PDA

View Full Version : Temp Tables? Large # of them.


silvrhand
21 Jun 2006, 05:18
I'm creating a TON of temp tables, even though the tmp_table_size is set to 64M, are many people getting this as well on larger forums?


__ Created Temp ________________________________________________________
Disk table 41.13k 0.27/s
Table 75.66k 0.49/s
File 114 0.00/s

Zachery
21 Jun 2006, 06:28
Its done when moving things around in general as far as I know, Are you getting a specific error or somthing?

silvrhand
21 Jun 2006, 12:58
Just getting a lot of disk tables, I increased tmp table size to 128M but that seems like a huge query to me. We are at 2.2 million posts and climbing fast, just still trying to iron out some thing.

Man Zach you are everywhere hehe :)

Its done when moving things around in general as far as I know, Are you getting a specific error or somthing?

Zachery
22 Jun 2006, 05:30
You might want to write an email to vB.com and ask for a developer and see what they have to say on the subject.

silvrhand
22 Jun 2006, 17:04
I posted the sql over there that was bombing the DB and they claimed they could never find it, after many nights I figured it out myself.. Search engine was killing me, indexed to fulltext searches helped, now we are upgrading to 4G and looking to start caching a lot more than we are.

Things are looking up except for vb.com support system :(

You might want to write an email to vB.com and ask for a developer and see what they have to say on the subject.

Zachery
22 Jun 2006, 19:43
Uh, I am part of that team ;) I recomened you there for a reaso.

silvrhand
23 Jun 2006, 20:45
Got told to post in server optimization request, then a developer would look at it.

http://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php?p=1152828#post1152828

No responses there either :(

Uh, I am part of that team ;) I recomened you there for a reaso.

Zachery
23 Jun 2006, 22:44
Just had a short chat with one of the developers, as soon as george can have a look at you he should be able to provide some help, he will probally ask for the rest of that info posted in a sticky in that forum. The speicifc tables that are being created are done by mysql alone.