PDA

View Full Version : New Posting Features - Cyb - Prevent Newbies from Posting to Wrong Forum


Valter
04 Aug 2006, 08:35
vB 3.7 VERSION HERE:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=177952

===


Info:
Members of selected usergroups will need to confirm destination forum for the new thread if their post count is less than the number you choose. If member is not in the correct forum, he will be able to choose a different one from a drop-down menu, then continue with posting.


Installation:
1. Import XML file (as product): AdminCP > Plugin System > Manage Products > [Add/Import Product]


To set options:
Go to AdminCP > vBulletin Options > Cyb Prevent Newbies from Posting to Wrong Forum


Versions:
v1.0 - Apr 29. 2006.
-First Release
v1.5 - May 10. 2006.
-Fixed few bugs
-Improved functionality and compatibility
-Now users with custom styles can use hack regularly (read installation step #2)
-Added option to choose affected usergroups (view updated screenshots)
-Please uninstall old version before installing new one
v1.6 - Aug 04. 2006.
-Release of this hack for vB v3.6
v1.7 - Aug 05. 2006.
-Uncached template bug fix
v1.8 - Sep 29. 2006.
-Several improvements:
*three templates removed
*javascript code improved
*phrases used instead of settings
*added links to phrases to settings page for easier customizations/translations
*confirmation dialog look improved
*easier usergroup selection (thanks to Andreas)
-Added Product Version Checking
v1.9 - Nov 11. 2006.
-Updated javascript code to improve compatibility with some browsers
-Fixed error which maked code not Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional
v2.0 - Nov 12. 2006.
-Forum description for selected destination forum shown (automatically hidden if description field is blank)
-Option to disable new function above
v2.1 - Jul 27. 2007.
-Fixed bug (WYSIWYG editor locked in Firefox after destination forum confirmation)
-Improved group membership checking (works now for supplementary usergroups too)
-General code cleanup and optimization


If you like this hack please click INSTALL (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/vborg_miscactions.php?do=installhack&threadid=122994)

JakeS
04 Aug 2006, 08:38
Lol.. nice hack

Valter
05 Aug 2006, 11:29
v1.7 - Aug 05. 2006.
- Uncached template bug fix

parajsa
12 Aug 2006, 18:37
is wierd what happened, i installed this hack and everything went fine, untill i try to open a new thread in firefox, my editor was not working at all. The problem surprisingly wasnt with IE.

Any suggestion?

Ps: i tried to add the optional to the newthread template, but when i tried to open a new thread i couldnt pass the "Continue >>>" button, it just stuck, i press on it, i press enter, but nothing was working :(

Eagle Creek
12 Aug 2006, 19:03
Loveley!

kushal
22 Sep 2006, 22:00
nice mod thank you

daloosaa
25 Sep 2006, 00:31
is wierd what happened, i installed this hack and everything went fine, untill i try to open a new thread in firefox, my editor was not working at all. The problem surprisingly wasnt with IE.

Yeah, i have the same problem. I tried to fix it but i have it made crash :squareeyed:

Greets,
Florian

Valter
25 Sep 2006, 04:13
No problem with FF here.

Be sure you have enabled AJAX on your forums and javascript works properly in your browser.

daloosaa
25 Sep 2006, 11:38
AJAX is enabled and javascript works properly.

I'll try it on a fresh installation today.

Greets,
Florian

Andreas
28 Sep 2006, 12:55
Nice Hack. Here are some improvements you might want to consider:
- Enable-Setting removed as one could just disable the product => less plugin code
- Phrases used instead of settings
- Settinggroup deleted and two settings moved to posting settings
- Usergroup Selection improved
- global_start Plugin deleted as it is not necessary
- two Templates deleted

Valter
28 Sep 2006, 13:23
This is old... and it really needs update.

I agree for the templates and global_start.
About settings - I like to have it separate from standard vB options.

I'll update this when I have some time. Thanks Andreas.

Valter
29 Sep 2006, 00:48
v1.8 - Sep 29. 2006.
-Several improvements:
*three templates removed
*javascript code improved
*phrases used instead of settings
*added links to phrases to settings page for easier customizations/translations
*confirmation dialog look improved
*easier usergroup selection (thanks to Andreas (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/member.php?u=47102))
-Added Product Version Checking

To upgrade: Import XML, allow overwrite.
Screenshots updated.

Stoebi
29 Sep 2006, 05:50
Hi, good morning.

Thx to Cybernetec and Andreas. :)


Regards, Stoebi

Eagle Creek
29 Sep 2006, 09:43
Update? I installed the hack yesterday! LOL.

Masiello
29 Sep 2006, 10:56
Sublime hack!

Masiello
29 Sep 2006, 11:34
is wierd what happened, i installed this hack and everything went fine, untill i try to open a new thread in firefox, my editor was not working at all. The problem surprisingly wasnt with IE.

Same issue here, any help?

aquariumpros
11 Oct 2006, 00:18
Same thing here - though not working in IE7.

Click on New Thread - opens screen:
https://www.vbulletin.org/forum/external/2006/10/10.gif

Pull-down box is blank - and when pulled-down - only Forums is listed.

I installed it the standard way - this result. I then made the suggested template edits - no change...

Any insight?

Thanks in advance,

aquariumpros
12 Oct 2006, 06:17
Anyone?

Is this still being supported?

(sorry to sound pushy - not intended - just need to either get it working, or uninstall it and search out another way for the same thing).


Thanks in advance,

Valter
12 Oct 2006, 12:14
Yes, this is supported.

Please create temp Admin account for me so I can check it on your forums. On both of my forums it works perfect as well as on my test forums.

aquariumpros
12 Oct 2006, 16:08
Thanks.

You have PM.

Valter
12 Oct 2006, 19:28
'Use Forum Jump Menu' option in 'General Settings' is disabled.
You must enable this to get this hack working.

I have removed '$cyb_preventnewthread' from 'newthread' template because it's unneded.

Adrian.
12 Oct 2006, 19:44
Nice Hack.

Here's a feature others may benefit from, when you select a forum from the dropdown box, below the dropdown it shows the forum description? :)

Adrian

aquariumpros
13 Oct 2006, 06:45
'Use Forum Jump Menu' option in 'General Settings' is disabled.
You must enable this to get this hack working.

I have removed '$cyb_preventnewthread' from 'newthread' template because it's unneded.
Many thanks!!!

That got it working perfectly!!!

*-this is what happens after hours of upgrades - can't see the forrest through the trees... lol

Thanks again! Great Hack!

aquariumpros
27 Oct 2006, 02:15
Hmmm -

I was just informed that when users of Firefox try to post - (after they get the warning, select the correct forum) - they can enter in a subject - but not enter any text into the message box.

I have tried it - and under MSIE - it works - under FF - you can't click into the message box at all...???

Luggruff
11 Nov 2006, 19:52
If I want to upgrade to this version, will I need to add everything again?

Valter
11 Nov 2006, 19:55
If you have version 1.6 and above then just import XML with allowing overwrite. Phrases are same, just check settings after upgrade.

If you have 1.5 or older version installed then uninstall it before installing latest one.

Valter
11 Nov 2006, 20:21
v1.9 - Nov 11. 2006.
-Updated javascript code to improve compatibility with some browsers
-Fixed one error which maked code not Valid XHTML 1.0 Transitional

To upgrade: Import XML, allow overwrite.

Robbed
11 Nov 2006, 23:57
Thanks

Valter
12 Nov 2006, 03:41
v2.0 - Nov 12. 2006.
-Forum description for selected destination forum shown (automatically hidden if description field is blank)
-Option to disable new function above

Thanks Adrian for the idea.

To upgrade: Import XML, allow overwrite.

Luggruff
12 Nov 2006, 08:07
Outstanding new features! ;D

nebu
12 Nov 2006, 17:21
http://img124.imageshack.us/img124/2862/fehlerdg0.jpg

i have this error ... cant select the correct forum.
:(

can i fix this bug?

nebu
12 Nov 2006, 17:24
'Use Forum Jump Menu' option in 'General Settings' is disabled.
You must enable this to get this hack working.

I have removed '$cyb_preventnewthread' from 'newthread' template because it's unneded.


thx dude :)

problem fixed

andreamarucci
23 Dec 2006, 14:28
Just a question. In my forum I would like that the newly registered members must post their first message in a specific forum. After the first message where they introduces themselves, they can post everywhere.

Can I use this mod to do that?

Valter
23 Dec 2006, 14:41
Just a question. In my forum I would like that the newly registered members must post their first message in a specific forum. After the first message where they introduces themselves, they can post everywhere.

Can I use this mod to do that?
This can help but you may wish to try this one:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=122987

I'm using it in combination with this one:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=123002

Members are allowed to post in one forum only and message from the first hack points them there.

.

aquariumpros
01 Jan 2007, 14:29
Hmmm -

I was just informed that when users of Firefox try to post - (after they get the warning, select the correct forum) - they can enter in a subject - but not enter any text into the message box.

I have tried it - and under MSIE - it works - under FF - you can't click into the message box at all...???


Any insight on this?

TIA,

VBUsers
03 Jan 2007, 08:14
is wierd what happened, i installed this hack and everything went fine, untill i try to open a new thread in firefox, my editor was not working at all. The problem surprisingly wasnt with IE.

Any suggestion?

Ps: i tried to add the optional to the newthread template, but when i tried to open a new thread i couldnt pass the "Continue >>>" button, it just stuck, i press on it, i press enter, but nothing was working :(

i have the same issue any updates?

andreamarucci
03 Jan 2007, 21:17
This can help but you may wish to try this one:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=122987

I'm using it in combination with this one:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=123002

Members are allowed to post in one forum only and message from the first hack points them there.

.

Thank you very much Cyb. I've yet installed, and now updated, your "attention zero poster" and now I'm evaluating the other mod. Im my belief you're one of the best VB modder here :D

Stifler
05 Jan 2007, 21:46
users with firefox 2.0 have been saying that they can't post new threads cause all they see is an empty WYSIWYG box.. is that related to this hack?
vb 3.5.7

blogtorank
06 Feb 2007, 18:46
Nice hack and installed!

mtlcore
07 Feb 2007, 01:57
Does this count New Post?

r5e
10 Feb 2007, 10:20
Excellent hack. I just one small suggestion.

I'm concerned that users may simply not read what they are presented with and head straight over to the continue button. After all - this mod is supposed to stop the hasty user who is about to post in the first area he can see.

Would it be possible to make the default choice something "Please select", so the user is forced to open the drop down menu and read the choices? If they were to simply hit continue without paying attention then they would get an error message that they need to select the correct forum?

Thanks again for an excellent mod

kafi
14 Feb 2007, 12:41
Problem with FF is present ever since 3.5x version of this nice add-on. After trying 3.6 version I have disabled this one too :(

kafi
14 Feb 2007, 12:44
Excellent hack. I just one small suggestion.

I'm concerned that users may simply not read what they are presented with and head straight over to the continue button. After all - this mod is supposed to stop the hasty user who is about to post in the first area he can see.

Would it be possible to make the default choice something "Please select", so the user is forced to open the drop down menu and read the choices? If they were to simply hit continue without paying attention then they would get an error message that they need to select the correct forum?

Thanks again for an excellent mod


This is a valid point I requested in 3.5 version too... :-/

Neutral Singh
21 Feb 2007, 15:27
Wow Thanks!! this can also be used as a tool to control automated spam messages in forums. Big Thanks!!

daddygrim
06 Mar 2007, 22:14
how does this work? this is confusing..I installed it..but all this extra stufff is to confusing.

mfyvie
06 Mar 2007, 23:43
Sorry - I also had to disable this one. I'm running 2.0 but since all new users who use firefox can't post I had no choice but to disable it. About 20% of my userbase uses firefox.

I'm not sure if this mod is being supported anymore. Shame - it was a great little mod.

Valter
07 Mar 2007, 09:52
Sorry - I also had to disable this one. I'm running 2.0 but since all new users who use firefox can't post I had no choice but to disable it. About 20% of my userbase uses firefox.

I'm not sure if this mod is being supported anymore. Shame - it was a great little mod.
There is a problem only for users with WYSIWYG editor.

I don't know if this is vBulletin or Firefox problem but atm i see no way to fix it.

mfyvie
07 Mar 2007, 13:06
There is a problem only for users with WYSIWYG editor.

I don't know if this is vBulletin or Firefox problem but atm i see no way to fix it.

Sure, but the WYSIWYG editor is default on my forums :)

I think this problem must be somehow related to this mod because the problem goes away as soon as the mod is disabled or the poster has enough posts not to be presented with the mod.

I don't have a clue either - but if you want to look at it more closely I'd be happy to help you with testing. I was really sad to have to disable this mod - it was one of the most useful ones on my forum.

Valter
07 Mar 2007, 21:50
Here is a problem... this uses javascript to switches two div blocks. One with forum chooser is loaded first and when button is clicked second one opens. Second one contains newthread form and is untouched by hack. In both, IE and FF, all works fine with simple and standard editors. Wysiwyg works fine in IE but not in Firefox. I guess something is not fully loaded in editor when div block which contains it is not visible on page load. I tried to find what causes this but with no luck. Tried also to change the way javascript switches blocks but no luck again...

I think I'll ask someone from vB to help here...

adwade
14 Apr 2007, 18:53
v2.0 - Nov 12. 2006.


I found a novel (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showpost.php?p=1227201&postcount=48) use for this MOD along with the Auto-Moderation of Spammer Keywords (http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=129390) modification. It allows me to insure users are warned of an inability to post Advertisements or Links within their first few posts.

Thanxx for making it so f-l-e-x-i-b-l-e Cybernetec, great idea & superb implementation. :D

kafi
15 Apr 2007, 09:21
Here is a problem... this uses javascript to switches two div blocks. One with forum chooser is loaded first and when button is clicked second one opens. Second one contains newthread form and is untouched by hack. In both, IE and FF, all works fine with simple and standard editors. Wysiwyg works fine in IE but not in Firefox. I guess something is not fully loaded in editor when div block which contains it is not visible on page load. I tried to find what causes this but with no luck. Tried also to change the way javascript switches blocks but no luck again...

I think I'll ask someone from vB to help here...

any news on this? I would like to use this but firefox users keeps me from using this wonderfull add-on :-/

mfyvie
22 May 2007, 17:54
Here is a problem... this uses javascript to switches two div blocks. One with forum chooser is loaded first and when button is clicked second one opens. Second one contains newthread form and is untouched by hack. In both, IE and FF, all works fine with simple and standard editors. Wysiwyg works fine in IE but not in Firefox. I guess something is not fully loaded in editor when div block which contains it is not visible on page load. I tried to find what causes this but with no luck. Tried also to change the way javascript switches blocks but no luck again...

I think I'll ask someone from vB to help here...

Cybernetec - I'm really keen to re-enable this mod, but without firefox support I can't :(

Therefore I'll offer to make a $25 donation to you by paypal if you can fix this within two weeks. Anyone else like to match my offer - a bit more cash on the table might move this along ;)

Mrdby
29 May 2007, 13:51
Installed..but Can We Select What Thread They Need To Post In First Before Seeing The Rest Of The Forum?

MaurÝcioSB
03 Jun 2007, 05:54
Very Smart!
Tks!

nsusa
18 Jun 2007, 02:56
Great Hack - but unusable due to the problems with Firefox :(

Chris

xlguy
21 Jun 2007, 12:17
Yeah can confirm it still doesn't work in FireFox which is a shame as it's becoming more popular. Anyone fancy fixing this mod? There's an offer of $25 above I believe!

Valter
26 Jul 2007, 23:32
v2.1 - Jul 27. 2007.
-Fixed bug (WYSIWYG editor locked in Firefox after destination forum confirmation)
-Improved group membership checking (works now for supplementary usergroups too)
-General code cleanup and optimization

To upgrade: Import product XML, allow overwrite.

Smiry Kin's
23 Aug 2007, 23:13
what type is used on the digital point forums?

where you have to tick a button before it allows you to post?

can you create something like this cyb?

MelH
23 Nov 2007, 20:50
Is anyone using this successfully with vB3.6.8 PL2?

I'm running vB3.6.8 PL2 and have found that when you choose the forum it correctly shows the description of the forum you have chosen but the forum name jumps back to the one at the top of your list of forums. It doesn't stay on the forum you chose.

Clicking on "continue" does take you to the correct forum however. Very confusing when trying to use it, especially for a newbie….

It's not supposed to work like this is it?

|Jordan|
22 Dec 2007, 03:37
The dropdown only displays "forums" for me. It doesn't display the list of forums (i have a lot of forums).

mariocaz
14 Mar 2008, 21:57
Beautiful mod

haytham
15 Mar 2008, 22:28
I clicked install although I haven't yet but will try it tomorrow. Anything prefixed with Cyb works great with me. Also this is a great mod that will help me a lot. Thanks.

jGas
25 Mar 2008, 15:56
great mod :D thanks

nando99
07 Aug 2008, 15:18
Wondering if its possible to have all new threads started by anyone with any number of posts to go through this. In other words, I'd like to have one global submit new thread link in header. When the link is clicked, I'd like it to ask you in what forum you want to start a new thread in. It 'll also be great if it can be global except for the 2 or 3 forums I don't want it on.... Is this possible?

Valter
23 Feb 2010, 21:44
Released for vBulletin 4, here:
http://www.vbulletin.org/forum/showthread.php?t=236718