PDA

View Full Version : Remove Version from Footer


UZFRED
08 Jul 2006, 05:31
I tried to search the forum to see if nobody else has posted this.

The reason for me basically wanting this on this forum is so I can click install so it will be in my "Show installed Hacks" list (if I ever upgrade or things like that I have a nice list of what I need to reinstall, or else I might forget).

All credits Steve Machol from vBulletin.com since he gave me the answer on the following question:

Hello vBulletin Support.

Am I allowed to remove the vBulletin version on the bottom of my page?

I wish to do this in an attempt to maybe shake off people who are out to exploit forums, if they might not see my forum version they might not even bother trying.

Sincerely
Fred

Steve Machol answered:

Yes, you can remove the version number. To do this, edit the 'powered_by_vbulletin' phrase and replace this:

Powered by: vBulletin Version {1}<br />Copyright &copy;2000 - {2}, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

With this:

Powered by: vBulletin <br />Copyright &copy;2000 - {2}, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

Note: To edit a phrase, place the new phrase in the available language text boxes.

Also please see this thread on how to make your vBulletin more secure:

https://www.vbulletin.com/forum/showthread.php/194701-How-To-Make-My-Forums-More-Secure

All the best,
Steve Machol
Customer Support Manager, vBulletin

http://www.vbulletin.com/
mailto:support@vbulletin.com

s3xt0y
08 Jul 2006, 06:01
installed.

Nathan2006
08 Jul 2006, 07:22
Thank you UZFRED

That link to vb.com is very useful too ;)

Install

Scooterpig
08 Jul 2006, 11:16
Nice one thank you UZFRED & Steve..:)

radarhunter
07 Aug 2007, 06:00
hi with reference to the above said post i made the foresaid changes but it`s showing me like this : pic attached . I hope this is normal ???

Brandon Sheley
07 Aug 2007, 08:08
hi with reference to the above said post i made the foresaid changes but it`s showing me like this : pic attached . I hope this is normal ???

yes, it id

do you see the version number in your footer ?

radarhunter
07 Aug 2007, 08:12
nope i don`t but should there be 3 instead of 2 ????

when we`re replacing some digit it shouldn`t create another digit ???

Or it does ???

Jasem
02 May 2008, 15:01
Thank you very much :)

wd4x4
05 May 2008, 15:11
:up:

farzana
12 Jun 2008, 20:19
interesting...

wrestlesomnia
13 Jun 2008, 03:14
This should be in vBulletin Articles imo...

0 Seo 0
10 Jun 2009, 14:58
This is very useful thanks for the post.

cheat-master30
10 Jun 2009, 19:25
You should also remember to do this to the version in the meta data as well, you know, the meta generator tag thing.

ubcforums
13 Jun 2009, 03:19
i think we are not allowed to remove generator thing..

baghdad4ever
13 Jun 2009, 13:51
even if you remove it

we can see the version from view source of page

i think

you better change that from debug mode

viper357
05 Dec 2010, 11:02
How do I remove the version number when viewing the source of the page, the version number is all over the place, mine has these instances:

<!-- CSS Stylesheet -->
<style type="text/css" id="vbulletin_css">
/**
* vBulletin 3.8.5 CSS
* Style: 'MASA main'; Style ID: 45
*/
@import url("clientscript/vbulletin_css/style-1f78d3f3-00045.css");
</style>
<link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="clientscript/vbulletin_important.css?v=385" />


<!-- / CSS Stylesheet -->

<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/yui/2.7.0/build/yahoo-dom-event/yahoo-dom-event.js?v=385"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="http://ajax.googleapis.com/ajax/libs/yui/2.7.0/build/connection/connection-min.js?v=385"></script>
<script type="text/javascript">
<!--
var SESSIONURL = "";
var SECURITYTOKEN = "*****";
var IMGDIR_MISC = "images/misc_mns";
var vb_disable_ajax = parseInt("0", 10);
// -->

</script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_global.js?v=385"></script>
<script type="text/javascript" src="clientscript/vbulletin_menu.js?v=385"></script>


As you can see my version number is mentioned 6 times, any idea's how to get rid of it?

netzoner
18 Jun 2016, 10:12
thanks
great tip