thanks Josh :)

Mr.Mikey
15 Jun 2006, 00:39
i love that style thanks alot

Roms
15 Jun 2006, 04:23
i love that style thanks alot

Thanks for using it. :)


________________________

I changed the Multi-Quote button in the style... Updated in the zip.

ptesite
15 Jun 2006, 19:07
Gotta say, man...excellent job! My site looks great now, thanks to your theme. Thumbs way up.

Roms
15 Jun 2006, 21:58
Gotta say, man...excellent job! My site looks great now, thanks to your theme. Thumbs way up.

Thanks :)

Brandon Sheley
24 Jun 2006, 16:38
well finally got around to upgrading.

http://www.locoforum.com/index.php?styleid=6

I like it,, thx for sharing :)

Roms
25 Jun 2006, 05:10
well finally got around to upgrading.

http://www.locoforum.com/index.php?styleid=6

I like it,, thx for sharing :)

Thanks, glad you like it. I will be updating it as it's stabilized...

Living in music
30 Jun 2006, 02:51
i'm not using it but thank for cool style!

Roms
01 Jul 2006, 02:18
i'm not using it but thank for cool style!

Thanks, I appreciate that. :)

sambah
01 Jul 2006, 08:08
Amazing skin. This will be the first one installed when we upgrade to 3.6 :)

Roms
08 Jul 2006, 20:18
Amazing skin. This will be the first one installed when we upgrade to 3.6 :)

Great, thanks. :)

Lord Draco
14 Jul 2006, 03:42
Man thats a really cool Style. I surely will install it at mine. look at my site. www.sot-rpg.com

Roms
15 Jul 2006, 17:50
Man thats a really cool Style. I surely will install it at mine. look at my site. www.sot-rpg.com (http://www.sot-rpg.com)

Thank you, great site. :cool:

StuntFactoryX
06 Aug 2006, 20:05
im using this in 3.5.4... i upgraded my test board w/ the old skin and its missing a few things.. suggestions on the way to upgrade the skin? deleate and reinstall the new skin?

Roms
08 Aug 2006, 02:25
im using this in 3.5.4... i upgraded my test board w/ the old skin and its missing a few things.. suggestions on the way to upgrade the skin? deleate and reinstall the new skin?

Deleting and re-installing the upgraded skin would probably be the best way. Be sure to upload the updated graphics... Thanks for using the style, and please click install. :)

GoNz00
09 Aug 2006, 08:57
great skin thanks :)

Klaymen TM
09 Aug 2006, 13:02
Great style! Thanks for share man! ;)

xReDeFiNeD
10 Aug 2006, 20:03
is this ever going to be able to use on 3.6.0 gold?

Roms
10 Aug 2006, 22:05
is this ever going to be able to use on 3.6.0 gold?

Should work fine now, just click ignore on the style version. But yes, it will be soon.

xReDeFiNeD
11 Aug 2006, 02:19
yeah it worked but for some reason the buttons aren't showing up

StuntFactoryX
11 Aug 2006, 20:17
im using this skin w/ 3.6 gold and it works great..

Roms
12 Aug 2006, 17:23
yeah it worked but for some reason the buttons aren't showing up

You need to make sure all the image paths are correct.. Go into your AdminCP >> Styles & Templates, Choose the style you want to fix, >> All Style Options (Click Go)

In the "Image paths" area... and find add the areas to add it in the CSS (Body, Page Background, Category Strips...)

Hope that helps... :)

If you need more help let me know.

rhino56
12 Sep 2006, 20:17
i will be using this, i toned down the bright spots some and its awesome

you can see where i been playing with it here

http://www.rhino56.atotchat.org/

FSFwebmaster
13 Sep 2006, 07:32
This Thing Looks Great

opelgtman
07 Oct 2006, 13:14
Does this work with 3.6.2

Roms
18 Oct 2006, 22:05
Does this work with 3.6.2

Yes, it works fine. Just click ignore on the style version. :)

This Thing Looks Great

Thanks you, please click install if you end up using it. :)

i will be using this, i toned down the bright spots some and its awesome



you can see where i been playing with it here



http://www.rhino56.atotchat.org/

Looks good, a little more blue and bright. :)

rx_1badbird
21 Nov 2006, 22:43
I'm was using this style in 3.5.4.
I've since upgraded to 3.6.3 & I'm having button troubles with multi-quotes, infractions, and a couple others.
Please advise. I'd greatly appreciate it.

www.mobmototb.com

Irkci
13 Dec 2006, 15:17
Great Skin!!

I want to change the format, can someone advise me in how to do this?

Roms
15 Dec 2006, 01:47
I'm was using this style in 3.5.4.
I've since upgraded to 3.6.3 & I'm having button troubles with multi-quotes, infractions, and a couple others.
Please advise. I'd greatly appreciate it.

www.mobmototb.com (http://www.mobmototb.com)

Upgrade all the images and overwrite the old images. What I usually do is upload everything and then if the image already exists I just skip it.... Hope that helps. :) Please click install if you use it..

Great Skin!!



I want to change the format, can someone advise me in how to do this?

Not sure what you mean, if you can explain I will try to help. :) please click install.

rx_1badbird
15 Dec 2006, 17:33
Hey Roms. Got a question for ya. I'm stuck finding buttons for some of the great hacks that people have created. I need buttons for "Groan", "Thanks", and "IP". Can you point me in the right direction please? Thanks. If you're not sure what I mean you can see it in the posts. www.mobmototb.com

I saw what you said about upgrading everything but I'm not sure exactly what you're saying to do.

Roms
15 Dec 2006, 22:37
Hey Roms. Got a question for ya. I'm stuck finding buttons for some of the great hacks that people have created. I need buttons for "Groan", "Thanks", and "IP". Can you point me in the right direction please? Thanks. If you're not sure what I mean you can see it in the posts. www.mobmototb.com (http://www.mobmototb.com)

I saw what you said about upgrading everything but I'm not sure exactly what you're saying to do.

If you download this version it does have the PSD files and blank jpg files you can write what ever words you need on them...

basically just re-upload all of the graphics and overwrite your old ones for this style, it contains the basic buttons you need... then create the ones you need for other hacks with the blank sets...

Roms
18 Dec 2006, 21:07
I've updated the Report, IP, and Reputation buttons. Updated the zip file...

Feel free to download them from this post if needed...

blind-eddie
24 Dec 2006, 19:15
Awesome style....I installed it,all works well on my test forums. What do I need to do to get this to work on vba pages? Thanks.

Roms
26 Dec 2006, 03:38
Awesome style....I installed it,all works well on my test forums. What do I need to do to get this to work on vba pages? Thanks.

Glad you like it. :)

Go into your AdminCP >> Styles & Templates, Choose the style you want to fix, >> All Style Options (Click Go) Then look at the "header", "footer" areas and add your complete URL to areas that might need it in the "logo" areas of the code (ie: /images/heavy_metal/hm/heavymetal_splashright01.jpg add the full URL http://www.yoursite.com/forum/images/. Make sure all the image paths are correct.. ;)

Then do the same in the "Image paths" areas... and find add the areas to add it in the CSS (Body, Page Background, Category Strips...)

Hope that helps... :)

blind-eddie
26 Dec 2006, 05:32
Thank you, That points me in the right direction. My fingers are crossed

RockForums
01 Jan 2007, 16:26
Very nice - installed!

Roms
02 Jan 2007, 01:36
Very nice - installed!

Thanks :)

darkilla2
04 Jan 2007, 00:23
awsome skin. but im in need of a favor. I need a second navbar inorder to put the links to my mods. I would like to keep the current navbar layout with the images seperating the links. I would like the second navbar on top of the login info/where ur at in the forum.

any ideas how?

thanxs.

Roms
14 Jan 2007, 03:54
awsome skin. but im in need of a favor. I need a second navbar inorder to put the links to my mods. I would like to keep the current navbar layout with the images seperating the links. I would like the second navbar on top of the login info/where ur at in the forum.

any ideas how?

thanxs.

There are lots of mods for adding a second navbar, do a search and you'll find many I'm sure. :) Please click install as well. ;)

blind-eddie
15 Jan 2007, 15:37
awsome skin. but im in need of a favor. I need a second navbar inorder to put the links to my mods. I would like to keep the current navbar layout with the images seperating the links. I would like the second navbar on top of the login info/where ur at in the forum.

any ideas how?

thanxs.

Try these ,Link 1 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=115806) ,Link 2 (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=104725)

Roms
10 Feb 2007, 00:56
Thanks blind Eddie, you're a good guy. :)

pappy1961
04 Apr 2007, 00:14
I wish you would contact me. I would be interested in you maybe doing a little work????
I need a coder and someone who can help customize VB. I also need some coding help with another site.. contact me @

pappy1961@gmail.com

Infantrymen
04 Apr 2007, 00:32
Thanks for the donation, I've contacted you.

My schedule is very full, it depends on how intensive the work is...

Thanks again,
Roms

(for more info stick with PM and e-mail...) ;)

Roms
04 Apr 2007, 00:37
^ sorry, just realized I was using my other account...

Thanks for installing, e-mail sent.. :)

(please click "mark as installed" first post - right side..)

belal_najjar
07 Apr 2007, 18:28
thank u, nice style

Roms
29 Apr 2007, 06:02
Just revamped, updated, and added a new header! More user friendly than ever!

(3.6.5 friendly! Just tick "ignore style version" )

Cheers!

random1
31 May 2007, 00:00
3.6.7 friendly, one thing though. i cant seem to get the reload page button image to display. here is a screenshot example if anyone can help, much appreciated! btw this skin is AWESOME!

Roms
31 May 2007, 04:35
3.6.7 friendly, one thing though. i cant seem to get the reload page button image to display. here is a screenshot example if anyone can help, much appreciated! btw this skin is AWESOME!

3.6.7 has a few updated images. I will be updating this style soon. For now change the name of "navbits_finallink.gif" to "navbits_finallink_ltr.gif" in the misc folder and upload it.

Thanks,
Roms

random1
31 May 2007, 05:59
that did it for now, thanks BIGTYME!!!

Roms
02 Jun 2007, 21:47
Updated style to 3.6.7 :)

PBX1
27 Feb 2008, 12:15
I love this skin! Are you going to update it for 3.7?

theshepherd
02 Mar 2008, 07:16
The skin works perfectly for my first vB, I was wondering if I designed a custom banner how would I go about apply it to the style / is that something I can do considering it wouldn't be original.

I havn't applied it yet (really new to this) but when I figure out how to / do ill click the Installed button.

Amazing work here!

Roms
02 Mar 2008, 19:47
The skin works perfectly for my first vB, I was wondering if I designed a custom banner how would I go about apply it to the style / is that something I can do considering it wouldn't be original.

I havn't applied it yet (really new to this) but when I figure out how to / do ill click the Installed button.

Amazing work here!

Yes, that's fine if you apply a custom banner.

Thanks

theshepherd
02 Mar 2008, 22:49
Edit: SOLVED MY PROBLEM - Again thank you for this skin, it is amazing - if you would like to see it in action feel free to visit it at:

http://www.wowcore.org/deathgroup/forums

SwollenCranium
03 Mar 2008, 17:09
Yes, that's fine if you apply a custom banner.

Thanks


I have a donation burning a hole in my pocket ....

Port to 3.7 maybe ? 3.7 beta is fine too.

Roms
13 Mar 2008, 00:09
Edit: SOLVED MY PROBLEM - Again thank you for this skin, it is amazing - if you would like to see it in action feel free to visit it at:

http://www.wowcore.org/deathgroup/forums

Thanks for using it, glad it all worked out. :)

I have a donation burning a hole in my pocket ....

Port to 3.7 maybe ? 3.7 beta is fine too.

Thanks appreciated. :) I will be updating it for 3.7 this month. :D

Boofo
13 Mar 2008, 00:16
Looking forward to the 3.7 version. ;)

Dilldogs
14 Mar 2008, 15:58
Well, I have to say this is an awesome style and fits in great with my site.
Just so you know I am using it on vb 3.7 bata 6 and it is working great. No Problems at all.

Thanks for the awesome work.

Roms
21 Mar 2008, 04:05
Well, I have to say this is an awesome style and fits in great with my site.
Just so you know I am using it on vb 3.7 bata 6 and it is working great. No Problems at all.

Thanks for the awesome work.

It will be missing some images if used on 3.7.... I will be porting the style soon, thanks for using it.

Cheers! :D

SuperTaz
23 Mar 2008, 22:19
Will this style work with 3.6.8?

Roms
27 Mar 2008, 02:12
Will this style work with 3.6.8?

Yes. :) Please click install if you use it. Thanks :cool:

GekkoPixie
05 May 2008, 22:18
Will you be updating this style for vB 3.7.0?

PBX1
06 May 2008, 14:07
Will you be updating this style for vB 3.7.0?

I running it on 3.7 and everything seems to be working correctly.

GekkoPixie
06 May 2008, 21:21
My header image no longer works, and I'm not sure how to get it back. See here (http://www.worldsawayrp.com/forumlist.php?styleid=20)

PBX1
07 May 2008, 11:49
My header image no longer works, and I'm not sure how to get it back. See here (http://www.worldsawayrp.com/forumlist.php?styleid=20)

It looks the header image was stored here: http://www.seregon.net/images/bfly/misc/header.jpg , but that is no longer a valid site. there is just a place holder there now.

GekkoPixie
07 May 2008, 22:01
Well, thanks to PBX1 I have a portion of the banner fixed, but the middle and right portions are still MIA. Any help with this would be grand!

PBX1
07 May 2008, 22:41
Well, thanks to PBX1 I have a portion of the banner fixed, but the middle and right portions are still MIA. Any help with this would be grand!

You are missing the center and right filler for the header. I've changed mine around a bit but it should look something like this:

<td width="100%" height="158" background="http://www.yoursite.com/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmcenter.jpg" >&nbsp;</td>

<td align="right" ><img border="0" src="http://www.yoursite.com/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmsplashright.jpg" width="400" height="158"></td>

GekkoPixie
07 May 2008, 23:02
Where would that code go? Main CSS? If so, under what section? Or should it go in the StyleVars somewhere?

PBX1
08 May 2008, 00:33
Where would that code go? Main CSS? If so, under what section? Or should it go in the StyleVars somewhere?


Under the header template it goes under the commented logo section. Try pasting this in:

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<div align="center">
<center>
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td><a href="$vboptions[bburl]" target="_self"><img border="0" src="$vboptions[bburl]/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmsplashleft.gif" width="" height=""></a></td>
<td width="100%" height="158" background="$vboptions[bburl]/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmcenter.jpg" >&nbsp;</td>
<td align="right" ><img border="0" src="$vboptions[bburl]/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmsplashright.jpg" width="" height=""></td>
</tr>
</table>
</center>
</div>
<!-- /logo -->

GekkoPixie
08 May 2008, 02:32
Well, I now have the center image repeated, but the left side is on top, and no right side... BTW, thank you very much for helping me with this!

edit:

Had 2 logo sections, and deleting the first one got rid of the one-on-top effect I had. Still, I now only have the middle image repeated across the top. This is the section I deleted:

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<table border="0" width="$stylevar[outertablewidth]" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" align="center">
<tr>
<td align="$stylevar[left]"><a href="$vboptions[forumhome].php$session[sessionurl_q]"><img src="$stylevar[titleimage]" border="0" alt="$vboptions[bbtitle]" /></a></td>
<td align="$stylevar[right]" id="header_right_cell">
<if condition="$ad_location['ad_header_logo']">$ad_location[ad_header_logo]<else />&nbsp;</if>
</td>
</tr>
</table>
</!-- logo -->

PBX1
09 May 2008, 13:31
If you want you logo back in you header try this cut and paste:

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<div align="center">
<center>
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td><a href="$vboptions[bburl]" target="_self"><img border="0" src="$vboptions[bburl]/rooq/misc/logo.gif" width="" height=""></a></td>
<td width="100%" height="158" background="$vboptions[bburl]/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmcenter.jpg" >&nbsp;</td>
<td align="right" ><img border="0" src="$vboptions[bburl]/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmsplashright.jpg" width="400" height="158"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</center>
</div>
<!-- /logo -->

Your logo isn't the same height as the HM header so it might look a bit odd. You might want to photoshop something so it looks better. Or where logo.gif is listed, put height="158", however this will make the log look distorted.

whaase
13 May 2008, 22:12
Would you be able to tell me why the editor does this? And how to fix it? :)

http://www.whaase.com/gallery/main.php/d/2244-1/editor.jpg

GekkoPixie
22 May 2008, 00:23
If you want you logo back in you header try this cut and paste:

<!-- logo -->
<a name="top"></a>
<div align="center">
<center>
<table border="0" cellpadding="0" cellspacing="0" width="100%">
<tr>
<td><a href="$vboptions[bburl]" target="_self"><img border="0" src="$vboptions[bburl]/rooq/misc/logo.gif" width="" height=""></a></td>
<td width="100%" height="158" background="$vboptions[bburl]/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmcenter.jpg" >&nbsp;</td>
<td align="right" ><img border="0" src="$vboptions[bburl]/images/heavy_metal/hm/hmsplashright.jpg" width="400" height="158"></td>
</tr>
</table>
</center>
</div>
<!-- /logo -->

Your logo isn't the same height as the HM header so it might look a bit odd. You might want to photoshop something so it looks better. Or where logo.gif is listed, put height="158", however this will make the log look distorted.
Well, I think you misunderstood which logo I wanted, but the end result is that I have it back! Thank you so much! :D

Roms
05 Jun 2008, 01:28
Thanks for clicking install, are you still having issues.? You might need to revert the template in that style if you are having issues. :)

RCWF-AoD
20 Jul 2008, 05:29
Perfect skin to make as my personal skin. Very good job on it, and all together would be a GREAT skin for everyone to use. I really like it, and it's got a pretty good feel to it as well.

(clicked installed) :)

Roms
06 Oct 2008, 00:59
Thank you :)

Roms
14 Oct 2008, 05:01
The 3.8 version is here:

http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=193572

LRadunz
28 Oct 2014, 15:42
I used this when I had my first VB and loved it.
Wish I could use it on my new 5.1.3.
I could.. because there is a guy willing to duplicate it for me..but I'm not into that..and surely not for what he is charging.
So how about it? Could the original author make this work for me?

Thanks.

ozzy47
28 Oct 2014, 15:46
Doubtful, as the author never made it work for vB4, and vB5 is a complete different animal all together.